We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice for a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #42 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good choice for a stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The bright , modern reception area of this hotel gives a very positive first impression.
Check –in went smoothly , and all further dealings with staff proved them to be friendly and efficient.
Property is well located for almost everything a visitor to Chicago will want to do.
All public areas are kept very clean.
Breakfast room is fair sized , and the complimentary breakfast is as good as any . All food and beverages were kept well stocked for the whole time the room was open.
Bedroom wasn’t as big as some other similarly priced places I’ve stayed at in the downtown area ,
and the shower / toilet / washbasin layout felt a bit cramped.
Housekeeping do a good job of cleaning and tidying .
Elevators worked well with never more than 30-40 seconds wait for a car.
Whenever my next visit to this city is , Fairfield inn will be my first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clydecoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear clydecoasters,

Thank you for your stay and kind review. We are glad that check-in was easy and our staff was friendly and helpful. It's great you had a chance to explore our prime location and enjoy our complimentary breakfast.

We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    597
    109
    32
    15
See reviews for
466
366
84
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights for a conference. The location adjacent tot he magnificent Mile is wonderful. Easy walking distance to shopping great restaurants, the river, and Millennium Park. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful, as was the bellman. They held my bags until my room was ready. The room was clean and of a decent size, though not spacious. Fifth floor room overlooked another building's roof. Don't expect great views here. Paul Mitchell toiletries are provided, though my bottle of hand lotion was actually empty (?). Furniture in the room was a little worn but everything worked in the room, though the toilet was a bit temperamental. Nite that the modern, sleek design in the lobby does not translate into the guest rooms.

Wifi is included and is strong.

Breakfast is included, which is a great value especially for families. It would have been nice if it varied a bit each day, but there was plenty of choice (healthier options are a bit limited, especially if you are watching carbs).

Only service gripes: I asked for a wake up call the one day I needed to be up and out early, and it never arrived. The alarm in the room also failed. Also, it rained one day and the sign on the valet stand noted complimentary loaner umbrellas. Bbt when I asked for one, I was told they had none. Fortunately there is plenty of shopping nearby where is a able to buy one.

Overall, it's a decent location and property, but a bit thin on amenities. It's probably best for visiting families and those travelers who don't plan on using their rooms a whole lot during their stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank thinktankjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldChicagoMGT, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the candid feedback. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad most of your experience was good with us, however I apologize for the few small hiccups. We take our guest comments very serious and use them as training tools. I would love to hear more from you. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a trade show at McCormick Place. Was hoping for something a little closer to the hall, but I was surprised with the hotel and location. Just down the block was the Capital Grille and plenty of shopping close by. The staff was fantastic; even with the show in town, they were quick and efficient. They even made some great dining suggestions too. Will be back next year and plan on staying at the same place. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beethoven55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Beethoven55,

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to hear you liked our location and felt welcomed and attended to by our staff.

We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I could not be more pleased with the location, the price and the staff of this Fairfield Inn. It's within walking distance of Magnificent Mile shopping destinations, many restaurants and other points of interest. Check-in was quick, friendly and easy. Room is very clean. The complimentary continental breakfast is convenient, very well-maintained and, frankly, a step above most hotel continental breakfasts. Wifi is fast and works great. The only issue I had was my room was not made-up today. However, a call to the front desk this afternoon yielded housekeeping showing up within five minutes to service the room. I will stay here again with no second thoughts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDG5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear JDG5400,

Thank you for your stay and review. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and attentive and your room was clean and comfortable. It's great that you were able to enjoy our wifi and breakfast, while still finding time to explore our location.

We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Oh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a better than average hotel and much better than average for a Faifield. It's got a little more style than your typical Fairfield. What makes this a great hotel is the location and the price. You aren't going to get a better room in the center if the city for less.

It's been a while since I last stayed, but in do remember a great little Italian restaurant across the street. Dozens of other eateries nearby.

Being on a less busy street means it's a little quiter than hotels on Michigan. Very clean, very friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Pete E,

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and found our staff to be helpful. It's also great that your room was both quiet and clean.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were here for the Flower and Garden Show and, coincidentally, the St. Patrick's day parade weekend. This hotel was both in the center of the action and set back enough from Michigan Avenue to give a sense of peace to the rooms.

Nice clean rooms. Great free breakfast. One of the best places I've stayed in downtown Chicago.

The staff were so friendly that when Mom asked where the vending machines were because she needed chocolate they broke out their own personal stash of chocolate to give to her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you had a pleasant time at the St. Patrick's day parade and that our location made the event that much more enjoyable. We are also happy that you found our rooms to be clean, our breakfast to be satisfactory and our staff to be welcoming and accommodating.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The location is outstanding and within walking distance of so many fun places. The front desk was very nice and friendly. The room was average and could use some updating. The rooms were small, especially the bathroom, but if everything were to be updated, it all would be just fine. Breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast, and you did not have to pay for it. The location and decent price make it worthwhile, if only the rooms could be updated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Duane G,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you found our front desk staff to be welcoming and our location to be outstanding. It's also great that you had a chance to enjoy our complimentary breakfast.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing