We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel.. In the loop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Chicago - City Center
Ranked #95 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.. In the loop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for a week. The staff was nice and friendly. They had complimentary desert bars and water on check in, and complimentary coffee in the morning in the lobby. There is also complimentary WIFI in the lobby. (In this day and age, WIFI should be complimentary throughout the hotel!)

When I arrived, I booked a spectacular room, knowing that it was larger than the small, standard room. The room I got was huge, but the toilet was extremely small, especially the WC. Your knees basically hit the wall. PLUS, it was on a lower floor, and immediately adjacent to the loop train (which runs 24/7), so we were kept awake that night.

They were accommodating and moved us the next night. This room was smaller, but the WC was useable!

They have the complimentary Acura service, which is nice when you need to get somewhere really quick, and it's free!

Overall, i would stay again if I wanted to be in that area for business, but as a tourist I would much rather be in a hotel near Michigan Ave, where the action is!

Room Tip: High floor, looking into the courtyard, so you hear the trains less!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    609
    275
    161
    101
See reviews for
173
646
160
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I recently stayed at the W City Center for a freinds wedding and had the best experience at this hotel. It is a beautiful property and my room was amazing! Laurelin, their hotel Insider, was so helpful in planning my stay and truly made it awesome. Stephen at the front desk was so helpful and professional and made check-in and departure a breeze. Be sure to visit Josh, their hotel mixologist, who made my friend the most amazing hot toddy ever!!!! The wedding planner was Allsion, and I was amazed at her style and grace! Way to go W City Center! A wonderdful weekend was had by all in the Windy City!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time. Our concierge Laurelin was extremely helpful urging our stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel. She helped us check int our flight and was very professional. The s'more refreshments were wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Straffaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay in W hotels whenever I travel for work, at least once a month from NYC and Florida to Chicago to LA. I prefer the city center in Chicago compared to Lakeshore for its ability to make a sexy swanky hotel also feel comforting.

The amenities fit the price of stay and I enjoy the range of public spaces to escape the confinement of one's room (nice when traveling alone!). I can work, dine or drink in the restaurant, bar or lobby lounge. When I was there I found a nook off to the side and had a drink specially crafted from the bartender Josh, who tailored his conception to my mood. Fresh and light was definitely translated in my blackberry prosecco cocktail. I recommended his service to my local client should they need to reserve a spot for their after-hour meetings.

I also enjoyed the concierge service who, along with Josh, recommended great "local" spots to grab a bite. Loved RM Champaigne salon!

I'd choose a stay at city center over convenient commute time on my next trip to Chicago, but location is still great for shopping, sightseeing and exploring.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiDia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I live in Wisconsin (Go Bears!) and we have Bears season tickets. We stay at several hotels and by far this year out experience was THE BEST !! Really. Could not believe EVERYONE was great and sooooooo nice. A big THANK YOU.

Go Bears!

Mary & Ron Jongetjes

Room Tip: We didn't use the pool or kids activities but I am sure that is great as well. No tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Entire staff was great, friendly and helpful. Especially enjoyed Josh at the bar! Very knowledgeable and gifted mixologist! Knew his stuff and had some incredible creations. Very refreshing for a hotel bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel is nice, modern, some rooms are smaller....modern decor. The train is loud in some of the rooms. The location is not that close to shops, etc on Michigan Ave. You either have to like to walk or take a cab. The Concierge Service and Front Desk service is great though. The Concierge, Dillon, set us up at a great local restaurant, Nia. Food was great and LOTS of it! If you don't mind being slightly out of the way, and want great service, this is a good choice. Also, the bed was very, very comfortable. Slept great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#28 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Streeterville
W Chicago Lakeshore
W Chicago Lakeshore
#99 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#10 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#20 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - City Center

Property: W Chicago - City Center
Address: 172 West Adams at LaSalle, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#55 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#61 Business Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago - City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've got the scoop on where to be and who to see in the Windy City. You're invited to step behind the scenes of the glittering lights of downtown Chicago. W Chicago - City Center is nestled in the middle of Chicago's vibrant cultural attractions and is steps from the Willis Tower, the Chicago Art Institute, music at Millennium Park, Block 37, State Street shopping and the Chicago Theatre District. Blown away by the Windy City? So are we. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your W Chicago - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago - City Hotel Chicago
w Chicago City Center
w Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing