We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Breakfast included!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #80 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We stayed at the Embassy Suites on Christmas day. We make an annual trip to Downtown Chicago on Christmas day and this time we decided to get a hotel room and my son and his wife came with. It's a great hotel, has a pool, whirlpool and sauna. It's in a great location. This is the second time we stayed at an Embassy Suites, we stayed at the one in Niagra Canada. Both are great hotels, Breakfast is included with your stay and it is a full breakfast. You can even get made to order omlettes. It's a great value when you consider all that is included. Draw back is cost of overnight parking, but that's the case no matter where you stay in Chicago. We usually take the train in from the suburbs and the $48 we save covers any cab fare.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,964 - 2,970 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2008

Overall, I enjoyed my five nights at the Embassy Suites. The room was very clean, with updated furnishings. Housekeeping service was excellent. There is a supermarket across the street, with a variety of hot dishes in addition to traditional groceries. Room service was prompt. It's a short walk to shopping areas and the Navy Pier. The business center was very handy for printing out airline boarding passes. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, especially with recommendations for public transportation and local restaurants.

My only complaint about the hotel was the terrible internet service. Even after calling their technical support (overseas), the problem was not solved. Very disappointing, especially since the internet is not free.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snowfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Downtown Hotel near Navy Pier great for family's. Small pool still nice for smaller kids. Room nice large with two rooms. Good morning breakfast and free managers cocktail reception. For Business Travellers it can be good but the family's (kids) can be unexpected.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JPFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

I stayed at the hotel the last week in October, 2008. Nice place that is trying real hard to be better. The entire place is glass so if you have a fear of heights ask for a low-low floor. The elevators are all glass as are the barriors on the floors. I typically stay clear of Embassy Suites when on business...too many families with crying kids. This is an exception. It is clean and the breakfast buffet/made-to-order is the best I have seen at an Embassy Suites. I hit it right at 7am and breezed through--very good food except for the cold pancakes, etc. The rooms are nice and typical Embassy fare. The front desk needs help as it is very, very slow. The biggest complaint I have (and for business travelors take note) is the internet. It is horrible. The engineering staff told me that they are working on it but that didn't help me. I simply could not do my work on either the "high speed" plug in or the "unworkable wireless". If you need internet go somewhere else. Although they did not charge me (like I was getting anything) it is still a huge hassle. If you can get a deal on the price it is an ok place...close to the Pier if you like that aspect and a couple blocks off Michigan Ave. Easy walking area but not in the heart of the city or theatre district.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Traveler1Denver_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend business meeting and brought my 13 year old daughter. Hotel was clean and incredibly well located. It's a very short walk up to the Magnificent mile, close to the Navy Pier and not so far from the Art Institute and Millenium Park. There is a wonderful supermarket right across the street (with a Starbucks inside) and the hotel breakfast was super. Terrific place for the rate--I was not expecting it to be as good as it was, very pleasant surprise. I think you'd be hard pressed to find a comparable value in a large city.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Stayed 3 nights, suite very comfortable although atrium access not good for the vertigo!. Staff friendly and efficient, room spotless, breakfast great.

Great location 2 mins from river where you can walk to Magnificant mile

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Have stayed at this hotel plenty of times - easy to get to Michigan Avenue, clean rooms. But this experience was just sad. Customer service has completely gone downhill. Apparently being a Diamond Hhonors member means nothing here. I ordered flowers to be delivered via fed ex while I was there and I had to beg the front desk to bring them to my room...I tipped the person who delivered them only to find out when I checked out that I was also charged a "package handling fee". Next time I'll stay at the Palmer House - they know what customer service is!

Checking out may have been the worst experience ever as a large wedding party was checking out at the same time with their cart loads of gifts and the elevator situation is something to be desired. Pure chaos and not a smiling face around.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 192 in Chicago
5,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $131 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing