We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left after the first night....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #78 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Booked this hotel a month ago, when we arrived they did not have the room I reserved four weeks ago. Hotel was so busy and loud....Loyola University had booked most of the rooms for interviewing purposes and it seemed they had priority over us.

Our new room had one bed and the couch for my son. Carpet had black duct tape on each threshold. Icky.....and the carpet was so gross. I would not walk on it without flip flops.... The pull out bed in the couch had disgusting stains on the mattress.....I did not want my son sleeping on that bed.

I sat up most of the night on the computer to book another hotel for in the morning. We paid $405.00 a night there and I called the Ritz Carlton( at 1:00 am) and booked a room for the morning. I got a room at the Ritz Carlton. Discounted($600.00 instead of $1000.00) by the Ritz because we told them we were transferring from another hotel. The Ritz Carlton was incredible!

I have stayed at Embassy Suites before and have been pleased with the service and hotel. Embassy Suites in Hot Springs and Little Rock were great. Chicago not so much...remember, you do get what you pay for in Chicago. It's a lovely city but it's expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanGoghsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,213)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,706 - 2,712 of 3,213 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

Recently reserved 2 suites using Hilton Honors points. Called in advance to make sure son's name on one suite so he & family could check in prior to our arrival. Check-in was smooth for both suites which were next to each other.
Typical arrangement for Embassy Suites.... 2 rooms... one with sofa, chairs, desk, chairs and small wet bar with refrigerator and the other room with bed(s)... with bathroom being in shortl hallway dividing both rooms. Rooms arranged around center atrium. Overall hotel atmosphere - very bright, clean, modern decor. There are 4 glass enclosed elevators to access suites from the main lobby.

Of note, is that the lobby entrance is NOT on the street level. Street Elevator lobby, & valet parking attendants are on 1st floor (Self-parking - $41.00 daily but with NO in&out; Valet parking $49 daily... with in& out privileges). Valet service may take up to 20 minutes to get car... so call from the room & plan accordingly.

Breakfast buffet is very good, although lines are long if one goes down in the last hour. Suggestion... go early like at 7:30 or 8 a.m. Omelet station is run well, with one person taking orders and putting out the various ingredients for the chef to add to the omelets. Chef is amazing at the speed in which he makes omelets... fun to watch. Can also get pancakes, biscuits with gravey, hash browns and pancakes in this line.There is also a buffet line for eggs, bacon, etc on steam table. Assorted pastries, yogurt, cereals, and fruit... although fruit could have been expanded. During the week days, the fruit was sliced melons and pineapple. On weekend, fruit was limited to whole oranges and bananas but no pre-sliced melons. On the weekend the hotel was filled with families instead of business people... perhaps that made a difference in what was put out. There is a very large seating area and the tables were quickly cleaned with hotel staff.

Suites had 2 flat screen TVs plus sofa, & 3 chairs in living room, one of which was a very comfortable ergonomic chair. Our son's suite did not have an ergonomic chair. There was also a very large ottoman suitable for seating.

Directly across the street from the hotel is a large market - Dominick's that also has a Starbucks. Domick's is open until at least midnight and some nights until 1 a.m. In addition to the normal food supplies, one can purchase bus passes at Dominicks... we highly recommend... it's so easy to jump on and off a bus to Navy Pier... the buses are air conditioned, the free trolley is NOT! It's also an easy walk to Michigan Avenue where many buses can be picked up going to and from the Museum Campus and up and down the Magnificent Mile shopping district.

Many of the Chicago taxi's are NOT air conditioned. Be careful in flagging down a cab that has windows rolled down! Some cabs are hybrids and drivers actually USE their AC.
When we asked valet attendant about getting us a cab to the airport, he suggested we consider a town car as it would be more comfortable with only a slightly higher cost. We opted for this and he immediately called a town car and we paid a flat rate of $45. plus the tip.

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel and we'll definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I am an HHonors Diamond member and I would never stay here agian. The sevice and staff were rude and overworked given the capacity over this weekend. I was over billed and I had to find the error as they could not. I was very disappointed in the entire stay. I would really vaod this place on the weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MDHKLR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Nice hotel. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom was a little outdated. Also, the lines are huge for the manager's reception and breakfast. I don't know what the hotel could due about that considering the size, but the lines for both were about a 1/2 hour long. I would stay here again, though. We are lunch in the hotel and it was very good. The people who work here are very, very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kleikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This location was very convenient to popular restaurants and shops. Unfortuantely the weather was so cold and rainy we didn't get to do much sight seeing. The restaurant located within the hotel had great food and had late hours. The breakfast had a great selection and happy hour was very well attended. Downside was I slept on the sofa bed which is by the window and there were rowdy guests from a wedding that were quite loud in the wee hours of the morning. Staff friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franklymydear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in April. The hotel itself was very clean as well as our room. We had a great view of the city. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, although the lines can get very long at the omelet station. The manager's reception was a great perk as well!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedaisy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here with kids over spring break. Really nice clean comfy rooms and beds. Sleeper was okay Wonderful views of downtown buildings like the Tribune from our room. Used the pool and sauna small pool like 3 lap lanes, but great sauna. The breakfast was very busy and it was a long wait for the made to order food. Separate lines for self serve which helped. Entire lobby area was packed and it's a big area! That said they never ran out of food and staff cleared tables quickly. Good food when you found a place to sit. Maybe not as busy at a different time of year Valet parking was fast yet expensive like other hotels in area. This is a beautiful clean hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onetravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#70 of 191 in Chicago
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $163 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing