We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #104 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
brazil
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is great, the location ideal for my downtown chicago purposes.
Service is great and breakfast up to starwood hotels standarts.
Rooms are reLly on the small side, which really disappointed me, because for a W hotel i expected something bigger. Nice decorated rooms and trendy hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cestlaviebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the note and for your loyalty to Starwood!

The beauty of this hotel being housed in a 1920's historic building in the heart of downtown Chicago is that we have a full spectrum of architecture and room types! We invite you to return and experience one of our upgraded rooms. We would love to welcome you back and demonstrate to you our wonderful space - in addition to our vibrant Whatever/Whenever service!

We hope you enjoyed your time in the city!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    697
    332
    193
    119
See reviews for
223
713
174
928
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

If you can get a good deal this hotel has a great location, clean rooms, beautiful lobby, Bliss products (love them!) and overall a cool place to stay when visiting Chicago.

The only negatives are that the bar is seriously overpriced. I like to relax and have a drink at the hotel bar, but not for $9 for a bottled beer.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the train and have train noise, others face the street and you can hear the cab driv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuscanyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We love the bliss products and the location as well. If we have the treat of welcoming you back - we invite you to visit our special offers page prior to booking your stay. Here you can find guest room packages that are loaded with value - including beverages in our Living Room Bar! While our menu pricing is consistent with other hotels in Chicago, we know how important it is to have an awesome beverage after a long day and as a result we create platforms where we can pass that value on to you!

Thanks again for the feedback and hope to see you soon - we will be sure to have a cocktail and bliss products waiting for you!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least six times. I am *obsessed* with the scent of the lobby...is it the sicillian fig candle? A Le Labo candle? Custom scent diffuser specific to this location? Something else? I want this scent! Can a manager please weigh in here? The interwebs have all come up with competing answers.

Service here can be a mixed bag...eg I was told my Platinum AmEx with unlimited credit was denied (then they re-ran it & it was a computer error), they're not always great on acknowledging Starwood Preferred Guests, but on other occasions they have been responsive to needs/requests including things like procuring an iPhone 5 charger.

Rooms....these also are hit or miss. Sometimes you get stuck with a *tiny* room....the kind built for Snow White's dwarves. I primarily book Spectacular rooms, and usually they are spacious enough with a decent sized bathroom. Don't expect amazing views here though, usually "city" views, or the back courtyard which is a view of other buildings. The Bliss Spa amenities are great *however* they used to provide face wash, body wash and face cream and now they just provide shampoo, conditioner, & bar soap -- that's pathetic when The Fairmont offers an entire suite of products from Le Labo in all their rooms. The beds are very comfortable though as others have said.

Room service...I'm a creature of habit and order the same meals at every hotel. Their chicken cesar salad is serviceable but not superior, their chicken soup is excellent for fall/wintertime colds...seriously, I was in NYC dreaming about this soup. Room service is delivered very quickly and delivery staff are always quite friendly and accommodating.

I still think that internet should be free in all hotels where you pay more than $150 per night, but I don't think I will ever win that argument at any hotel.

I know the lobby turns into a bit of a scene at night...I travel here only for business so can't speak to the nightlife atmosphere. On that note...they have a lovely business center with several Mac Computers, and a brand new printer/scanner/fax/copier (not the dinky home office kind, but a professional grade one)...It is a good sized room and in a convenient location on the premise but out of the fray so you are not disturbed. I can't tell you how many hotels I've been to where they advertise a business center which in reality is nothing more than a glorified walk in closet. The W City Center is not a replacement for a true office, but it is a quiet well equipped space where you can really get some things done.

Overall it's a solid hotel, with decent services and amenities, in a good central location. I much prefer staying here over the insufferable Blackstone Renaissance which was a total disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balebusta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the eloquent review! We are "obsessed" with having you as a guest!

We are happy we could provide a comforting atmosphere and sensory experience for you - specifically with the scent we have throughout the hotel! To answer your looming question about what the scent is composed of, it is described as "zest of fresh Corsican Lemon, heightened by a background of verdant laurel leaves and crisp lime blossom creating a chic and clean, sexy and green sensory experience."

If you need to get your fix at home or want the W experience at your fingertips, you can purchase the scent at W The Store - unfortunately we do not have a physical store in Chicago but you could pop into a shop at one of the W's in NYC! Otherwise you can order it online at W Hotels the Store, or you can always call me at the hotel and I can make arrangements for you to receive the scent as well.

Thank you for the thoughtful and entertaining review - we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Till then!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the W. The rooms are on the smaller side but they are comfortable and you have everything you need. Eden, the concierge, was really helpful and arranged lots of great things for us. I would recommend emailing her before you arrive so she has time to book up the right tours and restaurants for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for the kind note! We appreciate you sharing the insider tip on reaching out to Eden prior to visiting the city. She is incredibly knowledgeable on Chicago's landscape and is an expert on crafting unique and special experiences. thank you for acknowledging her commitment to delivering on our Whatever/Whenever service promise!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thanks again for spending time with us!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the W during my nephew's wedding, where we had a block of rooms. As with most weddings, our needs were many, ongoing, and complex. The W Staff met and exceeded what we needed on a number of levels (accommodating our changing room needs, moving lots of stuff, adjusting meeting room requests etc). In particular, a shout out to Erwin and Zach for their exceptional kindness and care at the front desk. They handled our last-minute room needs with alacrity and good humor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiLeaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Congratulations to you and your family! Thank you for allowing us to share in your special weekend celebration. We know how important the small details are in making for a smooth weekend - having them in place allows you to focus on the bigger, more important things like your family! We are delighted the Erwin and Zach not only delivered on your needs - but made you smile along the way! Thank you for recognizing their efforts and for celebrating them. We will be sure to share your kind words with the two of them as well as the rest of the team at the hotel!

Cant wait to welcome you back - till then!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed a one night stay. We had 2 rooms together and we were treated very well by the friendly staff. The rooms are a nice size with simple, modern decor.The concierege Eden help us choose a restaurant and tour. In addition, I left my coat behind and with the wonderful assistance of Dante Jarrett my coat was sent back to me. We would definetly return to the W Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARYMNEWYORK212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for the kind note! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the design of the hotel as well of the location. We are also elated to hear your experience with our shining talent members created such a sensational impact on your stay. We know how upsetting it can be when you leave something behind and are happy our security extraordinaire, Dante, could come to the rescue! We will be sure to pass along your praises to both Dante and Eden and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to celebrate them!

Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the W! It was right in the middle of everything and has a very hip vibe. We could see Willis tower from our room and it was just a few steps to the sky deck. Walkable distance to millennium park as well. The concierge suggested River boat architecture cruise which was nice. My favorite part of the hotel is their lounge, so cool to hang out with a champagne mojito from the bar!! We loved breakfast at IPO restaurant - their breakfast sandwiches, chocolate pancakes and smoothies are awesome. Service was great as well. There are no coffee makers in the room. We ran into an employee in the elevator, I asked her if there are no coffee makers and she said they are available on request. She asked for our room number and by the time we came back, there is one in the room. (Sadly I didn't ask her name). Called front desk for a shower cap and got one sent to our room immediately.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
What a fantastic picture you paint of your recent visit with us! We are glowing after reading your review. Its wonderful to hear that the service was spot on and that the talent members you engaged with truly demonstrated our commitment to Whatever/Whenever service. Thank you for taking the time to recognize them! We will be sure to deliver your kind words to them as well as our culinary team. We are so proud of the menu Executive Chef Trevor Hoyte and his team have developed, as well as the cocktail culture our mixologist Lauren has created! Its a stellar cocktail culture and we are so happy it left such a solid impression on you!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Jessica Y.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#93 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing