We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location, Location, Location and Nice Rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #38 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Wood Dale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location and Nice Rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was our first time at this property and we would definitely return. The room was nice and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was great and the location is excellent. There are so many restaurants and great shopping, all within walking distance.
There are many choices for continental breakfast and the food was always replenished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We agree, the possibilities are endless for things to do in the area and are glad you took advantage of our location. We hope you choose to stay with us on your next family trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    528
    96
    30
    15
See reviews for
394
320
77
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forsyth, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The location of the property is perfect for weekends- right off of North Michigan near shops, dining etc. and only a few blocks from the lake as well. Usually able to find a good price here, esp. considering the rooms are new and the rate includes breakfast. Used to stay at the Courtyard Marriott just across the street, but this location seems to often have better rates. Hotel doesn't have a restaurant or bar, but it's not missed with so many good options nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and taking a chance on us after staying at the Courtyard. We have upgraded our rooms since 2009 and recently purchased new linen and towels. You are right, a restaurant is not completely missed at the hotel considering there are over 7 fast food restaurants at your finger tips as well as upscale restaurants like Capital Grille next door. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed here before. We went to the largest meeting held in Chicago during the year. It was also shopping season. The staff is friendly and helpful. there is a computer in the lobby for those of us without laptops.

I repeatedly recommend this hotel which is part of the Marriott chain.

Room Tip: relatively new hotel, large room, excellent (free) breakfast. Close to the Magnificence Mile, with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the RSNA convention in Chicago. We hope your trip was success but also enjoyable. We hope you stay with us for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Its a hotel located close to main points and nice restaurants. I was there on business and the problem I saw is the wifi internet doesnt work on my room. I spend hours in the lobby answering mails while I could did this at my room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulista05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I do have good news for you regarding our internet. By the end of 1st quarter, we will be broadening our bandwidth to offer strong wi-fi internet reception throughout the entire hotel. We sincerely apologize for your inconcenience. We do hope you visit us again on business in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed here Thanksgiving and were very pleased. The check in was smooth and all the staff was friendly right down to the maintenance person we encountered in the elevator who asked if everything was okay with our stay. The hotel has a hip, trendy vibe but still manages to feel homey and welcoming. The location was excellent which made shopping downtown very convenient and it was just a short walk to the "L" so we could venture uptown for more shopping and dining options. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Like many downtown hotels, the rooms can be small. Choose a suite to add value to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I have shared your review with the staff. It meant a lot to us that recognized our friendly, down to earth character. We take great pride in creating an enviornment where it does feel like your "home away from home" or at least a hotel team full of fun individuals that can make your stay memorable! We hope you and your partner visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I arrived early with a bus load of students eager to attend the Festival of Lights; the rooms were ready, the keys were labeled, and it was a no hassle check-in!! The location made it a perfect home base for the students and I to have a wonderful weeked of shopping, eating at wonderful restaurants, and resting in between the events. The staff was excellent, the rooms were comfortable, I can't say enough good things!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you had a hassle-free check-in and took advantage of our close proximity to the festival, shopping, and restaurants. For an event like the Magnificent Lights Festival on Michigan Avenue, you definately can't beat our location. We hope you and the students make the trip again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

You can't beat the location of this Fairfield Inn. A block from Michigan Ave, tons of shopping, restaurants, etc. The staff was excellent - thank you Monica and Ron at the front desk for being so helpful and accommodating! We had a suite which was very nice and clean. Sofa bed not very comfortable, but rarely is that the case. Breakfast was very good as well. You can't go wrong for the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you had a great experience at the hotel. It sounds like Monica and Ron really made your stay special. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing