We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Chicago-Close to Navy Pier & Shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #88 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We traveled to Chicago for a quick family trip and wanted to be close to Navy Pier, the Michigan Avenue Miracle Mile shopping strip and Giordano's Pizza on Rush Street. The Embassy Suites delivered on all three requirements. The parking garage within the hotel is also a real plus, and unless you want to pay for valet, just do the self parking for $39.00 and save yourself the money.

When you come into the hotel from the street level or from the parking garage, take the 2nd set of elevators up to the atrium lobby.

I would agree with some of the other reviews about the small double bed bedrooms, but it was very clean, comfortable and the separate sitting-TV area is a real plus when the kids want to go to bed. Even with the large atrium lobby, it was very quiet in the bedroom during the night. The free happy hour and the buffet or made to order omelet breakfast is awesome and included.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 3,337 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

I am really starting to look for and stay at Embassy Suite Hotels and this one is no exception. The view was specatular - both inside and out. The suite was LARGE with a living room and Sleeping room; only separated by a washroom. The morning breakfast is why I chose these hotels with "made to order" eggs and a selection that won't leave you hungry.

I managed to attend one manager's reception by staying there on March Break, there were too many kids running around. Not the hotel's fault, but it was nice to see them busy!

I will stay here again when I visit Chicago and I suggest you do too!

Room Tip: Ask for a View of the Lake or Rivier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is huge and sprawling, with the interior atrium open, so when you step out you can see all the floors, and every time I opened the door, I could see a kid sprinting madly about the corridor on at least one floor. This is a family friendly hotel; it is all suites, and gives everyone the space they need. Our room had two doubles and a pull out couch, and our family of five was very comfortable. The living room was big enough for all of us to sit and eat our fabulous takeout pizza from Lou Malnati's (there was an hour and 45 minute wait to get in; ain't nobody got time for that!) We had a city view, which was quite nice. We were on the 15th floor and never had a long wait for the elevators.

Our room wasn't ready when we got there at 6:45 pm, and Cody at the front desk was very apologetic and helpful, knocking some money off our rate, and giving us free drink coupons, which allowed us to got right to the bar and avoid the long line of people waiting for drinks for the free happy hour. The happy hour snacks of pretzels, cheese dip and tortilla chips were a nice bonus. Our room was ready in 15 minutes.

Breakfast is great; it is a huge spread and Shirley, who worked Saturday morning, was lovely and helpful. It gets very crowded, so I would suggest going early, but it really is a nice spread with something for everyone, including donuts, bacon, sausage, juices, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt and an omelet station (a long line but your free breakfast is cooked to order.)

The pool is long and narrow, very small, but my sons enjoyed it.

Hotel is located about a mile from Navy Pier, so good home base to see the Chicago city sites. We enjoyed our stay. Oh, and self parking next door was fine and cheaper ($39) than valet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flipnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Nice place, Ability to have a good view of Lake Michigan from suite, Great breakfast (included) daily, Prime location to lots of water front attractions (close to Navy Pier), as well as Shopping on Michigan Ave...Friendly staff who remembered us from last year...I highly recommended for families

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Tosi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Arrived with my wife, daughter and two grand children . enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts,and evening snacks. Room was clean, staff was courteous, We were very satisfied. used a limousine service available at the Embassy to go to some of the museums and a shopping mall. Would like to do it again. no problems

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location for a business trip. Cab fare from Midway was about $30 before tip Lobby is not at street level. Good staff. Room was spacious though nothing fancy. Lobby is basically a huge atrium. Food was good. If you happen to arrive early and want to check in before 2 it's an extra $20. Wifi worked but was an extra charge.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank NikonGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

With Embassy Suites, we always get a comfortable room, and meet awesome friendly staff. Of course breakfast is great too. And don't forget the evening managers reception. That always saves us the cost of at least one meal on our trip.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $111 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing