We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #42 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is very reasonably priced, and in a fantastic location. With breakfast included, it is the best deal in town. Clean rooms, which may be small for some, but when you're downtown, who stays in their room? The staff is very friendly and make you feel welcome. Breakfast is fine, eggs, waffles, cereal, milk, yogurt, coffee, juice, donuts, bagels - may not be gourmet, but gets you started in the a.m. without the $30.00 price tag, and no wait time. We loved it, an dwill go back again if we have the chance.

Room Tip: some rooms face inward, so there may not be much of a view. executive suite is not big, but fine fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsdlsd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Isdlsd01,

Thank you for your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and location. It's wonderful that our staff was welcoming and helpful.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my mother and two daughters Sunday through Tuesday. Could not have been more pleased! The very best thing about the hotel is the location. We walked everywhere (10 minutes to Navy Pier, 2 minutes to Mag Mile, 5 minutes to river...). Used the park & stay package and never needed to get our car out (valet were very efficient and polite upon check in and check out). Room was very clean and spacious enough, all staff were friendly and professional, free breakfast was very good (make your own waffles!). I loved the fact that the hotel was smaller and on a relatively quiet street (yes, there is some noise, but you are in downtown Chicago - of course there's noise!). The only negative thing about our stay was the high price - but that's downtown Chicago for you... I don't think I could find a better place to stay for the price. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Kimberly1971,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad that your trip was enjoyable! It's great you were able to explore our location and that you had a restful sleep. We are also thrilled that our staff was friendly and accommodating.

We are looking forward to your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I've stayed in this property a dozen times and always they treat us amazingly well. We had 20 rooms and each person remarked about how great the property treated us. I have three more meetings planned in Chicago this year and will use this hotel for each one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear jason d,

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that our staff consistently makes you feel right at home. Thank you so much for your loyalty, and we are looking forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent 2 nights for work travel here. I selected the hotel because it was the lowest priced Marriott property (Platinum Reward Member) in downtown and it was walking distance to the event I was attending.

The location is convenient: easy for morning runs along the lake, near many restaurants and shops, etc.

The front desk staff, housekeepers, and other employees were very friendly and informative.

My room was just adequate. The furnishings, carpet, wallpaper in bathroom, etc. all need to be updated. Everything looked somewhat dated, with the exception of the TV and the surprisingly decent towels. For a city hotel room, the size of the room was fine, although the bathroom was really tight. The tiny counter in the sink area had a coffeemaker, cups, coffee, ice bucket, etc. all around it. I had to move everything to the bedroom just to find enough space for the limited amount of toiletries I brought (i.e. 1 quart bag of travel size items...)

The worst feature of the room was the air conditioning unit. Wow, it was loud. I had to turn it off at night, which of course, meant the room got very warm.

I did use the free breakfast, which was typical Fairfield Inn fare. Plenty of variety and so convenient before heading off to a business meeting. And the free WiFi worked well, with no issues getting access.

Bottom line? I would most likely look elsewhere next time I stay in downtown Chicago. However, if I had to stay here again, the location would be a definite plus.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank jtwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear jtwiz,

Thank you for staying with us on your business trip. We are glad to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful and that you liked our prime location. We are sorry you found the air conditioning to be loud, and we will be sure to look into the matter.

We hope to see you again on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband has stayed here a lot, and we have stayed here many times together. Last week we arrived for a long weekend. The room was fine. We had a room facing east. We'd heard from staff over the last year or two that the hotel was going to be remodeled, and while we love the boutique/Jonathan Adler-esque look of the place and hope that this unique look won't be diluted with the remodel, the place is starting to fray at the edges. The cool upholstered seating niche in the lobby has a big patch missing from the upholstery. Hoping this isn't a sign of a slow slide.

We messed up our reservation. We thought we were staying on the Monday night, and the hotel had us checking out on Monday. It was our error, and the Fairfield got us into the nearby Courtyard Magnificent Mile. It would have really been cool, however, if they could have found us a place - Platinum Premiere membership doesn't apparently help there?

It's a good location - several nearby restaurants - pizza, burgers, and Asian right across the street, a couple high-end places basically next door, and the 24-hr Baskin Robbins and Dunkin-Donuts nearby.

People have mentioned the sound of sirens. We rarely notice them. This hotel is very near a hospital.

However, we have probably moved our hotel choice to the Courtyard Magnificent Mile.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lietuva_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Dear lietuva_9

Thank you for taking the time to review our property in such an open and gracious way. I truly appreciate all the favorable comments and have shared the renovation needs with our owners. Since you have stayed with us and have enjoyable memories of our property, I wanted to ask you to be patient with us and we do approach renovation season. I can assure you that our company has the comfort of our guests in mind as we are finalizing the plan of renovation. It is happening, and we appreciate all the feedback.

Next time you’re in the area please keep us in mind, the courtyard is nice but we would really like you to come back home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were here for three nights in June. The price was a bit high, but for the location, not unreasonable. It varied somewhat significantly from night to night. The rooms were a bit small, but again, for the middle of the city, not unreasonable. The free breakfast was good, and the location and wi-fi included were great. If in the area again, we would likely choose this place a second time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Todd N,

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and location.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a great stay here this past weekend! I read previous reviews that complained about the fire station being across the street. Our room faced the fire station and not once while trying to sleep was the fire station an issue. We had a rather restful sleep in nice big comfy queen beds. The pillows were very fluffy and soft! After going all day & night, I looked forward to coming back to our room & especially the comfy bed. Don’t let the fire station detour you from booking this room.
So onto detail besides the comfy beds! The room was nice sized! There was room to move about. It had a nice TV, full length mirror, desk, refrigerator, coffee maker, closed and a spacious bathroom! The bathroom was nice a big with a lot of counter space. The water pressure could have been a bit better but all in all it was good.
Breakfast is included at this hotel. I find this a big deal when staying in the city. Meals can add up quite fast and it’s nice to have to spend money for breakfast. The selections were pretty good…….eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, fruit, etc. The staff in the breakfast area was very friendly and helpful.
Check in and out was breeze. The staff was really nice and helpful. One of the ladies working suggested a few bars to us and her recommendations were great. There is an underground Tiki bar across the street that had great drinks!
Parking is a bit steep & I find it ridiculous that I paid more in parking in Chicago than NYC!! There are some garages nearby that are cheaper. Next time I would do that instead of paying $62 a night!
This is a good hotel & I’d stay here again.

PS - good location! Mile walk straight down Illinois to the Navy Pier! Very close to the Mag Mile and State Street (I prefer shopping on state). Close to trains too. Plenty of restaurants around too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobluegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear gobluegirl,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a restful sleep and enjoyed our beds and pillows. It's great you were able to take advantage of our breakfast array and location. We are glad that our staff was attentive and friendly.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $88 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our hotel staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago, Illinois' city center area, near everything you could require or want. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing