We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome. Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awesome. Again”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything about this place is perfect. Everything is where it should be, when it should be. Everyone loves doing what they do. They all go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect.
Rooms are big, comfortable. Living room in rooms are spacious and comfortable. Amazing beds and probably the best housekeeping anywhere!! We keep coming back to Chicago, and will continue staying here. The only complaint was Estela... who chose to knock and wake us up to ask "when we wanted the room service tray (which had not yet been delivered) picked up"... even though we had the DND light on...

Room Tip: face Michigan Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonManolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    141
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
251
449
75
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at The Peninsula and I must say it was absolutely perfect. Beautiful hotel in a ideal location......the height of luxury! At check-in I was advised that my room was not quite ready and would need to be "inspected" by housekeeping to be certain it was perfect for my stay - I was escorted to the bar and offered a cocktail on the house. A few minutes later the same person returned and presented me with my key. What a great start to the weekend! All staff members are at the top of their game and I mean top. Rooms are spotless, bedding is ultra comfy - you rarely see housekeeping of this caliber. Room service is prompt. Loved the spa with the exception of the steps. Lobby restaurant is spectacular and the focal point of the hotel. Tons of nearby shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Try Pelago Restaurante for upscale italian and sit outside if weather permits. Trump Terrace for drinks at sunset is a must. Chicago Cut Steakhouse was a treat. Kingsbury Street Cafe is off the beaten path but definetly worth the cab ride for brunch. Truly hated to leave, can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmg710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I try and get away for our anniversary and this year it was to Chicago. What a great City and Hotel. The service is what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, but don't always recieve. The facilities are wonderful, the gym, pool and spa treatments are first class - the location is within walking distance of all the shops and most of the sites, plus its a minute walk from the beach. Take the hop on, hop off bus - 3 day pass for $35. extreemly good value, esp as there are extra tours included to other parts of the city, that unfortunately we did not make. You also get a free T shirt.Thanks too all the staff who made our trip great, esp the ladies in the Spa.

Would return in a flash

Room Tip: We had a King Size delux, which was on offer when we booked and was well worth the money. The Chambe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We spend 3 night at the Peninsula in Chicago - which turned out to be the perfect start for our 3 weeks honeymoon in the US. The rooms are spacious and spotless, the service is excellent and the amneties are fabulous: pool, sun deck, gym & SPA.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel, each time for three nights. In almost every category, this hotel exceeds one's expectations, and offers up top-notch service.

Housekeeping is outstanding, the hotel common areas are also kept spotless. The accommodations themselves are luxurious, with great beds and linens, wonderful bathrooms, and exceptional lighting and ventilation controls (it's great to turn the A/C up while you are in bed!). There is also a dedicated fax machine and wireless in the room.

The hotel offers a variety of dining options; in fact you don't need to even leave the hotel for excellent food. (See my other reviews of the hotel's restaurants). The Sunday brunch - offered with accompanying violinist and cellist - appear great. If you do want to venture out, there are a host of fine dining options, not to mention great shopping a block away. The location is perfect.

The pool with sun deck is one of the best in Chicago. The hotel offers a full-service spa. The service in connection with the spa facilities (steam room, sauna, and bathrooms) is fit for a king. The concierge and bell staff are also excellent, and have improved from my last stay.

Of course, there were a few areas that could use improvement. There were a few miscommunications apparently resulting from some difficulties the hotel was having with its voice mail and intranet systems. And the hotel could improve its front desk and check-in experience. Neither, however, were sub-par and did not impact an otherwise excellent stay.

I do not often rate any hotel or restaurant five stars. But this one was an easy call. It was hard to leave, and certainly, I will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topaccommodations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Two nights on business travel. As always, Peninsula staff delivers. Room perfect. Service ideal. Hard to imagine a more thoughfully layed out hotel. Great bar. I highly recommend the Penisula Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWSWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I have been spoiled. Once you stay at this hotel nothing will ever compare to your experience afterwards. My husband and I were married here and just like our stays it was beyond our expectations. The service is incomparable. We have been 4 times and every time we are there we are never disappointed.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room, but if you want to splurge the suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlr477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing