We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We spent a night here. We got a great deal, it was like $150 and that included valet with in/out privileges ($40) and 2 tkts to the Field Museum ($50).
The room is a little on the small side, but it's very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located 2 blocks from Michigan ave. There are no restaurants in the hotel, but there are a bunch of good ones nearby.
We were very happy and definitely will look to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RentAFerrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2008

The Fairfield is clean and newly renovated, with an attractive (if minimal) lobby. Free WiFi is available in the lobby and the 2nd-floor breakfast room; I also managed to find some other WiFi from my fifth-floor room. Breakfast is good, as free hotel breakfasts go. If you've got business downtown, the location can't be beat. Very firm and comfortable mattress. Friendly, helpful staff. A great value for the price!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brianinc-ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Chicago's Marriott Fairfield was a great place to stay on Magnificent Mile without paying a mortgage payment for four nights. I have stayed in more than 5 different hotels in downtown Chicago (I prefer 4-5 star hotels). The average price is at least $350 or more per night. However, I have never visited Chicago in November and it seems that the okay hotels wanted more than $300 per night and the luxury hotels wanted $499 and up per night which is absolutely crazy unless you are a "rock star." If you are a parent visiting your college kid, all of your money is needed to spend on your struggling college student (smile). The hotel was very very clean, staff were very polite, the continental breakfast was the best and inclusive in your daily room rate. And, if you are driving and need to get to the expressway, it is a straight route to major thoroughfares.

I am glad that I decided to stay at the Marriott Fairfield and would definitely stay again. It was in a great location. And for those folks who gave the hotel a low rating, they are probably unhappy in their lives and are a pain in the ...................... for most people they meet. Also, I've stayed in many European hotels that were more costly and much much smaller. In comparison, the room was like a suite and the beds more comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lilpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed for 6 nights, and thought it was an ok hotel in a great location.
To find good hotel deals in Chicago is not easy, I learned that even an ordinary hotel room can cost more than $400 a night, which I find absolutely insane.
This hotel was the cheapest Marriott option in town. We paid around $250 per night, not too bad.
Continental breakfast included.
The room was nothing special. The interior was nothing to write home about, but the bed was comfortable (Marriott's beds are the best).
The room was of standard size, but I guess small for american standards.
Desk staff seemed very busy, and not particulary helpful. They seemed almost annoyed when asked a simple question. When we asked for an adapter they just gave us an adress where we could buy one. I think it is very strange that a hotel in a major city don't have adapters.
Anyway, we loved the location, walking distance to many of the main attractions, including Navy Pier, and would recommend this property if you do not wish to pay the ridiculous prices some of the other hotels are charging.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Øivind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I could not find a room in Chicago so I "settled" for the Fairfield Inn on Orchard in downtown, one block off the Magnificent Mile.

The staff was super fast and friendly. The suite was large and very clean. The room was quiet and everything worked. I got a great rate (well under $200) and I will now stay there rather than the more expensive hotels around the corner. I had to give up nothing! A great value and location.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Fairfield Inn properties are generally in less urbanized location, they are more commonly found around town malls than downtown. Thus the Marriott Fairfield Inn and Suites, 216 E. Ontario St., sits rather incongrously in Chicago center city, on a relatively quiet street less than 3 blocks from Chicago's Michigan Avenue in the Magnificent Mile district. Within walking distance are the Chicago River, John Hancock Tower, Navy Pier and shuttle access, Water Tower Place and Millenium Park.

I found the interior to be simple, but clean and well maintained. 1402 overlooks Ontario Street, and does get the noise from the occasional loud vehicle. There is no in-house restaurant, the breakfast self-serve area is healthy and offers good choices. Within a block of the Fairfield are: 1 sub shop; two Japanese restaurants, an Indian restaurant, donut/coffee shop, a high end dinner dining establishment, corner bar and grille and others. So this is a convenient, comfortable, reasonable value hotel in an outstanding area of Chicago.

1402 was a relatively small queen, but well outfitted and suitable for one or two people. As you can tell I liked this property and recommend it. Staff is friendly and outgoing to guests. Valet parking exists but I didn't use it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

I stayed at the Fairfield in a room with 2 double beds. I was travelling with my mother and 2 children. This was one of 3 hotels on our travels, and was the most spacious. Very easy to move around with 2 small children playing on the floor. Staff were always pleasant and helpful. Wonderfully close to Magnificent Mile without any of the noise. Breakfast was great and plentiful. I would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank svelveteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $81 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing