We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Ranked #92 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

VERY small rooms. Efficient staff. Great amenity room below the lobby for work space and coffee. Convenient location for south side of downtown loop. Near JW Marriott and W. Request away from the street for less am traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBizSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    671
    224
    85
    53
See reviews for
140
484
209
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
369 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Staying in the Chicago Loop is a very convenient location and this hotel had the advantage of not much street noise at night. It's very much a business hotel; rooms are small and the air-con is noisy and struggles to cope - even in the early summer. The bed is very hard. There are no in-room safes which, for a high proportion of business customers, seems very strange. On the plus side, the shower is good - lots of hot water, good pressure, there is a free laundry available to guests (just make sure you get in before the housekeeping staff take over - early morning is best) and some rooms have microwaves and small fridges. The former is a bonus if you like to make yourself a cup of tea and don't want to go to the basement to use the club lounge. For the price, I was expecting more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel set up and run like an express business hotel but with luxury hotel prices. I think they really cater to the conference crowd and I’m sure no one else in the hotel was paying these prices for such tiny rooms. I’ve posted a couple of pictures, (sorry, didn’t make the bed up, but it wouldn’t make it look any better anyway) to show the diagonal wall creating an 8.5’ x 12’ x 5.5’ box and a floor plan to show the room sizes. It appears to me, but it’s only my opinion, that when they renovated the hotel, they took one large room and cut it in half to create two, you can see from the floor plan how the doors are beside one another in many of the rooms.

I understand that hotels in the downtown core are more expensive because of the real estate, but I really felt that we paid way too much for what we received. For a three day stay we paid $1286.33 which is over $400 a night and for that price I expected a nice room, not a tiny, odd shaped room that you had to scoot around the bed in order to get past the desk; it was much easier to crawl across the bed. I think no one should be charged more then $150 for that room.

The location of the hotel is really good, very close to the Art Institute of Chicago and Millennium Park, many restaurants and jazz clubs are within walking distance. A couple of streets over is the entrance to the subway system, which is easy to use with a ‘wave’ of your credit card (if it has a transponder).

There is so much to see and do in Chicago and you’ll not spend much time in your hotel room except to sleep, but being overcharged for a tiny room does make you feel unhappy when you cross the threshold so we asked to be moved. It was a bit of a challenge as they were ‘full’, but they did accommodate us and the new room didn’t have the awkward layout, so we felt better, but I’ll stay at another hotel on my next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: Check the floor plan before accepting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

It was my first stay in a Club Quarters hotel. My first impression was that the halls were narrow and the lobby was small. However, I realized the building was old but nicely updated. I was curious about needing to use my room key to access other floors on the elevator, but later learned that different amenities are associated with each floor.

The room was well setup for business travelers like myself. The bed and pillows were extremely comfy and I was given an aromatherapy kit for better sleep. The Elephant & Castle restaurant onsite had quaility offerings and my room service order arrived with 18 minutes from ordering. I was also thrilled that I was able to order from a few local pizza/Italian restaurants and have them deliver to my room and automatically bill my room account.

I really liked the large living room in the basement. It was comfortable and homey and had free refreshments and snacks. Finally, everyone on the staff was very friendly and gave me excellent service. I'll return for a stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

To begin with we had a club size room. I could see this wouldn't do. Because we purchased on Priceline, I called the hotel. They said to call Priceline. I did and was not expecting them to help. They did. They contacted the hotel and spoke with JD. JD made an accommodation for us with Priceline. i called the hotel back and spoke with JD.

When we checked in JD was at the desk. He made sure all went well. The rooms (we had 2) were very nice, clean and spacious enough to accommodate our two 6'5" grandsons. A queen bed and a very nice pull out sofa. The attached restaurant is also very nice. And it's an excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Small...that's the first thing that comes to mind when rating this hotel. All the reviews were correct...the rooms are very small! The parking garage is a few blocks behind the hotel so be prepared to walk with luggage, leather jackets and motorcycle helmets. The hotel does validate parking which gives you about $ 14.00 off from $ 60.00. They do have valet parking (I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU USE IT) Unfortunately, they can't valet motorcycles.

I chose this hotel because of it's proximity to Route 66 and the sights I wanted to take in. Other than the small room and inconvenient parking, this hotel had everthing I needed. The rooms were clean, the staff was great, self check in and out was quick and painless.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Club Quarters is nice in that it is a bit different. The front desk staff was very friendly. They have an easy self-checkin process which I did not use because I was not aware of how it worked. Instead of showing me, the front desk folks walked over to the kiosk and checked me in. The room I had (1034) was a corner room with a nice view BUT was quite small and not well laid out. The TV was small, the channel guide inaccurate and poorly positioned. While I could see the TV from the bed, I like to have it on if I order room service and watch. The desk was too small for the room service meal as well. The problem is, the desk faced away from the TV. I did like the number of outlets for charging electronics. They also offer bottles and filtered chilled water on every floor. But would be nice if there was a refrigerator in the room to keep it cold. The bottles smelled a bit odd too. I was also disappointed when I was leaving at 8 in the morning and asked for a clean towel to be delivered to my room. When I return 3 ½ hours later, the towel had never been delivered. Perhaps my biggest complaint was directions. I asked three people where the closest CTA train entrance so I could go to O'hare was. I got three different answers. The location was good and it is near the Blue Line train to O'Hare (it turned out). The security is also good. This would have been average were it not for the fact it is different than your standard chain hotel. But the small rooms, laid out poorly in some cases-but there are other things I liked like the plugs and the thermostat which can be adjusted while in bed.

Room Tip: They told me I was in a standard room-the second largest. I would opt for their largest room as I f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripp F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#77 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
The Kimpton Gray Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Address: 111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-4106
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#64 Family Hotel in Chicago
#65 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Chicago - Central Loop provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in the center of the Central Loop Chicago's downtown district near LaSalle. It is a convenient walk to the Symphony Center, the Art Institute, The Board of Trade, the Sears Tower and Grant Park. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast, easy self check-in and check-out • Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water• 7 meeting and event rooms available maximum reception style 200 people• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available• Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago - Central Loop Hotel Chicago
Hotel Quarters Chicago Central Loop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing