We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, food and atmosphere; Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #116 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here the other night, and we definitely enjoyed ourselves; however, the service we received was less than satisfactory. One would assume that a highly rated hotel would treat their guests better. Every time we entered the hotel, I felt out of place instead of welcome.

Service aside, the hotel was so trendy and modern. Our room was gorgeous and food service was prompt. I definitely recommend the crab cakes!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kduncan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Quality over quantity, right?!?! We are so happy that even thought your stay was swift it was a stellar one! The location of W Chicago City Center is so great for attending events at United Center. We are so happy the proximity to the game and our talent made for a great visit!

We hope to see you again soon - go Hawks!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 2,622 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very small room but we were only staying 1 night as we were attending the theater.
The elevator has a psychedelic feel but the rooms were very clean and had some interesting items for purchase.
The best part was the location as it allows for walking to the major attractions and to and from union station.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsbyJnJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thanks for the review! We are so happy the location was a great fit for you. While the historic nature of the building lends to a variety of room layouts, we would love to welcome you back and have you explore some of our upgraded room types. Let me know when you are back!

See you soon!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is made up to be hip an trendy, but in the end, it is a very comfortable hotel. The positive for this hotel are that it is in a great location, the beds are comfortable and the staff are very friendy. The negative points for this hotel is that the building is old, and it is located right next to the L train which runs most of the day and night.

My room was quite large and had a very comfortable bed. My room faced away from the L train so it was relativley quite. However, you can hear the train starting at about 4:00 am if you are a light sleeper.

The elevators in the hotel are old and require a room key to operate. One of my trips to the lobby was quite long due to the door on the elevator not wanting to close.

The restaurant IPO is nice for breakfast and the staff is very friendly. i really ejoyed the hotel. However the group of people I was traveling with preferred the JW Marriott across the street.

Room Tip: Get a room that does not face the L train side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for the candid feedback. While the historic nature of the building lends to a variety of room layouts. We have different room categories to accommodate different needs and preferences as you experienced! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the service and dining experience in IPO - it is such a great spot to start your day!

I hope we have the luxury of welcoming you back soon - if so please let me know so we can offer you a warm welcome!

Till then!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I like to try different hotels when I fly into town for work. My client has preferred accounts at different places and I have stayed at the Trump, Palmer House, Essex and even the backpackers hostel.

The "W" looks like a cool place but, it was disappointing from the moment my cab pulled up. I don't like anyone fawning over me and insisting they take my bags. However, a door man indicating this was indeed a hotel would have been nice. There was a guy standing just inside the vestibule but, he didn't seem to care much about anything.

The lobby has a cool vibe. Some 'beautiful people' lounge around as a disco ball spins overhead. The delicious hot chocolate decanter with s'mores was a nice touch. Elevators have lenticular 3D artwork which is trippy under the dim blue lights.

I stayed in the "Wonderful" category of room. My first room was fairly large with two windows. Unfortunately, both stared directly at two industrial sized air conditioners. I assume this room is noisy in summer. I wanted a view and requested something else.

My 2nd room was claustrophobic. I could barely walk in the door. The built-in, artsy wall is a nice touch but shaves another 6-inches off room size. Fit and finish is also quite poor. The tub had a big chunk out of it, cracked tile and a poorly fit faucet. (photo uploaded). The visible wear and tear takes away from the ultra-modern design.

The best part of the hotel is staff. From the booking agent on the phone, to the front desk, to the concierges, they all want to go above and beyond to help... except for the door man. He don't give a shiz.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for the feedback. On behalf of the entire team at W Chicago City Center, I apologize for your recent experience. I do hope you will give us another chance so we may prove to you our commitment to Whatever/Whenever service. If we do have the luxury of welcoming you back, please contact me personally so that I may see you have a flawless escape!

Thank you,
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed here for one night during 4th of July weekend. This hotel has the best of the W Hotel experience like great customer service, comfy bed and city center. The room is nicely decorated, but it is not so trendy that it takes 10 minutes to figure out how to operate the shower. The room and bathroom are rather spacious for Chicago hotel standards.

However, there is one major drawback. It is next to the elevated train. I know what some of you may be thinking. Trains and subways exist in every major city. However, the noise from the train line is overpowering and unbearable. The trains run constantly and the room tends to shake a bit when the train passes. I really liked this hotel, but transferred to another hotel because of the noise.

It's a great hotel, but the train will keep me from staying at this location again.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for the candid feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the decor and service of W Chicago City Center but saddened to hear the noise dampened your stay. Please know that we have plenty of rooms away from the train, please contact me direct next time you are in town as I will ensure that you are assigned to a room in a quieter area of the hotel.

Thank you!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room my husband and I shared on our recent trip to Chicago was about half the size of our bathroom at home. We felt like we were sitting on top of each other all of the time. Too much of the space was taken up to make the room look contemporary and modern - like worthless benches in the room. Perhaps they could've skipped the bench and given us a bathroom suitable for two people to use. I was not impressed with the facility and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We understand you want to feel comfortable in your room, and apologize the room size did not meet your expectations. We hope you give us another shot, and if so, before you book your next stay we invite you to visit the special offers page on our website. Here you can find packages packed with value - and upgrades!

If you do find yourself back at W Chicago City Center or in the Windy City, please reach out to us in advance so we may prove to you our commitment to Whatever/Whenever service!

Thank you,
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Everything about this stay was comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable, the location convenient, and the staff great. In particular, the concierge named Eden was fabulous. She was so helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations and transportation within the city. The staff made all the difference. (The big complaint-- no in-room internet!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for the kind words!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and location. Eden is such a wonderful resource - we are so lucky to have her and are delighted to hear she left such a vibrant impression on you!

We appreciate the note on the internet. Be sure to visit our special offers page prior to booking your next visit - we often offer packages that inlude internet in the rate - which we know can be valuable!

Thanks again for the review! Hope to see you soon!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
W Chicago - Lakeshore
W Chicago - Lakeshore
#97 of 192 in Chicago
1,639 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#44 of 192 in Chicago
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
Kimpton Hotel Allegro
#88 of 192 in Chicago
788 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $123 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing