We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Make sure you get an inside room if you want to sleep!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #89 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Madison
Level Contributor
221 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Make sure you get an inside room if you want to sleep!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wow, nice property. But MAJOR issue with the train that goes by every 5-10 minutes! 1st night there, I checked in late. Heard the train right away, and called to desk asking how late it runs. Gal told me it would stop in the next couple of hours. Never stopped! 1am, I think I fell asleep. 5:30am woke me up. I was very unhappy that this desk person told me it will stop. Next day asked the desk to move me, they said oh yes, that train runs all night long, I don't blame you. Was moved to the courtyard facing room and slept well.

Not real sure about W hotels. The decor is almost too swanky.

Very clean, service (other than front desk) good. Food good, housekeeping very good. People are very nice, and attentive.

Location for my business was excellent.

Internet is terrible. I think I have some picture to demonstrate. I will post them.

Valet good, but expensive.

Room Tip: Away from train!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClickTheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    632
    285
    170
    104
See reviews for
184
672
166
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I arrived to the hotel very early in the morning, the staff did their best to accomodate me with an early arrival and got me a room within a reasonable time. TK, the W Chicago conceriege was very helpful in answering all my questions about the hotel and the surrounding area. We will definately stay at this hotel again for our next trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapers136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during the 2012 Lollapolloza music festival and it was a good choice for that weekend. We walked to and from the venue each day which was only about a mile away. We had to change rooms our first day because our neighbors were extremely loud. Our second room was better as it was on the end of a corridor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trojanheart05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we arrived at the W, we were thrilled with our choice-- the decor is trendy and modern, the staff very polite. The rooms were a bit small, but the bed was very comfy. Everything was great until the last night, while we were asleep our room was broken into and money was stolen from our wallets. When we realized this the next morning, we immediately contacted the front desk and the police. The first step was to run a security scan on our door lock. This would be great if it worked correctly, after 3 tries it finally scanned, yet the dates were from December of 2011 through May 2013, just doesn't seem legitimate (we stayed September 2012.) While all of this is happening, maybe a 3 hour process, there was no apology, no "Hey, let us buy you lunch while our security takes care of this." Also during the process, we also had to pay an extra $100 for parking another day. I actually don't think an apology was ever offered initially, which is absurd in the "hospitality" industry. After reviewing the security report, the door was secure all night except for a 30 minute time period between 5 AM and 5:30 AM, which just states "Door Ajar" it doesn't say what card was used. Being a younger couple (23 & 27), we were not taken seriously at all, they kept inferring "Are you sure you didn't open the door?"

Really?

I think what upsets me the most is my safety, I keep thinking what if I woke up when an intruder was in our room?

Once we finally arrived home, we dug deeper and got to speak to the manager of the hotel and then Westin representatives. The W staff was rude and condescending, but the Westin rep was very courteous thankfully. Obviously we don't expect to be reimbursed cash, but never were we offered a complimentary stay or even a meal.

This is definitely a unique situation, but I don't recommend the W in Chicago whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My stay at the W Chicago City Center was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences I have ever had. The hotel staff was excellent, but I would be remiss if I didn't single out the hotel concierge, TK. She was absolutely amazing and went far above and beyond the call of duty. I simply asked her for a few suggestions for a tour guide and car service, and instead she mapped out an epic experience that my girlfriend and I would never forget.

Thanks again to TK and The W Chicago City Center!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Director of Welcome Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Your Awesome! I am pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us recently and that our Concierge was able to make your experience memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Travel safe and travel often,

Brian Herro
Director Welcome Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The highlight of my stay at the W Chicago was the expert concierge assistance provided by TK, who provided numerous restaurant recommendations, helped me make the perfect choice, and reserved a table for me at Blackbird. If you need to find a place to eat in the Windy City, TK is your go-to source.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

In Chicago for business... full disclosure I'm at the highest end of SPG Platinum status... was greeted with an outstanding room and welcome amenity. Personal note from the manager and over the top service. Food at the bar and restaurant are great and the atmosphere is fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcorrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoCityCenter, Director of Welcome Office at W Chicago - City Center, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at the W Chicago City Center. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our vibrant "Living Room" as well as our restaurant IPO. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Travel safe and travel often,

Brian Herro
Director of Welcome Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#27 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#94 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#18 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,400 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing