We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$232
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$169
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$132
$124
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$198
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$434
$168
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$131
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$116
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$137
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,878)
Filter reviews
1,878 results
Traveler rating
1,035
665
121
38
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,035
665
121
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationnavy pierfront deskmake your own wafflesfree breakfastbreakfast roomgarrett's popcornmichigan avenueyogurtnorthwestern hospitalhard boiled eggsmagnificent milewithin walking distancemag miledonutstwo blocksking suite
Filter
Updating list...
1,405 - 1,410 of 1,878 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

First the good news. The staff at this hotel is extraordinary-very friendly & helpful. We were greated every time we came in or stepped out of the elevator. Parking valets were great & housekeeping was very efficient and fast. Absolutely the best we have ever encountered at any hotel. The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked great and it was HOT! The location is great, close to everything. HOWEVER, the room was tiny. We've stayed in alot of hotels in Chicago & have NEVER had a room this small. Even historic hotels that we've stayed in had rooms larger than this. It is billed as a corner king room which by definition indicates there will be windows on 2 walls and implies a slightly larger room (as in a "corner office"). Wrong on both counts. If you look at the hotel website there are no pictures of the corner king room. Also there are no pictures of the tiny bathroom sink counter, only pictures of the much larger counter there we did NOT have. It was 36" wide at MOST. There were 2 chairs in the room, one of which was the desk chair. Both were very uncomfortable and not really intended to sit in to watch tv, eat or drink a cocktail.
To summarize, we really liked the hotel, but were extremely disappointed with the actual room to the point of feeling mislead.

Room Tip: Do NOT fall for the "Corner King Room".
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv02shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations regarding our staff and customer service. We have a wonderful staff and they do try to make the hotel your home away from home. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the size of the corner king room. We have a picture displayed on our website of a king bedded room, which is our corner king room and the bathroom displayed is in our double bedded rooms. Maybe be the next time you stay with us a double bedded room with a larger bathroom or a suite with a separate living space will be better suitable. We look forward to future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

i like this format of hotel - good quality and includes breakfast. honestly - it looks better on line than in person , the lobby is not much to write home about.
the staff was very nice and the location just above the mag mile was perfect.
room was comfy, beds a little hard. breakfast was good and they handled a big crowd well.
we were in the middle of college visits and stayed in chicago one night because, well, chicago is an amazing city! we went to see wait wait don't tell me in the loop, which is south on mag mile, over the river and a few blocks- it was an easy and enjoyable walk both ways. so much fun to wake up in the am and then do the north end of mag mile.
chicago, like most cities, hotels are a little pricy, picked this one on price, it's marriot (points) and breakfast. parking is pricy - $42 valet, but less than other places. it is prettier on the website than in person
staff was great

Room Tip: we stayed on a high floor and it was quiet
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheleNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments. As a select service hotel, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago has the essentials available for a comfortable stay; breakfast, internet, competitive price, and modest lobby/accommodations. The hotel was renovated in 2009 and the housekeeping and engineering staff have done a wonderful job maintaining the hotel. Thank you also for sharing our location and parking prices. We have a lot of offer our guests and we hope you visit us again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I organized my family reunion in Chicago and we had a worry free stay at the Fairfield Inn. Everyone in my group was extremely happy with their accommodations, the attention and high level of service from the hotel staff. One individual who really stood out was Cruz the bellman/ concierge. He was always willing to help and displayed the highest level of customer service. His warm smile and demeanor was at the top of everyone’s list.

Stefanie Killey was also a pleasure to work with. Her attention to detail and thorough follow-up went a long way to make this a very successful family reunion.

The location was steps away from Michigan Avenue shopping and attactions. I will definitely come back again.

Darren Jackson

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front. The top floor also has high ceilings in the rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased that Cruz took great care of you and your family during the reunion. Our team does a fantastic job referring guests to local restaurants, attractions, as well as, making them feel like home. We hope you think of the Fairfield Inn & Suites for any future family events or personal travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is situated just steps to the core shopping area of downtown Chicago, as well as lots of restaurants. It's also about a 10 minute walk to the wonderful lakefront walking/cycling area (highly recommended for anyone who enjoys a morning walk). The rooms were fine - clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheekywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you sharing our close proximity to shopping, restaurants, and Chicago lakefront to our future travelers. I am sure you can agree, you definately do not need car while visiting the area. Please visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have to say I was a bit hesitant when booking my reservation to the Fairfield Inn. I just recently moved away from Chicago and had to come backing business. I know all about the great hotels Chicago had to offer but after reading reviews on Trip Advisor I decided to give the this hotel a try. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. Every time I walked I was greeted by a friendly smile. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were clean and it was close to everything I needed. Overall my experience was great and I will definitely be back again. Thank you Fairfield for my my trip back home a happy one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_P1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments and for taking a chance on us! Your review is a great example of future guests reading reviews on TripAdvisor, searching for candid comments ,while choosing a hotel to stay in Chicago. There are numerous places to stay and narrowing down a hotel due to location can still be difficult. I am glad you were able to experience first hand our excellent customer service and meet our staff. We hope that you continue to share your experience with others and return to Chicago soon. We would be happy to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews