We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip; two nights - almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #43 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Business trip; two nights - almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The front desk guys and bell hops (are they still called that?) were so fun & full of personality. I'm a smoker so it was nice to know they were there when I'd go out for a cig after dark. The room was very clean and I loved the fun orange colors. My one and only complaint was that no one told me about any complimentary breakfast. I didn't know about it until I was checking out and heard someone else talking about it. Here's it's on a different floor. It would have been so nice to have a free breakfast each morning... Great location to Navy Pier too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatheranne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    585
    107
    32
    15
See reviews for
455
360
82
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in downtown Chicago. It was easy walking to the Magnificent Mile and to the Navy Pier. There were a lot of restaurants very close by to choose from also. The staff was very friendly and the room was cozy and clean. I would suggest getting down to breakfast early, we got down a littley after 9 am on a Saturday morning and the breakfast room was very crowded, there was a long line for the waffles, the coffee pot was empty and there was no place to sit. There was a coffemaker in the room so we just grabbed a few things to eat and headed back to our room. My one big complaint about this location is the difficulty in getting a cab. I would strongly suggest on busy nights like Friday or Saturday to have the front desk arrange for a taxi at the time that you will be needing one. We needed one on the Friday night we were there and it was impossible, the younger guy that was working for the hotel outside tried for over 10 minutes hailing a cab for us. He went inside and one of the older guys working there told us to walk down one of the main roads to try and get a cab. We ended up walking over to Michigan ave and had to go about 3 blocks before being able to find one to take us where we needed to be. It took a little time when we needed a cab to go to the train station the next day also, but it wasn't quite as bad. Overall this is a nice hotel to stay in a great part of Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip and walked each day to Rehab Institute of Chicago, which was an easy walk. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the free breakfast and internet were a nice addition. I followed previous reviewer suggestions and requested a corner room on a high floor, which eliminated some of the traffic noise. However, this hotel is near several hospitals so you can expect to hear a lot of ambulances during the night. My one complaint is that the hotel placed a "hold" on my credit card for about $100 more than the total cost of the room. My finances were pretty tight for this trip and I wasn't expecting this, but it was resolved when they did the final check-out. Other than that, everything was fine. This hotel is very close to the Magnificent Mile and is a much better rate than the hotels located right on that busy street. Downtown Chicago is very walk-able so you can take the airport shuttle to the hotel- you don't need a car.

Room Tip: High floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly. The king rooms are small with a little bathroom but the hotel was clean and the location great. Four blocks to the train and two from Michigan Ave. Rate included breakfast. Only issue, 5:30 am trash pick up was not a great way to wake up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trash dumpster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddzKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not bad for a low budget hotel. I did read the worse reviews prior to visiting. For $109 a night, this place is a steal. Check-in and check -out was quick. My room was a decent size. The bed was clean. The bathroom was clean. The staff were nice and kind. Only suggestions, is the carpet and chair could used a stream cleaning. The radiation had some missing vents and were cracked and the shower faucet was cracked. One review stated that there was a smoke smell coimg out of the radiator. It was explained to me, that it was from the venting system which was shared with a neighboring restaurant. I did experience that for about 2 days out of a 5 night stay. It was only for a few hours and it was a hickory smoked smell during the hours of 6-10. It didn't bother me much. Some guests stated that it was noisy. This is downtown, so that may be a problem for those not used to city sounds, Plus the hotel is near a hospital. However, with the windows closed, it was not bad. As for the continental breakfast, it is what it is, Free! Go early as most showed up during the last hour and sitting is tight. Overall, I would stay here again. Great location, Near the subway and buses plus lots of places to eat at. Next time, I would request the suite as I wanted a fridge and micowave in my room. The photos are accurate. What you see, is want you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enatural3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are from a college town in Kansas and visiting Chicago was a trip we were so excited about. We do not know the wheres and the hows around town. The day we came, the front desk staff was so helpful providing us leaflets and maps to get to dining places around town. Housekeeping was helpful too and knew the things we needed like bottled water and provided us with these even without asking. We stayed at the 3rd floor and although we wanted to stay in a room facing ontatio street, the room was just fine because the queen bed and pillows are comfortable. Breakfast was good too! I will definitely suggest to friends and family to stay here if ever they visit chicago. Thank you to the entire staff. Our 3 nights and 4 day stay in Chicago was the best in this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

From check-in to check-out and beyond, our stay at this hotel was easily the best I've had in Chicago, and I've stayed at quite a few hotels in the Windy City, but this location was hands-down the best. The entire staff was very friendly. The rooms were wonderful. The location was great. This hotel experience was better than any other place we've stayed in Chicago. When we needed an extra blanket, security delivered it to our room with a smile and a sense of humor. The front desk even called a cab for us when we weren't even at the hotel. Charles, the concierge, spent time with us to suggest which Italian restaurant to eat at and his advice was spot-on. If Charles is not awarded "Concierge of the Year", it would be a travesty. They held our bags well beyond checkout and let us relax in the breakfast area later in the day so we could have a place to come to while waiting for our late flight out. Breakfast was great. The maids were friendly and accomadating. Everything about this hotel was fantastic. It's easy to see that this location is managed very well. I highly recommend this location to anyone planning a trip to Chicago. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing