We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sure Winner!!!”

Dunlay's on the Square
Ranked #864 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Sure Winner!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were looking for a place to grab breakfast after a Saturday night in the city. When we saw the line outside, we decided to give it a shot and we were glad we did. The Bloody Mary's were the best I ever had and served along with a short Miller Genuine Draft. I went with the Fried Egg Sandwich and it was incredible. She went with the Fried Chicken Benedict, another winner. If you are visiting Chicago or even if you are a local, this is a sure winner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wisdom2010swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Dunlay's”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My favorite neighborhood hangout in Logan Square. Half-price burgers on Wednesdays. $5 wine on Tuesdays.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
473 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great for the Whole Family”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Dunlay's several times and have always enjoyed the experience. Our latest visit was just a few weeks ago, when we were visiting our daughter and her family (husband, two young children--boy, 4, girl, 2). All 6 of us ate there. My wife and I got a spinach/artichoke dip, with chips, and a flatbread that was really a thin-crust pizza. We also got sweet potato fries. I also got a sample of three different local beers. As always, the food was excellent and plentiful (we ate leftovers at another meal a day or two later). Prices are moderate, service is good, and the atmosphere is appropriate for the area. The children ate free. Well worth a visit if you've never been there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Great Food - Don't Miss the Monkey Bread!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I went here with my husband and our good friend. My husband and I were visiting our friend who recently moved to Chicago in the Logan Square Area. This was our last meal before heading to the airport, and it was a great last meal in Chicago!

We had attended Mass at 11:30, and were ready for a nice Sunday brunch/lunch. We wandered over to Logan Square and found this place. The wait was half an hour which was not bad considering it was quite crowded and some of the other restaurants in the area were up to an hour and a half wait.

Our server was extremely friendly, and attentive, will get to that in a bit.

We decided to start off with the Beer Cheese with Chips. It was not as I expected in a good way. I thought it was going to be a thin cheese dip, but it was thicker and delicious. Our server saw that we still had dip left but we were out of chips, so she came over and asked if we'd like more chips...which we did. I thought that was a nice touch.

Our friend and I ordered the Grilled chicken sandwich. It was very flavorful and delicious, the basil mayo was quite good as well, they did put a lot on, so I did remove some of it from the sandwich. They had forgotten to put the cheese on my sandwich, but it was so delicious without it that I did not mind. I had sweet potato fries. My friend enjoyed his chicken sandwich as well, and made the same comment about he liked the basil mayo.

My husband ordered the cuban sandwich. He really enjoyed it, and said it was spicy which is unlike the other cuban sandwiches he has had. He thought it was the best one he had eaten.

After lunch, we decided to indulge and ordered the Monkey Bread as a dessert (even though it is listed as a breakfast item) It was delicious - it was a bread with cinnamon, and a sugary glaze. It came out in a cast-iron pan and the way it's made you can just rip off the pieces. We all agreed that it was super delicious.

All in all, I thought this was a great meal to top off a great vacation. I would recommend this place, and hope to revisit it when I go again to visit my friend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puella202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love the Salmon and Ribs”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Son moved to the neighborhood not long ago and wanted to try out this restaurant. Very family oriented, very nice children's menu with good selections. I always have the grilled Salmon and my husband tried the ribs which he said were very good. Parking is a little tight on the street and can be a little difficult to get to because of the intersection of many streets. Would help to have a GPS. Another great restaurant a few doors down but not suitable for children unless they have esoteric tastes. Try it out, I think you will like it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunlay's on the Square also viewed

 

Been to Dunlay's on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing