We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserve top ratings!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Deserve top ratings!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights in May 2012 in an Executive Suite. We were there to relax and enjoy some of the city's delights. Overall, have to say that this hotel deserves top ratings. There is very little that can be described as deficient.
The public areas of this property is fantastic - grand double story lobby area, with discreet front desk and almost private-like elevator entrance to the rooms. The furnishings in the lobby area and general public areas are of good quality and maintained well (most of the furnishings is now quite a few years old), while the cleanliness is consistent and held to a very high standard.
Our suite was fantastic - not the biggest rooms in the suite but definitely among the most well thought out and designed. Living room, bathroom and bedroom all had large windows with delicious views. The space almost immediately makes you feel at home. Comfortable yet elegant!
The bathroom was beautiful and stunning - lots of room and lots of amenities. Just ask if you need anything else (we did - needed extra shoe horn and a pair of scissors) and they'd get it for you. no questions asked and no changes on our bill.
The bed is great - feels luxurious and easy to fall asleep in.
But the best part of this hotel is the spa, gym and pool - well thought out and well maintained. Not as good as the Peninsula Bangkok spa and gym, but definitely great.
And the staff - professional, courteous, friendly, willing to help and always greet you, regardless of where you are. This high standard of customer service and care makes this property ideal.
Finally, this property is much better maintained, much better organized, and much better facilities than the sister property in NYC.
The only complaint (a small one) is that you have to take one set of elevators to get to the lobby and then walk quite a distance to get the the next set of elevators to get to your room.

Room Tip: The food from the Shanghai Terrance restaurant is way better consumed in the Lobby cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    145
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
255
455
75
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were invited to a conference and they recommended The Peninsula to us and its was a Great one! From the start they make you feel very special and welcomed wherever you go.
The staff are professional, rooms very clean and spacious, & restaurants are classy with delicious meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lumamahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed at The Peninsula from 8-11 May 2012 on my first visit to Chicago. The one memory that I will take away and cherish is the service, especially housekeeping. They come across as truly wanting to make my stay memorable. And they did. On the two days, Anna would come by and ask if we needed anything, When I mentioned the lack of a kettle and coffee mix, she mentioned that such beverages are complimentary throughout the day from room service. Beyond that, she said, if I'd not like to wait, she will do a set up for me. I declined but she kept saying it was not a problem, just in case. On the third day, I asked room service if I could have more bottled water and casually joked that 12 bottles would be about right when the lady asked, then I quickly retracted saying 6. Guess what they brought? 12, just in case.

Another person deserving special mention is the lady at concierge, sorry forgot her name. Also very pleasant was that concierge would print documents, scan the signed copy and email it back for free. No business center to deal with. And at no charge. They also provide an envelope in the room for you to put your onward journey details whereby the concierge will process and print out your boarding pass before you leave. Such a breeze.

Apart from the lack of a fleet of Rolls, this hotel is a definite match to it's mother property in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed for business. This is another great Peninsula property. The staff are well trained and excellent all around- front desk, housekeeping, F&B and Spa. The suite I stayed in was spacious and comfortable. They also have lovely amenities here- a box of Vosges Chocolates for one. The food was pretty good. The location is great.

The only downside was: the room was noisy. NATO was in town so this may have been part of it but it seemed excessively noisy to me- lots of street noise and sirens and I was on the 15th floor. Also, they might be needing some removation soon.

Room Tip: Ask about which rooms are quietest if important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have being charged for two extra nights on my American Express card after checking out, I am in the process of having to prove I left the US on the 17th May and didn't request my room until the 19th. Despite I may add, having the hotel organise the car that took me to the airport. Fortunately Virgin are sending out a proof of travel email, which may be enough coupled with my actual hotel bill. American Express Centurian after much and I mean 20 minutes of threatning to cancel my card gave me a temporary credit. So the moral of my tale is, keep your boarding pass, make sure they don't book extra nights.

In terms of the hotel, it's not Asia. Don't expect HK or Shanghai Service or even close. I've stayed at this Peninsula twice in the last 12 months, Shanghai 3 times, Hong Kong Twice, Beverly Hills once, New York once...this beats BH by a mile where the gym is tiny, not up to NY( which is the best Peninsula in the US, my opinion), not even close to HK and Howard Johnson compared to Shanghai..which I think beats HK..but without the obvious old charm..that one is a personal choice....new Ritz is great too in HK. The gym at the Peninsula is better vs HK Ritz which matters to me but maybe not for someone else, Ritz has coffee machine in the room which is a nice touch at 2am when you can't sleep but don't want to call room service..again, personal choice.

Practical note, when you book a car from the airport expect a charge of $155 plus tip and a 20 minute wait at the side of the road at the airport while the car pulls up. Okay on a nice spring day like the 15th May to the 17th (note 17th not 19th) but requires a hospital visit in Chicago in December.

My next plan if Peninsula Chicago continue to fleece me is to rack up all my bills from the last 12 months from Peninsula hotels and post them to the CEO in HK. Of course, he probably won't care but being Asia he might...

Anyway, keep the boarding and make sure you're checked out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
434 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at the Peninsula Chicago for our anniversary last week. We had stayed there once before and now I remember why we loved it so much. The service was out of this world. From the moment we checked in, the staff took care of our every need. We arrived very early and our room was not ready. They upgraded us at no cost to a suite so we could get into our room, so I could get to a meeting I had on time (yes…a little biz before pleasure). The concierge ordered a complimentary wine be sent to our table at dinner, even though we ate at a different hotel. She made the reservations and did a perfect job. She even arranged for complimentary transportation via the hotel Mini Copper. On top of all that, she had monogrammed pillow cases delivered to our room that evening. We also did a couples massage and were extremely impressed. While the massage was very good, for the cost of a massage, the spa facilities are unimpressive. The rooms have more amenities and luxury features than you could possibly list. The turndown service, room service, doorman, concierge, front desk, and EVERYTHING was great. The trip was worth every dime. Keep up the good worth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Profguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very nice hotel, rooms are jam-packed with amenities and the staff is cordial. A tall male concierge (sorry, can't remember his name but he's gotta be about 6'5") is on top of everything and follows through, no worries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEvorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,302 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 189 in Chicago
2,253 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing