We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel to work with”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #75 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Weare, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel to work with”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a small group of sleeping rooms booked for a local July meeting. Had not realized that I had incorrect dates for one of the rooms till after the fact. Melissa at front desk is awesome to work with. She helped me rectify my error in a short amount of time. Melissa rocks ! We use this hotel frequently for our local meetings and get rave reviews from our travelers. We appreciate the great customer service and we look forward to our next stay with the Embassy Suites Hotel Downtown Lakefront.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest -

There is nothing more exciting for a general manager than to see positive feedback and recognition for the hotel.

First and foremost, I wish to thank you for your vote of confidence and the repeat business. It is easy to get a customer in the building for the first time but it is far too difficult to earn their trust for a repeat visit. I am absolutely elated to read that our front office team members are providing you with excellent service that you have come to expect from a first-class Brand like Embassy Suites. Your personal recognition of Melissa is so great and I know she will be joyous to read your comment. I am also pleased to hear that your other meeting attendees have also found the hotel to meet and exceed their needs. This is truly very exciting!

Again, thank you very kindly for your thoughtful and gracious comments and we look forward to being your home-away-from-home when you are in Chicago. Please let me know if there is anything I can ever do for you. Please consider my office at your disposal.

Warmest regards,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    1,123
    389
    152
    67
See reviews for
1,382
448
68
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Wyoming Pa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Th room is huge! I had a BIG living room, bathroom, wet bar and big bedroom. Free breakfast and free drinks and snacks fron 5:30pm to 7:30pm every night. Great location too!!! I won' stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petr82770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest -

Thank you very much for the great feedback on the hotel. It is always a pleasure to see the positive comments.

I am delighted to hear that that you found the room spacious and comfortable. The Embassy Brand offers great value through its three core attributes namely the two-room suite, the elaborate and fully cooked-to-order breakfast and the evening reception. Again, I am thrilled that you enjoyed the amenities to the fullest. I am also pleased that the hotel location was appealing and provided easy access to all major attractions in the city.

On behalf of our entire staff, please accept our sincere gratitude for your stay and the wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. We hope to serve you soon but in the interim, we wish you well and safe travels.

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Came for a conference Oct. 1-3. I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. the rooms are spacious but dated. Very clean, Good Showers, hair dryer etc. Good TV with a converter that works. Ran the AC the whole time. Rooms on higher floors get hot as the hot air travels up the court-yard in the middle. Good Wifi. Great food. Really good room service, breakfast.. I can say it was the best conference food I've had anywhere. Never had to wait too long for an elevator. If you suffer fear of heights get a room on a lower floor. Extremely helpful staff. Check in is a little weird since you have to go up from the ground level to the SkyLevel (SL) to find the front desk. Reasonable value for money spent considering the location in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest -

Thank you very kindly for your very detailed and thoughtful remarks about our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so thrilled to hear that we pleasantly surprised you about our product and services.

On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for appreciating the spacious two-room suite, the amenities, our cooked-to-order breakfast and the banquet food we served you at your conference. Our team members train tirelessly to create memorable experiences for our valued guests and when we see a comment such as the one you have posted on this social media site, we rejoice and appreciate the recognition very much.

Thank you again so much for taking the time to write your comments and giving us your feedback. This means so much to us.

We wish you all the best and hopefully we will serve you again on your next visit to beautiful Chicago!

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is in an amazing location. The staff is really nice and the lobby looks really good. The room we stayed in had a view of Lake Michigan and we could watch the fireworks Saturday night. The free food/drinks every night is a definite plus if you're around in the evening. Breakfast is the best. They have donuts, made to order omelets, and pretty much anything else you could want. Get there early for a full choice of the donuts.

The only negative I found was that the rooms are a bit dated and there isn't a fan in the bathroom. Since we weren't in the room that much it wasn't a big deal. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest -

Thank you very much for your gracious comments on TripAdvisor. It is always delightful to log-on and read a good review about your hotel. The entire team here at the hotel sends its gratitude your way for your visit and your positive comments.

I am so glad you liked our hotel location since we are just two blocks east of Michigan Avenue and two blocks west of the Navy Pier. I am also thrilled to hear that your enjoyed our breakfast and took advantage of the omelet station where our chef does wonders with eggs and about a dozen different and fresh ingredients. Yes, the donuts are also a big hit and there is nothing like waking-up early to for a cup of freshly brewed coffee and a piece of confectionery.

With respect to room renovations, we are currently embarked on a minor refresh project of all 455 suites and plan to complete this by December 1st of this year. As you can imagine, in today's competitive lodging environment, we want to make sure our asset is in impeccable shape for our discerning guests.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to serve you during your next visit to Chicago. In the meantime, please stay well and safe travels.

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO KERRY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Take a bow ALL the staff at the Embassy Suite. From the hall porters (who welcome you each time with "Welcome Home") to the Excellent housekeeping staff who take obvious pride in their work as our room was spotless each day, the reception staff who could not do enough for us, the breakfast staff who were always smiling and very efficient and the bar staff equally efficient.
The breakfast is excellent with plenty of variety and as a bonus do not object to trays being taken to your room. The managers reception is a very welcome initiative which I have never seen in any of the other hotels I have stayed at. This hotel far surpasses some of the higher starred hotels that I have stayed at in Chicago and that is down to the staff. In each room is a welcome letter advising guests that ALL staff are enpowered to make decisions on behalf of guests. I have already recommended this hotel to a number of people so book early if you want to be sure of accomodation. I will return most definitely. Well done to the management team for your staff recruitment policy.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1010 which was ideally located and well away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNOWDROP252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest -

Oh wow! What an amazing review of the hotel! We got a perfect ten. This just made my day.

As you can imagine, in today's extremely competitive lodging environment with discerning visitors, it is so difficult to get a perfect score but we did and I am so proud of our team for this great accolade.

Thank you again and I sincerely hope that we will get another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Chicago! In the mean time, we wish you all the best and continued good fortune.

Warmest regards,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here three nights in August 2012. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room was clean and well appointed. Beds comfortable. Atrium concept is dramatic, but unnerving for sufferers of acrophobia! Speediest elevators I can recall. Good location, walked everywhere (except Wrigley -- took the subway/L).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromT-dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest -

Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful comments on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to see such positive feedback.

I am so glad you liked the hotel as well as the staff and found the elevators especially fast and fun to ride. We get a lot of positive comments about the extremely fast accent and decent rates of our elevators. Many of our younger guests find this very "cool."

Thank you again for your posting on TripAdvisor and we certainly hope you will return to Chicago and visit the Embassy Suites Lakefront. It will be a joy to serve you again!

We wish you a very pleasant fall season!

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A little older hotel, but is in a great location and has all the stuff you need......free breakfast, free drinks, workout room, pool.....very private because you have to take the elevator up 3 floors to get to the lobby....2 blocks from the Navy Pier and about in the middle to Wrigley one way....Soldier Field another and US Cellular the other....would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher you go.....the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing