We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another solid W property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #105 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another solid W property”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend trip in fall '13. Everything you would expect from a W hotel - solid value, good service, good location, cool rooms. Nothing out of the ordinary (if you know the brand), but that's a good thing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello and thank you kindly for your review.

We value your loyalty to W Hotels of Chicago ...thank you please come escape with us again!

Warm regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    707
    334
    198
    121
See reviews for
224
719
177
942
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just want to thank and recognize the fantastic staff of the W at City Center in Chicago this past weekend . They were all very polite, responsive and helpful all weekend long. I highly recommend the W City Center as a destination when staying in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaffbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our first time in Chicago. Stayed at the W city center. Couldn't have been better. Eden the concierge was there right on the spot assisting us with great recommendations for dining, events, sites and theatre.

Room Tip: If you are Starwood gold they will upgrade you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello and thank you for the review!

We look forward to having you escape with us again very soon.

Cheers,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

... Exceptional staff.

Our company had dozens of people stay multiple nights recently at the W Hotel City Center and while the hotel itself is spacious and impressive - in a sort of old style yet modern way - it's the staff who are the main ingredient.

Specifically, Israel and Emmiko (W Hotel ambassadors) were tremendously helpful.
Oftentimes it is the people who can make the difference from "good" to "great" - and these two people helped me out when I really needed it - with baggage storage, directions, and Emmiko even gave me her own train ticket to get to O'Hare. Wow.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirty-something72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WCCsv, Executive Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello!

Thank you kindly for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014


A trip to my favorite city and a stay in my abortive chicago hotel.. Sounds like a good time. I always choose this hotel because of its prime location in the loop and the polished and personal service.

Even for the high standard of the w hotel, they truly outdid themselves. From checkin to check out, the stay was perfect. Early arrival- no problem- and an upgrade for my birthday! A great start. Fatima greeted me with a warm smile and a genuine happy birthday. Both she and Eden at the concierge desk made me feel at home. Eden promptly made reservations for me and went out of her way to make me welcome.

Lauren in the bar made me a delicious Martini - she is a genius! She and justin produce some of the finest beverages!

The room was perfect- and Fatima checked in with me to ensure all was perfect- and the birthday note was a nice touch!
As far as hotel choices go, I'll never look beyond this hotel. The team ensured I had a wonderful birthday. Starwood should be proud!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cohaagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel was everything I had hope for. Took a quick trip to Chicago for a friend's wedding. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. From the valet, front desk, bar, everybody was super helpful.

I was disappointed that the wifi was not free, but I really didn't need it. Who wants to work on a weekend getaway?

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertimechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Over rated hotel. Poor room - walked into an unusual odor, had to run the A/C on high to mask it. Carpet buckling on the floor. Everything is dark, decor and lighting. Apathetic staff. View was of a dingy courtyard with little sun. Next time I'll be at the JW Marriott across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#37 of 189 in Chicago
1,418 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#90 of 189 in Chicago
1,419 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#92 of 189 in Chicago
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing