We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #105 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel at excellent location”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Thsi hotel is located in Chicago Downtown and at walking distance from The Sears Tower. It is close to magnificent mile. You need to stay at this location if there is any festival or celebration time as Chicago downtown is really good for these days. Very close to navy Pier (10 minutes drive). Rooms are good and bathtooms are excellent. Impressive staff and this hotel will give a feel of real business trip. First floor, which seems most happening is little dark but some people really like that environment. Just one minus point that it is expensive one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing downtown street and not the inner side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrqTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such an "EXCELLENT" review of the W Chicago City Center. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central downtown location and all of the great attractions within a short distance of the W.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our modern rooms which feature many great amenities. What is most gratifying in your review is your mention of our talent members here at the W and how impressive they were throughout your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the W Chicago City Center in the near future.

Travel safe and travel often,

Dillon Elkin
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    711
    337
    200
    125
See reviews for
227
721
180
951
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, WI
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This may have been one of the smallest hotel rooms I've stayed in, but everything was used in the space so well, it almost wasn't noticeable. Bathroom was very nice glass/marble, shower only. Great Lemon Basil toiletries. A free drink coupon for one of the $15 specialty drinks at the Living Room Bar was in the room. Check-out is later than usual-noon, which is fitting for the club feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlfromKtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review of the W Chicago City Center. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the layout of our hip and modern rooms. There are many different categories of rooms here at the W and all rooms provide the same great amenities. For our guests in one of our "cozy" rooms we do offer the choice of an additional amenity to make your stay even better.

Again thank you for providing us a review of the W Chicago City Center and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Chicago next.

Travel safe and travel often,

Dillon Elkin
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the W for 4 nights in Feb 2013. We had a great time. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great, really close to the train, Willis tower and you can easily walk to Michigan Ave and State St. In some rooms, you can hear the trains, so ask for a room facing the courtyard. We will be back next time in Chicago!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nictuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of the W Chicago City Center. It is always great to read about our guests wonderful visits to the hotel. As you mentioned our location is ideal as we are in the downtown area and close to so many great attractions.

We know there are many choices when it comes to hotels in Chicago and we feel it is our staff that sets us apart. It is so great to read that our "talent members" were so friendly and helpful during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the W Chicago City Center whenever your travels bring you to Chicago.

Travel safe and travel often,

Dillon Elkin
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the W City Center for a 2 day trip in Chicago. The rooms are on the small side, and although they try to make them trendy, they are still dated. There is a noise factor from the nearby train and it's not ideally situated if you want to spend most of your time on the Magnificent Mile. For anyone not too familiar with Chicago, you should definitely go to eat at the Grand Luxe and Sushi Samba. Great city, average hotel...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Review Management at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the W Chicago City Center. I wish that your stay with us was more than average as it is our goal to provide a "Wow Factor" to every guest staying with us.

Our hotel went through an extensive renovation in the past couple of years as well as some of our rooms being brand new here at the hotel. As some of our rooms are facing the street in front of us you can sometimes hear some of the city noises. For the lighter sleeper we do offer noise reducing machines complimentary and all of our outside facing rooms do have sound proof windows to make your stay even more enjoyable. If you are a light sleeper we recommend requesting one of our "courtyard" rooms as those are not facing the street.

If your travels find you in Chicago again we would love to welcome you back to the W Chicago City Center and make sure that your stay is an exceptional one and not just an average one. I invite you to contact me directly prior to your next visit so that I can ensure that it is perfect.

Kindest regards,

Dillon Elkin
Review Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have to admit, I would have given this hotel just an Average rating for a few reasons, including the incredibly small room, and the unnecessary amount of banter from other guests that you can hear through the walls of adjacent rooms. Nevertheless, I'm giving this W Hotel an Excellent rating solely based on the service we experienced during our stay. Let's give it up for the staff, people! Everyone from room service staff to housekeeping was very attentive and helpful...but Eden Bernal was in a class of her own. What an incredible asset to the W hotel this woman is! Seriously, not only was she engaging and polite in a manner that I rarely encounter these days, but she really went out of her way to make sure we had a nice breakfast in the brief time we had before heading to the airport, even using her 'magic' card to secure us a seat at a very crowded and popular diner that's otherwise almost impossible to get into. As promised, we were seated immediately and treated like royalty as soon as the the waitstaff saw Eden's card. It really did work like magic just as she said it would -- I was astounded! I left that place scratching my head. Wow, and what a breakfast that was -- not one I'll soon forget, and literally one of the best I've *ever* had. No joke. As for which restaurant it was, I'm not sure I can divulge that here, but I'm sure Eden will be happy to dispense that information to you along with her warm smile if you ask her. Eden, if you ever find yourself reading this -- I'd like you to know that you REALLY made our day! We'll be back to the W on our next trip to Chicago. See you later!

Tim & Trish

Room Tip: Tip: Ask in advance for a room in a quiet area, and one that has adequate space if there'll be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We love Westin Hotels, but not this property. This hotel is inside the Loop so if you love the excitement of city life, expect the noise that comes along with it - - but we're okay with that! Kinda like...when in Rome...that's how we travel. Consider the train noise a forewarning if you are a light sleeper. I did okay and my husband just took an over the counter sleep aid.

This hotel is run by a staff of twenty-somethings that seem to have no problem (literally) adopting mostly to the "whatever" part of their marketing slogan "whatever, whenever." A lethargic clerk mixed with club beat undertones of the lobby was kind of like being in an after hours club. It made me sad to see a couple in their late sixties checking in. I almost wanted to urge them to walk across the street to the JW Marriott where they would probably feel less intimidated by the surroundings. I felt even more empathy toward them as they could not seem to figure out the elevator.

Pay attention to the room categories. They are as follows: Wonderful Room. Spectacular Room. Fabulous Room. Cool Corner King Room. Fantastic Suite. Marvelous Suite. WOW Suite.
We got there and were amazed that the size of the Fabulous Room was the size of my walk-in closet. Crazy small. So we asked for an upgrade - even offered to pay the difference - after working with "miss uhhhh whatever" at the front desk, we were sent upstairs to the Marvelous Suite.

It was nice and spacious. Room service was a joke and by that I mean that we waited nearly 90 minutes for a bottle of wine to go with the sushi that we had delivered to the lobby from a nearby restaurant who got there in 15 minutes.

Also, it would have been nice for the front door staff to spray the vomit off the sidewalk near the entry from the night before as we headed out for a morning run. Gross.

We are Westin fans, loyal Starwood members, and Chicago is a lovely city that we visit often. But we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Just realize that this property is within the The Loop and accept the fact that this train runs ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Director of Operations at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the W Chicago City Center. I would first like to thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood brand and am pleased to hear that you enjoy our properties wherever your travels take you. I am saddened to read that your overall positive impression of our properties was not the case with the W Chicago City Center. W Hotels is known for being a hip and unique brand with a fresh approach from the more traditional hotel experience.

As we are located in the downtown area we do have an option for our guests to stay in one of our courtyard facing rooms which is away from the usual soft noises of the city around us. What is most concerning however is that you did not have a positive impression from our talent members during your visit. Our team is constantly recognized for their outstanding service and I am sorry to hear that was not the case during your visit.

Although you did not have a positive visit with us, I would like for the chance to welcome you back to the W Chicago City Center in the future and personally welcome you to the hotel and show you the outstanding service and experiences that we are known for.

Kindest regards,

Ale Romero
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had an excellent long weekend in Chicago and the W City Center was a big part of that. The pre-check in experience was exceptional with correspondance going back and forth from the concierge Eden. I sent her the restaurants we had booked (as we are toatl foodies) to ensure that we were going to have a full culinary adventure. Eden revewed the list and made some recommendations to day otr time change so that we wouldnt be running all over and we could enjoy our time better eating and relaxing. He last minute suggestions were also spot on. We met he several times throughout our stay and she always called me by name and went to extra mile to help out. I observed this with he interaction with other hotel guests as well. The room and W expereince was on par if not slightly better than others in terms of the locations, rooms and so forth. The bar had knowledgable and genuine service. This W feels a little more grown up which is fine by me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#35 of 190 in Chicago
1,440 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#92 of 190 in Chicago
1,455 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
241 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing