We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service, but too crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Ranked #78 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service, but too crowded”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Nice hotel. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom was a little outdated. Also, the lines are huge for the manager's reception and breakfast. I don't know what the hotel could due about that considering the size, but the lines for both were about a 1/2 hour long. I would stay here again, though. We are lunch in the hotel and it was very good. The people who work here are very, very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    1,138
    398
    155
    72
See reviews for
1,415
450
68
701
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This location was very convenient to popular restaurants and shops. Unfortuantely the weather was so cold and rainy we didn't get to do much sight seeing. The restaurant located within the hotel had great food and had late hours. The breakfast had a great selection and happy hour was very well attended. Downside was I slept on the sofa bed which is by the window and there were rowdy guests from a wedding that were quite loud in the wee hours of the morning. Staff friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franklymydear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in April. The hotel itself was very clean as well as our room. We had a great view of the city. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet, although the lines can get very long at the omelet station. The manager's reception was a great perk as well!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedaisy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here with kids over spring break. Really nice clean comfy rooms and beds. Sleeper was okay Wonderful views of downtown buildings like the Tribune from our room. Used the pool and sauna small pool like 3 lap lanes, but great sauna. The breakfast was very busy and it was a long wait for the made to order food. Separate lines for self serve which helped. Entire lobby area was packed and it's a big area! That said they never ran out of food and staff cleared tables quickly. Good food when you found a place to sit. Maybe not as busy at a different time of year Valet parking was fast yet expensive like other hotels in area. This is a beautiful clean hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onetravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I recently stayed here with a group of friends. The hotel was clean and well kept. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We could tell that the staff enjoy their jobs and work. The breakfast is the best I've ever seen. They serve a FREE made to order omelette bar as well as a hot bar (bacon, eggs, toast, biscuits, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice, etc....). The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of public transportation and attractions. The only downside (as with all hotels IN Chicago) is the cost of parking a car. There is a parking garage underneath the hotel, but the cost of parking in Chicago is outrageous!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower082111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Phillip was a great bellman, friendly and helpful at each encounter during the 8 day stay. Duane went out of his way to get my insulin to me on the way out - I appreciated that.
All staff spoke, which was new to me, and were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast crew went out of their way to open a little early each day when our group of over 100 needed food before our very early meeting.

Room Tip: Ask for a view - we could see most of Navy Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcerliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Arrived early and they had both of our rooms ready which was a plus but once we entered our room you could not help but see all of the dust on every piece of furniture. The other couple we traveled with went to the cocktail reception the first night and waited forever in the line to order margaritas which they couldnt even drink they were so bad. Breakfast line was ok if you like to get up early and hit it up but dont wait to long as the lines get extremely long for that too, we went to Einsteins one morning to avoid the lines. Everything else we encountered was good. Tried to go to the pool one afternoon and it is way to small for this size of a hotel, couldnt even attempt to get in it with all the other people in and around it. The service was ok, nothing over the top. If I return to Chicago I will find another hotel to try... Loved the city!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#70 of 190 in Chicago
5,016 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Address: 511 North Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-5590
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#61 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile (formerly Lakefront) hotel is located just 2 blocks from Chicago's Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile Michigan Ave Shopping! This downtown Chicago hotel is within walking distance to many Chicago attractions such as Millennium Park, Water Tower Place and the Hancock Observatory. Our location and amenities make the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile an ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler! Guests of the hotel stay in a upscale spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and flexible work/dining space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago
Embassy Downtown Lakefront Suites
Chicago Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing