We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location & enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #75 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient location & enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to attractions we wanted to see. We flew into Midway and did not rent a car. We stayed in one of the Premium corner king suites on the 17th floor. Very quiet and comfortable for us and our 2 teen-aged sons. We've stayed at several other Embassy Suites before and realize we won't get a gourmet breakfast, but at least we get a breakfast. That is an important amenity for us. Same with the Manager's Reception. I would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future. Everything from the check-in (we were too early so they stored our luggage) to check-out (we were offered a ride in a large SUV for the return trip to Midway for slightly more than a taxi) exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Free wifi if on the Premium floor, probably because we are HiltonHonors members. We requested a corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    1,078
    370
    147
    66
See reviews for
1,306
431
67
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Just checked in. Fabulous view. Jose was awesome at front desk....Phillip & Kyle from bellhop were super. Tried to use the "premier" snack machine...But some of the items were missing. ...only a few...Not an issue....But before I returned to room...someone was at door with what I was trying to get !!!! Crazy amazing service. Great location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rinkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I'll start with the positives. Kudos for Embassy Suites brand allowing a family of two adults and four under 12 children to book into one room. Most hotels only allow four. I've always found ES rooms to be comfortable and roomy. No exception here. The location was absolutely perfect for our family to get to Navy Pier, The River or Magnificent Mile. I am not a fan of the high floors overlooking the atriums especially with young boys. This is just a preference thing but lets start with the what took away points for me. The complimentary breakfast was not very good. I've had better at Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites. If you could spare an extra hour in the cook to order line than your the breakfast went from two to four stars but we just couldn't wait in those long lines. The eggs they serve on the general buffet were just not good and being gluten free limits my options otherwise. I tired the oatmeal one day and it was pretty bad too. Second issue...our room had a leak in the hallway between the living room and bedroom. They did send an engineer up who discovered it was coming from next door. No room to move us to so we stayed and had to repack luggage for six people, haul it downstairs next morning and check it with the bellhop while we went to the museum. We did get a new room with no leak. Next issue ....paid for the Premium room which was supposed to include Premium Wifi and access to snacks. The Wifi was an absolute joke. Never could get it to work in either room we were in. That was across multiple devices and was extremely frustrating when I was trying to do some work on our vacation and it would connect but would never work right. At one point we were given a different code to use but it was still bad. The snack access ends up being access via code to two dispensers located by the elevators. They were always out of water and we called multiple times to see about getting it working again. You have to put the code in each time you want a snack or a drink. Seems it would be much easier to give you an allotment of snacks and drinks in a bag every day or have a place you could choose your allotted snacks. The system was a pain and didn't work most of the time. Said it was out of drinks when you could clearly seem them in there. Lastly. there was a Loyola Lawyers interviewing convention going on at the time. That meant in addition to the folks who had rooms booked , there was an additional several hundred lawyers running around the property trying to get to their next interviews. this made getting on and off the elevators very difficult at times. I was so excited about staying here but will probably look elsewhere next time. Just too many small annoying things for me. If its just for a night its a great location you are probably OK. Just not for four nights with a family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Guest -

I apologize for my delay in responding to your comments on Trip Advisor but I did want to send you quick note. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We are extremely sorry about the numerous small things that went wrong during your stay. This is clearly unacceptable and we empathize with your assessment of the hotel. You were here during the Loyola Law conference and the hiring event that attracted hundreds of law students as well as attorney's from many law firms. we are deeply sorry and regret according you a poor impression of the hotel

At this time, we hope you will consider staying with us again someday so we can change your perception and show you that we are one of the best hotels in Chicago. Thank you again and I wish you well!

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times since my last review. There were several issues with the food on our most recent visit. The eggs and bacon were cold on all three mornings. One morning I asked for some gravy on my eggs and the cook barked at me that gravy wasn't made yet. This was at 8:00am -over an hour after breakfast started! My husband went up about a half hour later - same annoyed cook but he did get gravy. Unfortunately, it was watery and thin - too gross for him to eat.
The beverage manager made excellent drinks but our drinks from all other bartenders were very weak.
The staff at the managers reception could not keep up with the crowd. The snacks were constantly empty and there was an excessive amount of unsupervised children using their hands instead of tongs to serve food. There should be a rule that children MUST have adult supervision or a member of the staff needs to be available to supervise all children. An extra staff member is also needed to keep the snacks stocked.
With the exception of the food service, this hotel is still excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogi5550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The rating takes into account that downtown hotels have expensive fees such as for parking. Upon arrival, the valet was very informative without asking questions from us. He informed us that self parking is an option. After unloading luggage at Valet Parking on Columbus street level, one person had to ride elevator up to SL floor to registration desk. (This SL floor is also the free breakfast area.) Another two drove the van to self parking garage. We decided to take our own luggage up.

Room
Entry into room faces out to open space, typical of Embassy Suites. The broken deadbolt on room door did not go into the strike plate. I would have complained but the swing door lock provided sufficient privacy when we were in the room. Two double beds were in main bedroom and a queen sized sofabed was in the living space. Two flatscreen TVs were available. During the rainstorm, the satellite TV lost signal. Although there is only one bathroom, the bedroom sink and bar sink can also be used to get everyone ready.

Food
The Complimentary Evening Reception was 5:30pm to 7:30pm for free drinks and light snacks. Members of our party enjoyed the free drinks. The food provided on first day was honeydew, crackers and cheese. Later, Nachos were provided. The laughable lemonade on the serving table was more like watered down lemon lime drink. However, a good Shirley Temple was offered another time at serving table. My only complaint is that the SL level is freezing cold.

Free full breakfast during our weekday stay was from 6:30am to 9:30am. You need to carry your room key or breakfast voucher. (Sometimes, hotel employee checks it.) Whenever there is bacon, it is considered a full breakfast. The bacon was too soft though. The donuts were so fresh, I had too many during the stay. Hotel breakfast was not important because we wanted to sample Chicago food. (Also, members of our group could not get ready before 9:30am breakfast closing time. Food was brought up to the room.)

Elevators
The 4 elevators serving the 17 floor rooms are fast. Braille markings are inside the elevator. Unfortunately, you need to take two elevators to get to Ground Floor from hotel room.

Parking
We left the van sitting in the garage for 3 nights at $39 a night. There is a pay station next to the elevator to the garage to pay the ticket before exiting.

Overall, this hotel is a great location for attractions in downtown area. We walked during our entire sightseeing stay until we left for the airport. Although the parking fee is shocking, it was not totally unexpected. I recommend staying here. It easily accommodated our group of 5.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Embassy Suites lakefront in Chicago is very close to most Popular attractions. Its Extremely clean. Except for one member of the staff, they were friendly and very helpful. It was a very enjoyable visit. The one Employee who spoiled the trip with obvious racial attitude was the only blemish. Great place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 540janisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My company held a training meeting at the nearby Marriott Magnificent Mile, but because of my great experience of staying at this Embassy Suites, I decided to stay at Embassy Suites and walk/catch taxi to Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank callenm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing