We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #57 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms are not too big, it seemed to be clean and comfortable. It was a regular room,with no view really for over $200. The staff was pleasant and really polite. The rooftop bar wasn't bad, it is small for such a crowded place, but it was really nice and good drinks. The hotel itself was clean. The biggest plus of this hotel- Great Location!! It is near the mag mile and shopping malls and good restaurants. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastacia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Conrad Chicago! We are so glad to hear you were able to enjoy our rooftop terrace along with our fabulous location. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,024
    723
    195
    71
    39
See reviews for
486
1,092
222
901
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Check in is supposed to be at 3 p.m. We got there at 4 and our room was not ready. In fact we could not get in room until 5:20. This was very inconvenient for us as we had a dinner to get to and had very little time to get ready.. They gave us a free drink voucher and free breakfast. We would much rather been able to get in the room. After getting back to the hotel at night, we were going to have a nightcap. Thought it was very unusual that the bar was out of a common beer, Miller Lite. This may not seem like a big thing but a huge hotel like this should have the basics always on hand. We got to breakfast the next morning, and had to wait to get in the Terrace as well. When we stay at an expensive hotel, I expect to be able to get in the room on time and this was disappointing to us. There are a lot of great hotels in Chicago and next time we will pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeeeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you were not able to get into your room by check in time. Our departments work quickly and efficiently to try and get everyone into their rooms when they arrive. Unfortunately sometimes this does not happen. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your drinks and breakfast but will follow up with the team to make sure items are properly staffed. We hope you will stay again and give us another chance on your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I had anticipated an exceptional stay during a recent business meeting, however I was very disappointed. The staff were not friendly or helpful when I had questions. I felt I was inconveniencing the staff when I would ask questions. My room was worn and in need of refurbishing. Room service food was not good

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 100maryanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I apologize that your stay with the Conrad Chicago did not meet your expectations. There is no excuse for the staff not being friendly or helpful. We will make sure that this is followed up on in all departments. We hope to welcome you back to the Conrad in the future to allow us to show you the true Conrad service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Comfortable hotel in a great location for shopping and food. We walked almost everywhere during our time here. There is also a water taxi stop close by if you get tired of walking. The staff are friendly and helpful. And the rooms are comfortable and clean.

If you are after a view, this is not the hotel for you because it's located between other buildings – we didn't have a view (only of another building) from our room but that didn't bother us.

There's no tea-making facilities in the room but you can ask for a coffee/tea making machine for the room – very useful. They also provide bottled water every day which is a nice touch. We didn't have time to eat or drink at the hotel but the outdoor terrace looks nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeCCTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Being a smaller building in a large city views are limited but we are happy to hear that you found our amenities and staff to be above average. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Great rooms. Clean and comfortable. Facilities were excellent. Coctails were lovely. Very relaxed vibe. Definitely add this to my return to list. Location great. Really couldn't have asked for more during our 2 night stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EPFAN1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are excited to be on your return list and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Used Hilton points to book a night at the Conrad and what a great hotel. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was excellent - extremely comfortable king bed, huge bathroom with all the amenities and decent view. Easy access to Michigan Ave. and the Magnificent Mile. I only wish I would have had time to have a drink out on the Terrace Bar!

Would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Conrad Chicago. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again soon. Our terrace bar is open seasonally but a great place to have a few drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I've stayed at the Conrad Chicago for years, and after last weekend's stay, it struck me that I've never written a review - my bad, because this is certainly my favorite hotel anywhere!

Why I love the Conrad Chicago:

* The staff. Incredible across the board. I've never once encountered a staff member who wasn't pleasant and accommodating, and many times, they're far above and beyond that. My stays have numbered in the double digits, and I can honestly say that I've never encountered a screwup. And even if I had, they probably would have been awesome about it.

* The service. Wow. They think of everything. I used to stay there several times a year (sometimes close to monthly) and have cut down on my frequency of stays only because I now stay with a close friend when I'm in town. Last weekend, I was there for the first time in a year. And you know what? Eddie the bartender remembered that I wanted a Tito's martini! After a year! Sergio in the bar is also a gem.

It also bears mentioning that a couple years ago, I stayed there on my birthday. I have no idea how they knew it was my birthday, but not only did they, maybe, triple upgrade me, but I had a beautiful birthday confection waiting for me on my day.

* The rooms. By far and away the best in Chicago. Bed? Incredible. Bathroom? Sensational. I live for the big soaking tub that's been in every room in which I've ever stayed.

* Location. Right in the heart of everything. Love the dual entrances - you can enter on Michigan Avenue through the upscale shopping mall (doesn't suck having a Nordstrom right in the building) or on Rush Street if you'd rather not walk through the shops.

And after all of this, I can truly say that the rates aren't ludicrous. I'm Diamond with Hilton and I've stayed at several other Chicago properties (Hilton and others) - definitely the best Chicago hotel, the best Hilton anywhere and one of the best hotels in the world.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Conrad Chicago! We are so glad you have continued to enjoy your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. We understand choosing a hotel that fits your needs can be trying but we are so glad to be #1 in your book! Please stop by anytime to say hi. Eddie and Sergio will be recognized for their wonderful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#68 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,969 reviews
The James Chicago
#39 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing