We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I thought”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #105 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I thought”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I've stayed in only two other downtown hotels( The Swissotel & The Hyatt ) and they both blow this W away! The lobby is beautiful, and the staff was friendly & professional. Maybe because I had a 'King Superior" room and not a suite. The view was of other buildings and roofs and the bathroom was probably, originally a closet. The room was neat but it seemed as if the carpet was just thrown down. For the price( $261 ), I should have tried somewhere else. Just my opinion!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dastony1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    707
    334
    198
    121
See reviews for
224
719
177
942
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The hotel is nice and the rooms are very modern and spacious. Best experience was meeting with Laurelin in conciege! She was so sweet and spent so much actually planning out my many nights I've stayed at this hotel. She even sent up champagne and chocolates to get the evening started. She is by far the best and knows her stuff - best restaurants, happy hours, and after hour spots. Recommend visiting her if you are at this hotel for a stay...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I was facing an overwhelming workload in the office and knew I needed to put long hours in at the office. Laurelin Hefter recommended I spend a night at the hotel to eliminate my commute and to provide me with some relaxation. She was so right. I was able to put in a long day at work and then have an incredibly relaxing experience which helped me be refreshed and able to get a lot done the next day. I am sure I will indulge myself with a night at the W-Chicago City Center several times this year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just spent 2 great days here at this hotel unwinding and I can say that the concierge service given by Laurelin was impeccable. She made sure we were lined up for the best restuarants, and lounges and made our stay memerobale...

Cheers KT

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_broncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Bed Bugs...need I say more. I am still recovering from the bites. I was in this hotel for three nights. I noticed the first bite the morning of my second night and didn't think anything of it. On my final morning, I woke up to groups of bits on my left side and back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Based on the direct communication with the General Manager at W Chicago City Center, a thorough investigation by ORKIN Commercial Services has been completed. We are please to announce that their investigation showed no evidence of bed bug infestation in either room that you had occupied. We value your loyalty to our properties and take these concerns very seriously. Please contact us directly at 312-332-1200 for further discussions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This is a very nice hotel with a great concierge, Laurelin Hefter, who is smart, unfailing pleasant, and extremely efficient. Check in was very nice with hot chocolate, chocolate covered pretzels and a platinum upgrade. We have a conference room, which was well arranged, stocked, and Laurelin made she everyone found it and could get internet. The restaurant menu is too "out there", I had the bucatini for lunch, a pasta dish that tasted like spaghetti with bacon bits (the fake ones not the real ones), service was tepid. Bar menu (only thing available on Sunday evening) was incredibly limited and service was tepid. I think the hotel would benefit from a menu-redo in both bar and restaurant, with a bit more to cater to the traveller. Moreover, the internet got spotty during the day Tuesday???? Can't say why??? Some great people work here, my room was very nice, but mixed bag due to lack of dining arrangements in the winter season when southern travelers don't want to go outside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

- Great location with the added benefit of excellent service particularly from concierge Hefter, Laurelin. She went out of her way to help me prepare for an unexpected official meeting.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#37 of 189 in Chicago
1,418 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#91 of 189 in Chicago
1,417 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 189 in Chicago
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing