We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Spring Break Stay, but be careful of directions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #74 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice Spring Break Stay, but be careful of directions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms were very spacious and accommodating. With two adults and four kids, the three sinks were extremely helpful. We had a great view of the city too. Breakfast was wonderful, although busy, it seemed to move quickly. Our only problem when staying here was the directions we were given to a bus stop to get to the Museum of Science and Industry. It should be made clear that you need to climb stairs at Wacker Drive to the bus stop. We ended up walking in and through a tunnel full of homeless people who harassed us verbally for money. It was extremely unsettling. Other than that our stay was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nurseangie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    1,064
    359
    144
    66
See reviews for
1,273
425
66
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect to Navy Pier and some of Michigan Ave. A quick cab ride to everywhere else. All staff was very helpful in regards to hotel information and town information. Kind of crowded at breakfast time but the lobby is beautiful. Hoping to stay here again in a few months.

Helpful?
Thank DHharris09
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We took a short weekend trip to Chicago and stayed at the Embassy Suites Lakefront. DJ checked us in, made us feel like family, and told us about all the great amenities to expect. We had no idea that all guests received free breakfasts and cocktail hour. We had a great view of the lake and a couple of nice cocktails from room service before heading out. The hotel is in a great location. We were never far from everything. Breakfast was great. The was a bit of a line, but, come on, they were efficiently feeding hundreds of people. We will definitely be back. And if you have kids, it looked like the kids were having a great time. Thank you for everything!
Walter and Mike

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAndWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Check-in was extremely slow due to limited staffing but the gentleman at the front counter was very professional to offset the long check-in time. The room was very clean but the bathroom toilet needed additional cleaning attention. The hotel overall was a great value and comfortable to stay in. The rooms blocked out sound from other guest well. The pool was a little cloudy but appeared clean. Overall the hotel was clean and comfortable with a good location and price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for three days over Spring Break. It was a wonderful experience. Much more positive than I expected, after reading some of the reviews. About 2 or 3 blocks west of Navy Pier. About 2 or 3 blocks east of Magnificient Mile shopping. We walked or rode the bus everywhere. Concierge had pocket-sized handouts giving public transportation and driving directions to all the popular sites. Breakfast and managers reception exceeded all expectations. Yes, breakfast can be crowded, but the hotel posted notes in the elevators that recommended slower times to go. The managers reception had so many adult beverages to chose from. I was expecting light beer in an 8 ounce cup and box wine. Instead they had freshly made sangria, margaritas, bloody marys, etc. Amazing. Again, the line could be alittle long. But if you were at a restaurant, it would take you that long to get seated, order and receive the same quality of drink. We never made it to the pool or hot tub -- even though we wanted to. Always too crowded with other families and much younger children. Room was nice. It was so handy to have a separate living space when our sleeping schedules were different. We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and when I mentioned that at check-in, Lissa at the front desk had wine/cheese/fruit/crackers delivered to the room. Gold star! Again, perfect place to stay and easily get to the sites. Plus having a full-size grocery store just across the street was so convenient for snacks, drinks, etc.

Room Tip: I think there are some rooms that don't face the multi-story atrium. If you are worried about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenSS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Courteous staff, cool aesthetics including the modern decor and atrium layout, clean room, nice selection of delicious complimentary drinks and of course, the cherry on top of this sundae of a stay was the ginormous breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: While all my staff encounters were pleasant and full of warmth, I have a soft spot for Monica Jee in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent five days and nights at the Embassy Suites on N. Columbus. Great location, close to the loop, Michigan Avenue and River North. It's an Embassy Suites, so you get a hot breakfast in the morning and the manager's reception in the evening. The hotel was full, it was spring break which meant full of families with kids. Which detracted from the stay. A constant parade of swimsuit clad folks in the elevators, of course dripping after their time in the pool. The morning and evening food events were mobbed; they even have warnings in the elevators about how crowded it is toward the end of the breakfast service. Rather than wait in what seemed to be an endless line for eggs made to order, I went down the block to West Egg for breakfast. I just never had the sense that they had a good handle on the service issues related to the food and drink service. Fortunately, there are tons of options in the area for food and drink, so the rooms are still what brings me to the Embassy Suites. Nice big bedroom with a view of the city and a living room with space to work and to stretch out after a day of work. I even had a sliver of the lake visible from my room.

One thing I really didn't like was the lobby above the street level. There was no obvious option other than the elevators to go up and down. And when it was checkout time, the place looked like an evacuation before the Mongol invasion. Baggage carts all over the place and families milling around waiting for cars to be brought by the valets or a taxi to be summoned. And the desk on street level was rarely manned.

If you can avoid it, don't stay when families are filling the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looked south or east. The view west was pretty mundane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest -

On behalf of the management and staff we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

As you noticed first-hand, we were extremely busy during your visit and that had an impact on the breakfast service with lines for the omelet station. We also regret that some of the guests did not dry-up completely after their dip in the pool and rode the elevators with you. We sincerely apologize for these inconveniences.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you properly.

Warmest regards,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing