We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel Experience in the U.S>”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel Experience in the U.S>”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I loved our stay at The Peninsula in Chicago.
The hotel room was plush, quiet and with an elegant floor plan.
The hotel has excellent restaurants, a cool bar and a great spa with a full-sized lap pool which we used every evening before dinner.
The location is perfect for visiting Chicago and our room was always a tranquil sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of the city.
On our last night we had excellent room service from the Shanghai Terrace; we felt very well taken care of (and had dinner in our pajamas)!
The service at the hotel was top notch, especially housekeeping. They do and excellent turn-down service before bedtime.
Staying at the Peninsula was the best hotel experience we have had in the United States.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    145
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
261
464
75
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is an elegant hotel, that certainly is well located. Staff is prompt and friendly, and the rooms are spacious but starting to show age.

Our 3 day stay afforded a number of opportunities for something 'special' but nothing stood out. The hotel is too large for anything personal, and a bit too formulaic for any real magic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I wanted to treat my 20 year old daughter to a gala weekend in Chicago and could not have picked a better hotel than the Peninsula.I had stayed at the Peninsula once before. I was very impressed with this hotel, so I knew we would have a excellent hotel experience ahead of us. And we did as I will explain.
We were lucky to be part of The Tenth Year Anniversary Celebration that the hotel had to offer. This basically was an offer for the first night room rate at full price and then the second night rate at $10 dollars!!! Yes I took the offer!
I had called the hotel for an early check-in. When we arrived we were able to get into our beautiful Delux Suite 3 hours early!!! Upon entering our suite we had a welcome card and assorted fruit and nut tray. After going out for a few hours we returned to a complimentary bottle of fine wine and chocolates.
We had room service twice a day. If you can afford a Delux Suite I would say go for it.We had two queen beds in the bedroom although you can have the choice of a one king bed in this type of suite.This suite also has a pull out bed in the living room if needed . The suite had an luxurious master bath and off the living foyer is a very nice half bath. My daughter said that she would actually love to live in this suite.We did have a small view of Lake Michigan.
The gym on the 20th floor is well equipped with even better views of the city and servral views of Lake Michigan.We did not use the spa but I will on the next visit.
We had afternoon tea in the main restaurant/lobby area both days.The tea selection is over the top as you might expect. We enjoyed the orchid oolong tea with a vanilla -coconut flavor.
Our first night we had dinner in The Shanghi Terrace at 7:30 pm. There were quite a lot of children having dinner before this time. I opted for indoor seating which I felt to be more intimate and quite than outdoor seating. By 7:30 pm most of the children had had their dinner and there were no children seated indoors when we had our very fine 2 and half hour feast on a friday night.. I enjoyed the Crispy Duck as my entree.
One nice feature about our suite is that several side windows could be cracked open a bit letting lake breezes fill the room if you wish..
I had asked my daughter before we left to leave the city if she could think of one flaw that the Peninsula possessed. She said after some thought " No". I totally agreed with her!
Yes, you get what you pay for and more.The more is all the little things that a hotel of this quality does for you. A concierge that I only briefy talked to, and who was not our main concierge, new my name the next day!
I used to be a loyal to The Mandarin Oriental Hotels.I thought they were the best. Now the Peninsula in Chicago is my number one city hotel, by far.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

First off, this is a very expensive hotel. No doubt if you are considering staying here, you already know this. For this reason, it seems a little unfair to compare it up against hotels that are charging much less for a nights stay. It never feels quite right to me to expect the same thing out of a Kia as one would out of a Masserati. So...in my review, I'm really only comparing it up against similar hotels who charge fairly handsome prices.

First of all, it's an attractive hotel. Clean, comfortable, great location just around the corner from Neiman Marcus and Saks Fifth Avenue. If shopping is your thing, you won't have far to cart your new treasures. The staff is understandably and appropriately solicitous. And they should be. For the price, an extremely helpful staff in not a nicety, but a given.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Obviously, everything was clean and reasonably state of the art. There were many remote control features, my favorite being the television that could be accessed from the bathtub. (The technology was slightly old, but still very nice.) The bed was extremely comfortable, the room reasonably quiet considering it looked out onto the traffic of Michigan Avenue. The hall noise was non-existent.

Room service was quick and efficient, and the food was acceptable, if not mouth-wateringly delicious. My son had high praise for the club sandwich with avocado and egg, but not having tasted it personally, I really can't comment.

We dined at the Michelin Two Stars Avenues restaurant. It is the pride of the Peninsula, and it's a pretty decent restaurant if you enjoy adventurous eating. If not, I'd say skip it. Our bill for three people - this includes four alcoholic beverages - was over $600.00. So...this was a pre-fixe menu, and included roughly eight courses of Very Unique food. Amazing presentation, amazing service...Very Unique food. This is the type of thing one probably encounters on very upscale cooking shows, but rarely encounters in their everyday life. I'm glad I tried it, but a little bit of sea urchin goes a long way. Capiche?

We ate breakfast one morning in the lobby restaurant, and I would have to say that those orders of Eggs Benedict and that bowl of oatmeal were pretty lackluster. I don't mind paying for things if they hold merit, but I don't like to be taken any more than the next person, and the day that a few skimpy plates of eggs and overcooked hash browns combined with a bowl of oatmeal and berries equals out to over $80.00 - well, that's a sad day in my culinary digest. Anyway, the hotel owns a far better breakfast and lunch cafe adjacent to the lower level of the hotel, and it's a much better choice for casual and tasty dining.

So, in closing, the Peninsula is a fine enough hotel, but certainly nothing for bargain hunters. The location is probably it's most pertinent distinction, but clearly it's a top notch hotel as well. Just bring your wallet, and be prepared to use it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Itravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had the great pleasure to stay at this really wonderful hotel for 7 nights in July 2011 during a short summer trip to Chicago. I am a big fan of the Peninsula chain of hotels. Having stayed in Peninsula hotels in Bangkok and New York our expectations were somewhat high and the Peninsula Chicago absolutely fulfilled them. The location is one of the best in Chicago right on Michigan Avenue. The lobby and the property are gorgeous. Staff was extremely friendly, professional and welcoming. Our room on the 8th floor looked and smelled like we were the first guests in it. Immaculate clean, no spots, everything as accurate as you would expect it from one of the worlds-best hotel-chains. Housekeeping did a great job twice a day. The room itself was huge, more like a junior-suite in other hotels with a separate dressing-area and a walk in closet. We slept excellent. There was absolute no sound from outside or the other rooms on your floor. There was plenty of storage room and closet space. The marble bathroom absolute perfect and clean. Robes, slippers and the really wonderful Davi bath-products added up to the experience. Our room did not provide much of a view but it was OK for us. A big plus is the location and the Concierge Service. Many thanks to Garry Schneider, one the concierges, who really provided exceptional service and suggested many hidden restaurants and trips of the beaten track. Personally I appreciated the small things that makes this hotel a 5* one: shoe-trees in your shoes after complimentary shoe-shine, collar-sticks with the hotel logo on it in your shirt after laundry and so on. Overall I would highly recommend The Peninsula for your Chicago visit. There is only one small negative to mention: the pool looks much better on the pictures than in nature, but who cares about a pool in Chicago?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika Traveler
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was the first time I've stayed at a Peninsula Hotel and It met my expectations and more. Every staff member from the front desk to houskeeping was obviously extrememly well trained to provide outstanding customer service. While the rate was very pricey, it was worth the money because of the impeccable service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpelikaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My ten-year-old son and I spent a long weekend at the Peninsula as part of an Amtrak trip from our home in Colorado which I promised my son. While we naturally expect superlative service from a five-star hotel, the Peninsula exceeded all of our expectations. All public rooms and guest rooms are immaculate, stylish and graced with fine art. The guest rooms contain suprising high-tech touches allowing one to control lighting, the TVs and radios with a touch of the button. (And no "do not disturb" door hangers: discreet lighting on the exterior doorbell informs staff of one's wishes.) Although we had planned various dining excursions around the city, our first evening meal at the Shanghai Terrace convinced us to stay on premises for most of our meals -- each one at the various dining venues proved to be a memorable masterpiece. The hotel provided special toiletries and welcome snacks for my son, and every staff member we encountered embodied the high level of professionalism the hotel obviously demands. Though the prices reflect the high quality, we considered it a relative bargain considering the fact that this was the finest hotel stay we've encountered anywhere worldwide. I'm anxiously looking forward to sharing the Peninsula with my wife and two older children!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coloradotreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,347 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,287 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#11 of 190 in Chicago
285 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing