We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$317
$233
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$475
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$275
$242
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$211
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$239
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$604
$376
Langham Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$233
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,409)
Filter reviews
3,409 results
Traveler rating
1,502
1,215
434
173
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,502
1,215
434
173
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionnavy piermade to order breakfastsky lobbygreat locationmanagers receptionwhole foodsfree breakfastlong linecocktail hourliving roomstreet levelpull out couchself parkmagnificent milemichigan avecorner suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,933 - 2,938 of 3,409 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Second time coming to this hotel. Randomly got it on hotwire last year and was so impressed with the free breakfast and managers reception that we came back this year. The rooms are super nice and all the staff is wonderful. It's definitely worth it to wake up early for the breakfast (love the fact that there are takeout cups for coffee!)
I suggest everyone to staff at this hotel if they make the trip to chicago.
Free wifi would be a nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Dear Guest -

Thank you so much for returning to the hotel! There is nothing more exciting for a hotel general manager to have a guest return because they had a good experience the first time around.

Thank you for your great feedback on our cooked-to-order, complimentary breakfast. As you have seen first-hand, this is a great value and the chefs do a great job! I am very proud of our culinary team led by our executive chef Robert Dudek that prepares so many wonderful breakfast items each morning including crisp bacon, fresh biscuits and gravy, plump sausages, French toast, pancakes and of course, our made-to-order omelets from ten available ingredients. And yes, we have to-go cups for the fresh brewed coffee.

Thank you again for your return visit and for your vote of confidence. We were honored to have you as our guest and hope to continue serving you in the future.

Our warmest regards,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Just returned from a great stay at this Embassy Suites. Beautiful view of the lake and nicely appointed room. Good location and within walking distance to the Navy Pier. The breakfast is definitely worth getting up to eat. Staff was friendly, helpful and provided exceptional service from beginning to end. Melissa H. and Steve at the front desk, Shirley in the dining room, and Phillip in transportation/concierge were all fantastic and made our stay most enjoyable. The hotel looks a little sterile, however, and I would suggest they add some plants or something on each floor to break up the monotony when you look upstairs. Also would suggest free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvretirement415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Dear Guest -

Thank you for your very kind posting on TripAdvisor about our hotel and the staff members who served you. This means so much to us and our entire team is most grateful to you for your visit.

I am delighted you liked your suite, the location of the hotel and the complimentary breakfast. As you experienced first-hand, the Embassy brand represents excellent value for the customer with our two-room suite, a wonderful complimentary breakfast and the nightly complimentary cocktail reception. These brand values coupled with our terrific location in downtown Chicago and the excellent staff, make us a good choice for many travelers. Having said that however, we can never forget that there are so many wonderful hotels in Chicago and our guests always have many choices when selecting a hotel. We are most grateful that you selected us and made us your home-away-from-home in Chicago!

Melissa, Shirley and Steve sincerely appreciate the recognition and feel honored to have served you. They, along with the rest of the team, cannot wait to have you back in the hotel.

In the meantime, please stay well and stay safe!

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Spent a long weekend in Chicago with friends. Arrived at the hotel at 9:30 AM to drop bags since check in wasn't until 4:00 PM. The woman at the front desk was very kind and friendly and said she has a room ready for us...the room was indeed ready with an incredible view of the lake!! Entire staff was pleasant, kind, friendly, couldn't do enough to make the stay as pleasant as possible. I'll never search for a different hotel in Chicago!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doubleduces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Esteemed Guest -

Thank you for the great opportunity to serve you over the weekend! I am absolutely thrilled to know that we treated you with utmost concern and respect. This is such amazing feedback. Thank you so much.

We would love to be your home-away-from-home in Chicago and continue serving you. Please feel free to call upon us anytime your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Thank you again for your wonderful comment on TripAdvisor and it has been a pleasure to have you stay with us at the Embassy Suites Lakefront in downtown Chicago.

Please stay safe and the entire staff sends its best wishes.

Cordially,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I spend approximately 125 nights per year on the road. While I am a strong Hilton supporter, and usually enjoy positive experiences at all of the Hilton hotels, I am particularly impressed with the level of service provided by this hotel's team. I frequently stay at this hotel while I am in Chicago. Without fail, every employee at this hotel is dedicated to providing a wonderful level of service. From the check-in process through the complimentary breakfast, the team makes your time away from home as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. While I have enjoyed all of the folks that I have come in contact with, I would like to note that Laura Bevington (sp?) was particularly helpful to me with a recent room request. I am sure that I will be able to note other individuals as I continue my stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblmevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Guest -

Thank you kindly for such a glowing review on our performance and appreciating our team members. This just made our day and we can't thank you enough for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor.

In this tough economic environment when business and leisure travel has been adversely affected, we know that our guests have so many choices when they do travel, so we sincerely appreciate your vote of confidence. Our team understands that without customers like you who spend countless nights in hotels, we would not have a job. It has been our pleasure to serve you and we hope you will return to the Embassy Suites Lakefront in the not-too-distant future.

Thank you again for your kind words and we wish you a joyous summer!

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We love the Embassy Suites Chicago Lakefront. Laura B. and Melissa B. were very helpful and made our stay extra special. The evening reception was great, the kids loved the pool and the breakfast was outstanding. Our room was also lovely and we had wonderful views of the city and lake. We will tell all of our friends and it is the only place we will stay from now on when we visit Chicago a couple of times a year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryAnn031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CHIRE, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

Dear Guest -

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and recognizing two of our front office team members! Both Laura and Melissa are most grateful for the acknowledgement and send a big thank you to you.

I was thrilled to learn that you not only liked our accommodations but were also very pleased with our cooked-to-order, complimentary breakfast and the nightly cocktail reception. As you know, we are very proud of our core values which include the two-room suite and the complimentary services. We truly believe that these value-added features are appreciated by our customers especially when our team members are able to add to these through their personalized service.

Thank you again for your visit to the hotel and for your kind comments. These endorsements on TripAdvisor mean so much to us. Please stay safe and we will see you soon!

Warm regards,

Syed E. Hasan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews