We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

All you need in a hotel in a great, trendy neighborhood. Convenient to all. Clean, comfortable rooms and helpful, courteous staff. Rooms were ample size and had all the amenities. We were not bothered at all by noise as some others complained about. We will return next time we visit Chicago. The free breakfast is a bonus!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Antoinette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Antoinette S,

It is wonderful that you had such a terrific visit to the Fairfield. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our comfortable rooms and staff. We are also glad that you liked our location and breakfast.

We are looking forward to your next trip to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Good location just off michigan avenue and half way along The Mile. Good strong wifi and a pretty good breakfast offered complimentary in a spacious area.

Seems to offer competitive rates given wifi & breakfast included.

Was slightly surprised the rooms felt quite dated especially in terms of the fixtures - for example very old fashioned air con control panel and system, and shower controls...and just a general 'feeling' of age.

Very surprised that the rooms do not have safes - surely a basic requirement in any hotel in a major city centre. Instead they are offered at reception which is hardly convenient for storing your laptop or excess cash. The lack of any fridge in the rooms is also a minor inconvenience.

Had a tiny issue with the complimentary toiletries offered in little plastic tubs which were difficult to squeeze and couldn't see how much was left.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear journeyman29,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your review. It is wonderful that you liked our location, breakfast and high speed wireless internet. At the same time, we are sorry for the issues you experienced with our complimentary toiletries.

Thanks again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was terrific for a weekend in the city. Just 2 blocks off Michigan Avenue and situated half way between Water Tower Place and the Wrigley Bldg on the river. Rooms were clean and efficient. Breakfast was self-serve but more than the usual "make your own waffles." Best of all, the price was right. You could self-pack in a nearby lot and get a substantial price break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheesehead07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear cheesehead07,

We are very pleased to hear you had such a terrific weekend. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast. We are also happy that you liked being near Michigan Avenue.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

There for a 3 day dental convention. Stayed in King Bed room-had living room with TV, couch, chair, table and separate bedroom with TV, closet. Another closet by entry door and bathroom. Very clean, beautifully decorated with high quality sheets and furnishings, and Paul Mitchel shampoo, etc. Huge selection and fully stocked complimentary breakfast for any dietary requirements. 24 hour coffee/tea beverages available. Plenty of restaurants and stores all in walking distance. I will be staying here yearly, every February.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Kathy M,

Thank you so much for writing such great comments about your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience with your bedroom and breakfast. It is also great you enjoyed our location.

Can't wait to see you next February!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great hotel. Just a block east of Michigan Avenue. Stayed in suite so had 2 tv's which was nice. King bed very comfortable. Room had 2 closets which was nice. Check in staff was wonderful. Great selection for complimentary breakfast. Well definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pd extra $17 for parking which was definitely worth it. Valet parked car and had it at door when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Sandi1976,

We are so happy you had such a tremendous stay. Our team is glad that you liked our suite room and bed. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast.

Can't wait till your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My daughter had an interview at Northwestern's Feinberg Medical School which is very close to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Downtown. Everything about our stay was perfect! Now, it is a Fairfield so we knew we knew up front not to expect fancy schmancy...but we did get super clean and comfy rooms (with the Paul Mitchell shampoo & conditioner I like!), nice free breakfast, great location close to Magnificent Mile, good rates, and a SUPER friendly and helpful staff...always cheerful, joking, asking if we needed anything...just wonderful!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DisneyMomOf3Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear DisneyMomOf3Girls,

It is wonderful that you had such a perfect stay at the Fairfield. We are happy that you enjoyed each aspect of our hotel. It is great that our team, rooms, breakfast and location were to your liking. We also hope your daughter's interview went well!

Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We love the location and service at this hotel. It is within walking distance of great shopping and excellent restaurants. This hotel offers packages with parking that make it a deal that cannot be beat! The rooms are quiet and clean! The staff goes above and beyond to make sure that our stay is the best, with the exception of the one gentleman working as a valet who ignored us upon our last arrival! He was not a member of the valet staff that we recognized and have appreciated in the past. Fortunately, he was not there when we left, and as a result, we got excellent service! This Valentine's Day trip was one of our best!

Room Tip: The king suites on the South side are wonderful, and some have a bit of a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLover699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear BeachLover699,

We are delighted that you had such a great experience with us. It is awesome that our team and location could provide an easy stay. At the same time, we apologize for the troubles you encountered with our valet.

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing