We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with great location but very small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Ranked #95 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel with great location but very small rooms”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Customer service was great at this hotel located in the heart of shopping and business. However, our room had a queen size bed in it and the room was minimally manageable. Not a great hotel if you like to spend any time in your room. Due to size of room, had to look for where all the amenities might be placed like tissue paper?.......Price okay for a city place but really good for a single person only. Also had a unique feature of water dispensers with bottles on each floor to fill for yourself as needed free of charge.

Room Tip: Rooms without a view are slightly larger but not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    690
    231
    91
    57
See reviews for
146
498
217
571
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We love downtown Chicago and used this as an excuse to visit family in the Chicago area. Downtown prices were extremely high the weekend we chose to come, and this hotel was the most economical of the bunch. This hotel was great for what we needed - five minute walk from Bank of America Theater (where we saw Book of Mormon), easy walk to Art Museum and other attractions, etc. Rooms and bathroom are small and somewhat spartan, but extremely well designed (especially for business traveler) and very clean. Filtered water machines with water bottles were a great feature on every floor, located by the elevator - easy to take a water and go! Common areas are terrific - very large and spacious, with comfortable seating, computers, snacks, and 24 hour machine to make fancy coffee drinks. A great place to hang out. The workout room is great too - lots of variety of machines and equipment and open 24 hours. A nice bar/restaurant adjoins the hotel lobby. Hotel staff was wonderful. The only downside to the staff was at checkout when we tried to get our car to drive to the airport, the valet parking took about 45 minutes to retrieve the vehicle (luckily we waited in the comfortable lounges and planned enough time so we arrived in time at the airport).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week and couldn't fault it. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the showers particularly good, and the staff very helpful and knowledgable, especially Erin and Corinna. The location is fantastic, right in the heart of downtown Chicago. It's very easy to get a cab outside or the much cheaper "L" nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just love Chicago. It's a great city with lots to do and its people are curious and so welcoming. As we were in town to spend a long weekend enjoying restaurants and a few sites, my boyfriend booked 3 nights at the Club Quarters - Central Loop.

We had never stayed in any of the CQ and I was a bit unsure of what we'd get for our $200/night-room. Firstly, the location is great. Easily accessible from the airport, close to the metro and surrounded by numerous restaurants, coffee shops and bars.

We arrived late on a Thursday and were greeted with smiles and professionalism. The team at the front desk was quick and efficient.

The lobby, the common areas and especially the rooms were spotless. The rooms are small, but smartly organized. There is a small coffee maker (pretty basic) but no fridge (no fresh milk). Starbuck's is right on the corner, use it.

We found the room to be of above average, and we were initially pleasantly surprised. However, when we tried to sleep we rapidly realized that it was going to be difficult. Our neighbours were very noisy and partying pretty hard and the walls were clearly paper-thin. They were screaming and the TV was very loud, it felt they were in our own room.

The next morning the lady at the front confirmed that our neighbours were staying a few more nights, so we asked to change room. We were promptly offered a new room which turned out to be great even if it was a bit smaller. The bed and linens were very comfortable and our new neighbours were calmer. We did ear them and their TV, but they ended up going to bed much earlier (at around 11 pm rather than 3-4 am).

The stars of the CQ are without a doubt its employees. They are always eager to help and to please.

If you are looking for a centrally located and comfortable hotel with excellent service and you don't mind the noise of a college dorm, CQ Central Loop is the place to go.

Room Tip: Feel free to ask for a quiet room, employees are eager to help you. I wouldn't pay over $175/nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvl_lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Booked a room for a quick overnight in the city not knowing what hotel it was. Turned out to be an awesome find. Free bottled water, internet, computer use and snacks. The hotel was clean and the staff was awesome. I am not familiar with downtown but they got me everywhere I needed to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've never before experienced automated check in and check out. Staff were remarkably friendly and helpful. I must have had a recently updated room because it was superlative, even over the top. Outstanding furnishings and room appointments. Even a small book selection. Temp controls were at bedside. The most complete set of AV hookups were at fingertip. Bed perfect. Water pressure on 9th floor was perfect as was the shower head. This was easily a $275 room in most other cities.

Room Tip: Older building so my corner room had three massive windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed in several Club Quarters (Manhattan, Philadelphia and Washington DC), so it was like returning home, with the familiar décor, services (like the refillable bottles of water and water fountain, the floor cupboards with additional amenities as needed, and the automated check-in and checkout) and helpful and pleasant personnel. You know what to expect! I arrived early (10 am) and was offered a wait for an hour for my room to be ready (even this was amazing) or to upgrade to a suite for a small amount of money. I chose to upgrade, and had a spacious room on the 8th floor, with a nice living room with sofa and desk for working, the mini kitchen, bed room and spacious bathroom. Not luxurious, but functional and pleasing. It was excellent for the three days I spent there. While the window outlook was not that great from the room – the outside hole surrounded by bricks and windows, the room environment was pleasant. Free wireless was stable and worked efficiently. I enjoyed the club room below the ground floor. Very spacious, comfortable chairs and work spaces and computer terminals, and providing coffee and tea all day. There was some food – it appeared to be a little hit and miss: sometimes fresh fruit was available, sometimes nibbles of all kinds, sometimes breakfast bars; and then again, sometimes not. I did not figure out whether it was my timing or just supplies had run out. Overall, a very good stay. Easy walk from O'Hare airport Blue line metro train (for $5.00) at Monroe, as well as being right in the center of the Loop district with loads of cafes, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask to check a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#90 of 189 in Chicago
557 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#37 of 189 in Chicago
1,418 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 189 in Chicago
223 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#33 of 189 in Chicago
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Address: 111 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-4106
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#64 Family Hotel in Chicago
#65 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Chicago - Central Loop provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in the center of the Central Loop Chicago's downtown district near LaSalle. It is a convenient walk to the Symphony Center, the Art Institute, The Board of Trade, the Sears Tower and Grant Park. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping and entertainment. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast, easy self check-in and check-out • Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water• 7 meeting and event rooms available maximum reception style 200 people• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available• Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago - Central Loop Hotel Chicago
Hotel Quarters Chicago Central Loop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing