We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #57 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was planning a simple overnight stay in order to experience the city for a mini-vacation. I found the Conrad online while doing a search for hotels in the Michigan Ave area. A Sunday night stay is of course cheaper than a Friday or Saturday night stay, which worked perfectly because that was the day that I was staying! The registration process was simple and quick, checking into the hotel was extremely painless and the concierge was eager to assist in any way possible. My room on the 11th floor was big and clean with a wonderful view of the city. The bathroom was also big with a big beautiful shower. I couldn't get enough of this place! I didn't spend a ton of time at the hotel itself due to having a packed schedule, but I did take time to sit at the bar and have a drink. I expected the drinks to be pretty pricey, and a martini was $15. Fortunately, it happened to be the most delicious martini I've ever had and the bartender was a wonderful sweet gal who knew exactly how to make friendly conversation with a stranger.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Conrad Chicago. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway to the city and were able to indulge in a delicious martini . I couldn't agree with you more about the spacious bathrooms. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    723
    196
    71
    39
See reviews for
487
1,092
223
903
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
185 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a good hotel in a good location. The room, with a pleasant nondescript decor, contained all the necessary amenities. The entrance on ground level has a convenient driveway for pick-up and drop-off. The lobby is on the 6th floor, so you must take an elevator there and a different elevator to your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liseuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Heart of Michigan ave and hubbard street where lots of restaurants are located great place! Also has a rooftop deck and lounge area. Great place!!! And great location!! Public transportation all within a couple blocks to everything. Would Definatley stay here again. Location to hotel kind of tricky off rush st which is not flush with Michigan ave it's located underneath kinda confusing look it up of you are not familiar.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank reid2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Conrad Chicago. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the property itself. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel has a tiny street entrance, but the lobby in the fifth floor is very nice. The fireplace is different of all you have seen before, built inside a glass box. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and very comfortable. There is a parking facility that you can reach from inside the hotel by the lift what is very convenient.

Room Tip: If you stay in the fifth floor, choose a room far from the lobby that is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catcher-in-the-rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for you recent review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our fireplace has been a wonderful addition to our newly remodeled fifth floor lobby. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for work this past week - two nights on the 10th floor. So - I think it was a bit loud in my room. I could hear people running or walking and I think it was above me. It wasn't consistent or all the time - and it certainly did not wake me up at night. I found out the first day of our meetings = that the 11th floor is where the ballroom and gym are - so I think being below that might have contributed to the noise because people staying on other levels (as well as others on level 10) did not hear anything.

So that is the only negative. It's a great location - connected to a mall and Nordstroms. Has a nice rooftop terrace bar....fyi - rooftop of the mall - 5th floor - not roof top of the actual hotel. Still really nice though.

Loved that there was a pillow menu - the bathroom was very large with everything you could need provided -including robes and slippers. The bed was awesome!! Was sad to come home to my boring bed with only 4 pillows. LOL.

We had our breakfasts & lunches at the hotel - both were very good.

I would absolutely go back and recommend the Conrad to anyone heading to Chicago or looking to host a work event there.

One little fun bit was they had sea salts in the bathrooms (by the ballroom - not sure if they are everywhere) - they changed the type 2x a day and there were 'instructions' on how to give yourself a mini-hand massage. Loved that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. Just reading your title I can already agree with you! Our beds and pillows really are extremely comfortable. I am happy to heard that you enjoyed your meals at our terrace restaurant as well. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Weekend with the guys in Chicago. The hotel is in a perfect location - close to the subway, a short walk to many landmarks, restaurants, touring, and shopping. The staff were friend and helpful. The public areas and the room were well kept. The amenities in the room were plentiful including more than enough outlets for all of our current needs (no pun intended).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xmtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. New restaurants are constantly popping up around our wonderful location. We hope to see you again soon and our concierge will be waiting to make sure you have another perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

An excellent stay from the moment of welcome at the concierge and reception desk to our departure three days later. Our room was spacious with a bathroom and separate toilet and stocked with very good toiletries. The bed was comfortable and the linen high quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anneliese W, Reservations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Conrad Chicago. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#69 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
The James Chicago
#39 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing