We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. I had stayed in the Peninsula in the Philippines, and that was great, but the Peninsula hotel chain is world famous, especially the one in Hong Kong. I will say that the one here is pretty amazingly luxurious. I would say that it's probably just a slight level above the Ritz Carlton. When you walk into the Peninsula, you feel much more of a personal touch than you do the Ritz. The people are friendly, helpful, and very courteous.

The room--in my opinion--is more luxurious than the Ritz. It is probably more on the level of the Mandarin Oriental, but the MO is just a little more grand. The bedding is super-luxurious. The bathrooms are fantastic--very much like the Wynn or Bellagio in Vegas. The sleep you can get is great. The rooms are totally quiet. In the morning, you don't hear the the staff knocking on the neighbors door with their room key yelling, "Housekeeping!" It's very quiet since the door is very far away from you, and the place is very well insulated.

This hotel is literally steps away from Michigan Avenue, about 2 blocks from the John Hancock tower, so you are in the heart of Chicago. Overall, this is an excellent hotel that is totally luxurious. I would definitely return here if I had the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californianative123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Service by the door men, valet staff and restaurant staff at the Shanghai Terrace were fantastic. Service from the check-in staff and concierge was a bit dry and robotic... How about a warm smile people?

Rooms were nothing special. I could have lived in the bathroom with the tub and tv.

Location is great for downtown everything.

I dont see the justification of the room price vs the room amenities, size and bed quality. If you have money to burn, it's a nice option.

The Peninsula hotels in Asia are much more grand and worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freqtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I recently spent two nights at the Peninsula on business. I couldn't have been more impressed. The hotel is gorgeous, pure class, right down to the string quartet playing on the balcony in the dining room. The staff was so professional and courteous. The room was huge, including a gigantic bathroom with an extra large tub. The beds and linens were heavenly. All electronics for the room, including lights, night light, television, radio, and temperature are regulated on the phone on the nightstand. Inset television in the bathroom set up to watch in the bathtub. The turn down service was nice each night. Plus there were so many little things that add up to a special stay, the bench and storage in the dressing area, slippers, doorbell, fax machine. First class all the way.

The bar had a great ambience. The only of the fitness amenities I utilized was the lap pool. With a gorgeous view of the city, it was a great way to get a morning workout. Meeting facilities were beautiful and professional. The location is the best in Chicago, just steps away from the Magnificent Mile.

The only negative aspect was the logistics of the hotel. The lobby is on the fourth or fifth floor. Take the elevator up there. Then a different elevator to your room. A different elevator yet to the meeting facilities. A little confusing.

All in all, a wonderful, perfect hotel. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czechchick1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I spent three days at Peninsula. The district is perfect, Everything is AROUND THE HOTEL.
It was my first time in a Peninsula hotel and I must say I would go again.
The decoration is old but nice, the bathroom is huge bathtub and shower. The view from my room was not amazing but once in the gym one can work out with a view all over the city and the lake which is very pleasant.
The Asian restaurant is good, service perfect but the atmosphere quite boring.
The bar is really nice at night better to reserve on friday night because it is very crowed.

Note: If you order breakfast in your room it always take more time than promised 40 mns sometimes. They always call to apologize but...the water used for the tea tastes really bad by the way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageurinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with exceptional services and amenities. The rooms are large and the bed is very comfortable. It had a wonderful tub which really helped after walking miles every day! It also has a wonderful restaurant with lovely live quiet music and a great bar. We had a lovely view from our room. The pool/jacuzzi area is very nice. From the moment we walked in until we checked out, the service was superb. The Concierge Desk was NEVER unstaffed during regular hours. There is always one or two people there, sometimes three.

Another nice thing, is that the hotel is very quiet. It was completely booked during our stay for a week, (9/23-30), but still very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeauxLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I were in Chicago to celebrate a family anniversary. We chose the Peninsula for a three day stay because the location was ideal for our purposes. A visit at this hotel is an outstanding experience . It is truly a 5 star hotel in every aspect.From our initial arrival until our departure we were treated with professional dignity. Our room was very clean and very nicely appointed with a view directly to Michigan Avenue. The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings very attractive. We found the fitness center on the 20th floor very well equipped and again the service at the center was very professional.It is very hard to find a negative about the entire experience. The Peninsula is in the class of outstanding U.S. hotels.

Room Tip: I think that any room at this hotel is going to provide an outstanding experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a 5 star hotel with 5 star prices, so one expects it to be near perfect, but The Peninsula Chicago does deliver on that expectation.

Service is second to none (ex: a handwritten note from manager welcoming back), rooms are spacious, clean, modern, I'd highlight bathroom in particular and comfort of bedding as two standouts.
Gym similarly well maintained, some nice iPad connectivity technology with the machines, and refreshing towels.
WiFi is included in room rate (I won't call it free), which is surprisingly rare at high end hotels.
In a good location and just all around one of my favorite hotels.
To be a good critic, I guess I have to criticize something, so I will say I do not care for hotels where one has to take one elevator up several flights to the lobby to connect with the room elevators, but I'm assuming the retail rent they are getting on the ground is worth more to them than convenience.

Certainly not a great value, but it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,549 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 192 in Chicago
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $349 - $764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing