We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in heart of Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #43 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
2 reviews
“Great Hotel in heart of Chicago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great Hotel for weekend stay or quick weekday trip. Very nice limited service property with great service and close to everything on the Mag Mile. It was clean and busy on the weekend but no issues. The free breakfast also had all the basics.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear GA44,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear our staff was able to assist you and that you enjoyed our location near the Magnificent Mile. It's great you found your room to be clean and breakfast to be fulfilling.

We hope to see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    585
    107
    32
    15
See reviews for
455
360
82
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Booked 6 nights in April
Taxi from O’Hare Airport $40 + tax (so $50)

Arrived at hotel at 9pm and check-in was quick and easy. Room was usual Fairfield standard. Not huge but adequate and clean. 15th floor (top floor)

Now comes the drawbacks….wifi was hit and miss (mostly miss): window would not open: aircon very noisy, rattling all night: hairdryer overheated and stopped working after 20 seconds use and toilet took 10 minutes to fill after flushing meaning it could not be flushed twice within 10 minutes!!!
The hotel was very busy meaning the small breakfast room was over crowded and over heated. The 24 hour coffee and tea was often empty or cold.

At this stage I would have given the hotel a 5 out of 10 and been hesitant to recommend.

On our 4th day (after 3 nights on the 15th floor) we returned from a day of sightseeing to find out key would not work…so back down to reception to be told the hotel wanted us to move room s as the “technical team” would be working on the 15th floor for the next few days. This was not a problem. Front desk were extremely apologetic and even offered assistance to move our luggage.

We were moved one floor down (14th floor) to an identical looking room but WOW!! What a difference a floor makes! Absolutely no complaints…everything worked and, as the hotel was not as busy, breakfast was an enjoyable experience!

Based on the last 3 nights I would give the hotel a 9 out of 10 and recommend (with a request not to be put on the 15th floor!!!)

A little disappointed that we were given a sub standard room to start with ( even more so as a Silver Marriott Rewards Member)

Location is ideal
10 - 15 minute walk to Navy Pier or Cloudgate.
5 minute walk to Bus #146 on Michigan Ave to Field Museum / Aquarium / Planetarium ($2.25 per person each way)

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 15th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear TravelBorts,

Thank you so much for your review. We are sorry for the obstacles you encountered in your 15th floor room, but we are thrilled that our staff was helpful and able to provide you with a comfortable room on the floor below. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and location for the rest of your trip.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here on a recent trip to Chicago. The location is excellent and within walking distance to many downtown locations. We arrived at the hotel before our room was actually ready, and the front desk clerk took our cell phone number and called us to let us know when our room was actually ready (in about an hour and a half). Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear jdjay,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our location and rooms. it's also great that our front desk staff was able to assist you.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I recently stayed one night and could not have been more pleased. The self parking garage was quite close, the room was nice for 3 adults, breakfast was good, and the location was convenient. The staff who were working on April 24-25, 2014, were friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, and courteous. Thank you for the snack bag we were given at check-in. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mychelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mychelle S,

Thank you for your feedback and stay. It is great that the parking garage was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our breakfast, room and nearby attractions. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and welcoming.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary. They surprised us with cupcakes and a handwritten card waiting for us as we entered our room. Our room was ready early so we were allowed to go ahead and unpack before check-in time. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful! We will be back to stay in this hotel again!! AND it's so close to everything! Thanks for a great vacation and wonderful memories!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jsearles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Jsearles79,

Congratulations on your anniversary! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that you liked the location. It is wonderful that we could make your occasion memorable.

We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This Fairfield inn and suites was one of the best I've stayed in. Excellent accommodations, courteous staff, a great breakfast included and good location make this an excellent value. Securing a room on a higher floor in the back of the hotel allowed me a good night sleep away from the hustle and bustle of the city street noise. The front desk and hotel staff was helpful/ polite and my room was very clean. A Great location to stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Cornell W,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, location and accommodations. It is great that you slept well and found our staff to be helpful and kind.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Unbeatable location, accommodating staff, clean and comfortable room! Breakfast and wifi included. Great stay at a great value! Which I suppose makes this hotel a very popular one so its main drawback is that it was extemely busy and the breakfast room felt always cramped!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Barelle,

We appreciate your kind review. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our free wifi and breakfast and that our room, location and staff were to your liking. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing