We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel deal in downtown Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #38 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is only about 3 blocks from the heart of Michigan Avenue or the lake putting you in a great location for shopping, taking the train to other parts of Chicago, or enjoying the lake area of Chicago. The price is reasonable and includes a great self-serve breakfast that includes waffles and breakfast sandwiches. The accommodations are not fancy, but clean and well-appointed. The staff is fabulous offering and providing excellent service. We love to stay here because of the price and location. We will be back.

Room Tip: Have not had a bad room yet. It's a quiet place even right across from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your positive comments. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service. This stands us apart from other hotels downtown Chicago. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

My family stayed here in January to celebrate my niece's birthday. The staff found out that it was her 13th birthday and while we were out shopping, they went to a local bakery and bought her a cake! So unexpected and nice! The hotel was clean, the service was amazing, and the location was perfect. We spent a lot of time at the American Girl store and it was right around the corner, not to mention, there is a Garrett's Popcorn across the street so you can stalk it for when the lines are low. The breakfast is also a nice savings. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndah38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your time to share your experience. It sounds like our staff made your nieces's 13th birthday extremely special. I guess you both with just have to come back for her 14th birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a few years ago and thought it was the best deal in town. However, this stay was not what I expected. We rented 7 rooms and everyone in our party complained how dirty the rooms were. This hotel needs a face lift! Free breakfast- forget it! Just awful. When I got back also found they charge all rooms for the car when we only had one and charge us for rooms we never had. Now have to call hotel to get it taken care of. Not a happy camper

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am really sorry you did not have a pleasant experience with us. I also am extremely surprised by the lack cleanliness you described. Our housekeeping staff has been with us for a long time, with very little turnover. Additionally, our executive housekeeper inspects all rooms before we make them available to an new guest. We renovated the hotel in 2009 and have kept it in great shape and is up to date. Did you take care of the misunderstanding with valet parking? I hope so, because that is an easy fix that we can take care of immediately. I hope you give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

A terrific place to stay in Chicago. Just steps away from Michigan Ave shopping and lots of great restaurants. Our suite was very large and perfectly clean. The staff was nice. Breakfast was okay.. nothing special, but it was free, so we didn't expect much. We'll stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our location, room accommodations, and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My daughter is moving to Chicago, so we made a quick trip to apartment hunt. The staff of the hotel were very helpful in that detail as well - offering information about neighborhoods and commutes, as well as providing maps. The hotel itself is comfortable, not fancy. We had a quiet room on the 11th floor. Breakfast was well-stocked and provided more than enough for us. The hotel's value is high, given that it was one of the least expensive options in the area. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristiB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank your for your feedback and high remarks on value. Our front desk staff is a great resource for area information and things to do. Always take advantage of thier recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I booked this hotel as a last minute trip. I was surprised at the excellent location of this hotel. The hotel staff was so nice and helpful. great restaurants are walking distance, just around the corner the famous magnificent mile. The hardest part of this hotel, its located right across from Garretts popcorn. It's hard not to buy a bag on the way to the hotel for a late snack. Will stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelsinger97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I do agree with you and believe we are a hidden gem downtown Chicago. Our location and customer service really help us stand apart from the other hotels. I am glad to hear you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A recent stay at this hotel connected with a Northwestern Memorial hospital stay resulted in exception service and hospitality. The front desk and room services staff were remarkably friendly and most helpful with all our questions and requests. I would highly recommend this facility especially if you are in need of a place to stay in connection with a procedure to be done at Northwestern Memorial Hospital.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding our proximity to Northwestern Memorial Hospital. The women's Prentice Hospital and emergency room are practically in our backyard. We are one of the closest hotels to NWH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. Our unique, contemporary Downtown Chicago hotel's features are ideal for business and leisure travel. We offer 15 stories in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guest rooms and guest suites. Our Magnificent Mile hotel's staff and atmosphere is friendly and fun, yet down to business when you need us to be. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown area, near everything you could require or want in Chicago. All of our rooms include free breakfast and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and to Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing