We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #36 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Location!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Outside valets were worthless, for the most part. All other hotel staff were friendly and very accommodating. Rooms were smaller than expected and rather colorless. However, everything worked and everything you needed was there. I would certainly stay there again as the location is absolutely perfect to enjoy Michigan Ave and the Pier. BTW the breakfast options were great!

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up. If you get an inside room on lower floors is can be rather dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that the the valet service was unhelpful, which is a direct reflection of the hotel. We will take action on this matter. However, I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    603
    112
    32
    15
See reviews for
481
370
87
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great atmosphere. Quiet and cosy. Pleasant courteous staff, eager to help. Breakfast was great.
I forgot my neck pillow there, they found it promptly and made sure I got it. Overall, they just made everything seem so easy and found a way to solve every problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itoroibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the great review. Thus far, no one has mentioned that the staff at the Fairfield Inn & Suites tries to make every guests' stay enjoyable and "finds a way to solve every problem." That is a wonderful compliment. We definately do our best to make your life and travel experience easy. Please visit us again with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had teams of people on business in and out all week here and we were all pleased with the hotel, the location and the helpful staff!!!! We are booking our next event here again for sure!!! The rroms were clean and the breafast was nice everyday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you had a great experience with us and plan to visit us again. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Not only is the location ideal for shopping, but the service received at this hotel - starting with the valet and onto the front desk - is outstanding. The people who work at the hotel certainly made our trip even better than expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Isn't it amazing how a little can go a long way? Customer service can really make a stay more enjoyable in a city. Please visit us again and we most certainly will provide you with the same service each time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We rented a meeting space here for an amazingly low price considering the location. The sales team was extremely kind, curteous, and responsive to any questions that I have had and knowledgeable about the space they were renting to us. When we arrived, we were greeted nicely and found ourselves in a prepared and clean space. The front desk and bellhop went above and beyond to help me provide dinner to the members of the meeting by picking up the food from around the corner because the place we ordered from decided to stop delivery because it got cold. Anyway, if you are looking for amazing service and great spaces in an amazing location, the fairfield is where you want to go in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to you had a great stay! Our front desk staff and bellmen are extremely knowledgable in the area's attractions and restaurants. If you tell them the type of food your are looking for, they will direct you to the best location in town. We hope you will return to the Fairfield Inn during your future business trips to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location with standard Fairfield inn amenities except no pool. The hotel has a small footprint thus not many rooms per floor, get a corner room opposite the vending machines and ice machine as the noise from the foot traffic and the ice machine is very noticeable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your advise to those guests who are very noise sensitive. We do have single bedded rooms and suites away from the ice machine and we will be happy to accommodate those requests, if available. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel was nice and the location close to Michigan Avenue was fantastic! I gave it a 4/5 because the room was very small and smelled a little musky. However, everything was very clean and neat. For the price you can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahDB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry your room smelled musky. I hope you informed the front desk so we could look into the smell or move you to another room. Please keep those options in mind for future stays. We want to make your stay the best if can possibly be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing