We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
Ranked #41 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Description: Lou Malnati’s opened the doors to its 33rd pizzeria on Monday, July 4, 2011. Located at 1120 N. State Street in the city’s Gold Coast neighborhood, this pizzeria is the company’s new flagship location, and has the largest seating capacity of all the Malnati restaurants to date. Lou Malnati's is famous for its Chicago-style deep dish pizza and has become a staple for local Chicagoans, as well as a mandatory destination for tourists.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ate at Lou Malnati's on Tuesday, September 24, 2013. We had a small pizza and the combo appetizer. The pizza was different from what I am used to, but was good. I liked the appetizers. I had never had cheese cubes before. The waiter provided excellent service. The décor was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    285
    97
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best of the Biggies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went on a multi-day deep-dish spree to determine the best Chicago has to offer, and Lou Malnati's was definitely the winner. That said, I don't think any Chicago deep-dish can compare to excellent NY style or well done standard crust in any good pizza town. In San Diego, I can get better pizza than Chicago deep-dish at several places just in my little beach town neighborhood.

Pequod's worth a try because it's got the carmelized cheese under-crust, and Giordano's is also fun because of the stuffed crust. Lou's though, the best general pizza experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeclarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Glad I took up the recommendation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon arriving on our first night in Chicago, we were starving and the manager at our hotel recommended Lou Malnati's to us (or Lou Mal's as he affectionately called it). A short walk from our hotel, and situated in a lovely part of Chicago in we went on a midweek evening. It was nicely busy and had a "buzzy" atmosphere. The waiter was attentive, friendly and genuinely interested in providing us with a great experience. We ordered chicken wings to start (which were amazing- in the 2 weeks I was in the USA, they were by far the best and I had a few trust me!) and a deep pan Pepperoni as a main. The main was nice but perhaps lacked enough cheese and at times tasted like pepperoni and tomato on bread. Having said that, I really enjoyed it and the crust was amazing and the sauce fresh. Just wished it had a bit more cheese! We went back on our last evening and ordered a simple cheese and tomato pizza and it was amazing! Absolutely loved it. The cheese was great and went brilliantly with the fresh homemade sauce and deep crust. We also tried the cookie desert and that was great also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What's the big deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tried Malnati's based on rave reviews and friend's recommendation. The table service was excellent, attentive without being intrusive.
The pizza was a huge disappointment, really not much better than store-brand microwave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

First experience with authentic deep dish in Chicago and Malnati's delivered perfectly. The pizza was excellent- crust not too heavy, and the sauce tasted very fresh. Nice mix of cheese and sauce, leading to a very good meal. We were lucky to snag a table at 7:00 pm on a Saturday night... When leaving the restaurant there must have been 30 or more people waiting, all scattered along the sidewalk outside. Good service once seated so be patient if you want to eat there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing