We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #80 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Found location to be good for sightseeing... within easy walking distance to the Magnicficent Mile and Navy Pier. Many good restaurants in the area as well. Hotel is huge so there is no personalized service. Desk clerks and bellmen were friendly and helpful but the advertised concierge service was non-existent when we were there. Breakfast is included... nice variety and tasty food but the lines are very long and seem to move at a snail's pace. Rooms are OK but are rather dark and dreary and could use some sprucing up. Not much closet space. Pool is very tiny for the size of the hotel. Overall it is a good place to stay if you just want a convenient room and don't plan to spend a lot of time there but not the place if you are looking for a "luxury suite to relax".

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kamainatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,985 - 2,991 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2008

We chose this hotel based on our travel agent's recommendation. It is in close proximity to Navy Pier and is within easy walking distance of Michigan Avenue. Parking in the area is at a premium, so the valet service came in very handy.

The facility is very clean and neat. I have never seen a housekeeping staff so dedicated to site maintenance regardless of the time of day; due to the building design it is very apparent when a member of the staff is diligently working to ensure every surface is clean. As well, we met the hotel's Director of Security while checking in; he displayed a high level of professionalism and made our family feel at home.

The pool area is very popular with families. There is a workout room equipped with Precor fitness machines that affords a fantastic panorama of the surrounding area. There is an AMC theater in the same building complex that also has a bowling alley; it was very handy when it came time to entertain three children under the age of ten. If there is a drawback, and it is specific to the hotel chain and not this location, it is the company's insistence that internet access be paid for daily ($10/day).

This has been an excellent stay. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank usmcsgtftl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Hotel has kind of an odd configuration. Instead of checking in on the ground floor, you have to take the elevator to the "Sky Lobby" to check in, and then take different elevators to the sleeping rooms. Takes a while to figure it out. I used the automated check-in kiosk, which was pretty impersonal but worked fine. I used the same kiosk later in the trip to get boarding pass for airline.

Hotel seems quite large, with big well lit central atrium-style lobby. Suites (bedroom and living room) were less impressive - mine was dark, smelled musty initially, and had some rather bizarre 1950 vintage lamps. Ugly. Two TVs (one flat screen), a nice bed and shower. Coffee maker in the room.

Room service for lunch was average - not hot, but I ate every bit of it (club sandwich). The morning buffet was sumptuous - with cooked to order omelets, and lots of other stuff. Nice to have it included in the cost of the room. Staff all seemed fine - no complaints. Conference facilities were also fine.

Be careful - one of our coworkers got scammed in the ground floor entrance lobby. A woman pretended to get her heel stuck in the crack at the elevator door, and when our employee went to help, an accomplice took our coworker's credit cards and cash. All got away (so far). It's apparently a common scam in the area. Bottom line - watch your stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I visited Chicago for the first time as a hotel traveler and found the Embassy Suites to be a great deal. The entire staff was very courteous (except for the happy hour bartender) and the value was outstanding. The included breakfast is a knockout. I have never seen made to order omelettes and good quality ingredients like this at a complimentary breakfast. I disagree with the reviewer that said the place was noisy - I hear nary a peep from the approxmately 100 children staying at the hotel (they did run amok at breakfast) and the facilities were very clean, recently remodeled with plasma screens adn the like. One peeve was the chlorine odor in the atrium - the pool should have had it's own ventilation. Awesome location (blue line to clark/lake) and a $5 cab ride - 60 minutes and $7 total! The best airport transfer deal in a big city. Parking is a rip if you drove, but the lot across the street is $19 a night if you don't mind parking outside.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nyer223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

I stayed here for one night this time but stayed here every week for almost a year back in 2003 (when the hotel had just opened). I had picked this hotel after trying 20+ downtown and Magnificent Mile hotels. It was good to see that the hotel has maintained it's high quality over the years. I love the location - it is a block from Michigan Avenue restaurants/shopping and 3 blocks from the Navy Pier.

The new beds are even better than in 2003. It offers all the features that come with an Embassy Suites hotel - an atrium, all suites with a sofabed, cook to order breakfast and a manager's reception (open bar) in the evening, pool and a functional gym. If you are a HHonors Gold or Diamond member, you can use the neighboring Holmes Place health club for free. It is probably the best health club I have been to in the US. The rooms facing Navy Pier or the river offer the best views. Overall, a great, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NilesD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

What a great experience! This was our first time using Hotwire, and first time staying in downtown Chicago...and both turned out wonderful. We couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. We arrived by train in the morning and hoped the hotel would allow us to check in early. They were very accomodating, allowing us into a room immediately, at least 5 hours ahead of the posted check-in time. Every staff member was friendly and helpful - especially Shirley, the hostess at the breakfast buffet. Rarely have I seen such a gracious and friendly hotel employee! By the way, this buffet is NOT your ordinary buffet, as someone previously wrote in a review. The hotel was clean, the room layout perfect for our family of 5 and the location couldn't have been better for all we wanted to do while visiting Chicago. We were able to walk to all the attractions we wanted to, except Shedd Aquarium, but that was an easy bus ride away. Also, the lake view from our room was spectacular. I highly recommend and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrapntam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed one night at the Embassy Suites near the lake and thought it was a great hotel. The interior atrium may be an architectural cliche but I still think it gives the hotel an amazing sense of openness and drama. Our room overlooked the lake and we loved the view, although a tall building partially blocked the view.

The two-room suite was very clean, the bathroom was spacious and nice, and overall we were pleased with everything. The complimentary breakfast was top-notch, with no lines and great omelets. The fitness center had first-rate equipment.

If you park directly you save a little money over valet parking, but it means you have to take two sets of elevators to get to your car, which can be a hassle of you are schlepping a ton of bags.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank On-the-Move-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 192 in Chicago
5,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $131 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing