We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As usual, tip top”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“As usual, tip top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for 9 days. Coming back to the Peninsula after 3 years was as it has to be: the "welcome back" greeting, the service, the summer special upgrade to an executive suite (awsome bathroom with a view on Michigan avenue), the environment and not to forget the service. Special mention for reception and concierge who had always a listing ear and ready to make your stay as confortable as you wish. So, for me it was good "to be back". If you want a hotel without negative surprises with a stable level of (very) good quality of service, do not hesitate. Try out also the food from the Shanghai Terrace or The Lobby (yes I skipped Avenues because I did not want to have dinner alone, but I tried it out previously and it was good). The Peninsula is may be not the cheapest around :), but price/quality it suits me perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,177
    140
    53
    17
    15
See reviews for
245
439
75
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cybertron
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Ultra-Luxurious Hotel. Beautiful room. Outstanding top notch service. The pool at the top of the hotel with floor to ceiling windows overlooking Michigan Avenue is one-of-a-kind awesomeness.

The thing that killed it though, was the stale, dirty-sock odor that pervaded our room during our 4 day stay : (
It was VERY unpleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllSpark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Peninsula is in the heart of the City, a heartbeat away from the famous shopping stores like Sax 5th Ave., Nordstrom Rack, etc.
This is a plush hotel and we enjoyed the executive suite we stayed in. Excellent staff, very helpful. I had one meal in the room, and I did not think it was particularly great. I had a drink ( 4 glasses of wine in total were consumed) with a friend and the bill was $44 for Pino Grigio.
The cell phone reception from our suite was practically non- exixstant ( I use Verizon) and the WIFI was terrible. I was constantly bounced of and finally they had to just connect me with a dsl connection.
I am not sure that if I had to pay for a hotel I would choose it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandatucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great hotel with great sitting areas and a lovely restaurant. Rooms are just ok. The cleaning ladies do a great job. The concierge is all the time with 2 phones in the hand something that discourages you to ask anything. Plus the solutions are not always the best or the cheapest. Need more people there for this big hotel. The fact that you need to take 2 elevators to go to your room sometimes is annoying. The first elevator from the street level to the reception level and the second elevator from there to your floor. Great breakfast and the waiters are doing a great job. All in all a great hotel which needs some corrections especially the service of the concierge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I must say that you expect to pay to stay at the Peninsula. We got a great deal I just happened to find a night free and discounted nights on top of that. That being said it was worth every penny, as we wanted to be pampered and basically do nothing. This is our 8th trip to Chicago and this was just for the love of the city and of course the food. If you're just there for shopping and never in your room don't stay here because you'd never appreciate the amenities, like the spa, sundeck and pool. They are very customer service oriented, which when I travel I want, and I really can't say a negative thing about our experience except I found it rather odd that they didn't have an ironing board and iron alreadly in your room. Of course as soon as I called down they immediately sent up the iron, ironing board and spray starch, magic sizing etc anything and everything you'd need. That being said there is a reason this is the best hotel in Chicago and I've stayed all the other comparible hotels. Just save up your cash and really look for the deals because at normally $600 a night and up you need to get the most bang for your buck.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I attended a wedding this last weekend and decided to also stay at this hotel for four nights to take advantage of a special wedding rate that was extended to me. I had a room on the 15th floor (20 is the top floor I believe) and it had ample view of the city, other large buildings, city life, etc. Proper sun/shade/drapes were in place... although nothing allowed us to escape the blaring sirens that are almost constant in city life. Someone really needs to talk to the Chicago fire department to tone down all the unnecessary noise they make. The room was medium in size, very well laid out with a separate dressing area and very large bathroom. All lights, utilities, furniture, art, rugs, tile, bathroom, etc, were completely modern, clean, and well maintained. Extremely high tech, yet simple to use, lighting, air system, safe, phone, DVD, TV, stereo, tv in bath tub, etc. Makeup mirror, safe, mini bar, etc. They have a one hour service to remove wrinkles in your clothing, or they will bring you: an iron, a board, spray can and spray water... all very clean and now, so your clothes wont be ruined. Turn down service is done nightly. All requests for room clean and do not disturb are electronic and not paper/hang based. We lives strangely in the room and did not want the room cleaned until 7PM each night when we left for dinner. They respected our DO NOT DISTURB electronic sign and never once did they knock or call trying to get us to have the room cleaned. Never once did we hear noise in the hall way, including never hearing any knocks on someone else's door, etc. There were many subtle and not so subtle high tech things throughout the room... each were very impressive and useful. During the room clean, if you had a cable wire plugged in (like a phone charger) they would even ROLL IT UP NICELY as if it was BRAND NEW. Each night during turn down service they also set your slippers on each side of the bed and placed them on a cloth mat. The bathrobes were long enough for a change, very clean, and very comfortable. The towels were extremely white, plush, and perfect in every way. There was a scale, hair blower, and plenty of high quality soap/shampoo. The service was incredible in every way. If you ask someone where something is, they TAKE YOU THERE. We requested a 2PM check out time and that was not a problem at all. The SPA was very clean and the people who work there are very respectful and helpful in every way. The GYM was constantly being cleaned, even though it was already clean. They offered water and fruit, cold towels, stretching room, modern equipment, yoga paraphernalia, etc. I believe there was a pool, but I did not use it. I will separately review their restaurant and catering food separately... but I will say here that they were all 5 star. I cannot wait to go back and I was unhappy to leave. Lastly, the concierge was dead on with everything they assisted with. This is a DOG FRIENDLY hotel and you will see some of the cutest dogs walking through the lobby... often being walked by a member of the hotel staff, dressed as a bell boy, with white gloves, taking the pooch our for a walk. Very impressive, cube, and RICH!

Room Tip: Come as part of wedding or group, and you should get around 60% off the website price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

You feel welcomed the minute you enter the hotel. The staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. Great rooms that you don't want to leave. Spa is great with top notch staff. Always my favorite stay in the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing