We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #75 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We came to Chicago for a conference that my husband was going to at McCormick Place. My daughters and I came to shop! The hotel was a great place to relax after a day of shopping or work. We liked the managers reception and the full breakfast was great! We were two to three blocks from Michigan Avenue, wonderful shopping and great restaurants. We were able to check out, take our luggage to our car and leave the car in the parking deck while we went sight seeing.

We are planning a trip to Chicago for next summer and will be staying here!!

Room Tip: We were in room 1007. It had a wonderful view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlchippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    1,080
    371
    147
    66
See reviews for
1,310
432
67
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coal Valley, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and remain impressed with the staff and service. Although the breakfast line can be long the wait isn't long, the manager's reception is fantastic after a long day of meetings, shopping or sightseeing! The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I will return again and again!

Room Tip: You may pay a little more but the lakeview rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here for a conference in Chicago.

Pros: Great breakfast buffet. Managers reception is very nice too. Beds were comfortable. Elevators are fast.

Cons: Housekeeping needs improvement. Asked the lady if she would clean our room next. She said yes. So I left for a short while. When I came back our room was not done. So I found the lady once again just one room down from ours. I asked her if she would clean ours next which she replied yes she would. I left again for a few hours. When I came back our room was not cleaned. So I waited a few hours thinking she just got busy and forgot. At about 3pm I went down to the front desk. I told them about housekeeping. They sent someone up to clean it. 45 minutes later the room was cleaned.
Make sure to check your receipt before you leave. We received someone elses receipt. Along with a bill for internet charged to our CC. Internet was included in our stay. Had we not checked that they would have charged our cc. I wonder how many people do not check their receipts and get billed for things they thought were included in their stay.
Heard sirens all day long.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We spent the recent weekend at the hotel with my family. The room was at a great price point and a very good value compared to other area hotels. The hotel looks to be in very good condition and the rooms were spacious and well appointed. We parked below the hotel in a clean and secure ramp. It cost about $40 for 24 hours so it was expensive, but typical for the area.

The manager's reception was just starting and we were able to enjoy a couple of drinks before going out for dinner. It was crazy busy, but the bartenders moved the line along very quickly.

Our room was on the 15th floor and had a beautiful view of the city. You can pay more to get a view of the lake, but I was pleased with the view of the Chicago river and interesting architecture. The room was large enough for five us to share.

The breakfast in the morning was good. The lines were crazy long, but we slept in until a 9:15 so it was at peak time. We did not wait to get the food cooked to order. I was fine with the available items (scrambled eggs, pancakes, baked goods, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.) Other family members waited in line for an omelet. It was delicious but it took a long time. I thought the breakfast alone saved us at least $50 if we ate in a diner.

The hotel is very convenient to Michigan Ave. if you are willing to walk a couple blocks and the same for Navy Pier. We enjoy going out for dinner and don't mind a short walk to build up our appetite.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and thought the staff was very friendly and professional. We had a problem with our bill at checkout and it was handled quickly and efficiently.

Room Tip: We prefer to be on a higher level to get a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teamhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel over the period October 26-31. The location is ideal, walking to Michigan Avenue and the lakefront. Excellent facilities: spacious 2-room suites, superb breakfast, free drinks in the evening, internet connection (free in the business center), friendly staff, courteous doormen; in brief excellent for families and even individuals. Good value for money. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Huge rooms with Living rooms and bedrooms - excellant Breakfast everything you could think of ....... Awesome 2 hour manager's reception every night with free drinks... Right near everything in downtown Chicago - Hotel employees very helpful and friendly! Also very quite in the rooms you don't hear any outside noises.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

My 75 year old mother and I took my daughter to Chicago for her 18th birthday and we stayed at the ESH-Lakefront. Perfect location!

Taxi rides to most places were $6
Navy pier 1-1/2 blocks away to the east
Michigan Avenue 2 blocks to the west
Grocery store across street w/deli, soup bar and wine/beer
Walgreens around corner
Hop On-Hop Off trolley #7 stop across street
1 block north of Chicago River
Breakfast cook-to-order and buffet (get there early though)
Complimentary computers in lobby with printers to use (free) - $15 per day if you use your own
Wonderful views especially from the elevator
Bar in lounge/lobby area with large seating area
Sleeps 6 comfortably (separate bedroom)
Nice neighborhood
2 closets/plenty of drawer space for families

The sofa bed had not been changed from last stay (we assumed), but the staff was accommodating and changed it. The front desk and staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful. Our flight didn't leave until 8:30 pm and we were able to leave our luggage there to finish our adventure in the city. The valets and bellhops were extremely nice and helpful.

From O'Hara airport, take the Blue eL to Lake/Clark terminal, take a taxi ($5.00) to the hotel. The train ride takes about 30-40 minutes and cost $2.25 each. We want to come back and this will be our choice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danna-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing