We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #68 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
co.durham, england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in this hotel prior to our Route 66 holiday. It was amazing, easy check in, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were well equipped and spacious, plenty toiletries stocked regularly as well as clean towels. We were also supplied with fresh slippers and gowns on a dauliy basis. We only had our breakfasts in the restaurant but found it outstanding in service and staffing. Very centrally situated for attractions. If ever we visit Chicago again, it will be the Conrad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazza4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased to learn that you chose the hotel for the first day of your Route 66 vacation. We're happy the team provided you with friendly, helpful service beginning at check-in and that you enjoyed your guestroom and amenities. We hope you have a chance to visit Chicago again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    745
    205
    77
    43
See reviews for
507
1,125
227
920
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was my first time staying at the Conrad and I have to admit, this easily bests anywhere else I have stayed in the Windy City. From the posh amenities to the large rooms and attentive staff, I couldn't have picked a better place for my wife and I to stay. When you enter the hotel you go up to the 5th floor where registration is. Everyone from the valet staff, the bellhops, the concierge and many others on the ground level are more than happy to help you find your way. Once you get to registration the staff behind the counter want to make sure everything is to your liking and make a point to note everything the hotel offers.

Once you find your room, prepare to be amazed. We had a fantastic view of the city, a huge king size bed, a BOSE surround sound system with large LCD tv and a bathroom to die for in ours. The bathroom has a huge soaker tub and separate large walk-in shower, a private toilet and enough counter top space to satisfy my notoriously picky wife.

Don't forget about the restaurant and bar though. They offer fantastic drinks and food for all appetites. I highly recommend the Pear Elite. A delicious vodka based drink that is about as refreshing as can be. And their room service is available 24/7. We really enjoyed breakfast in bed.

All in all, if you can make your way to the Conrad, I guarantee you will never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room. Chicago has wonderful views, especially at night when the city is so aliv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATTHEW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Matthew,

Thank you for reviewing the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to learn that you feel that the hotel beats every other hotel experience you've had in Chicago. We're happy that you and your wife enjoyed everything from the service of our team, to the comfort and amenities of your guestroom to the food and service in our restaurant and bar. Again, we appreciate the review and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed 1 night at the Conrad hotel and it was well worth it. The staff was great and very professional. The check in process was quick. The hotel itself was beautiful and our room was nice and comfortable. I was really amazed at how pet friendly the hotel was. The little mall inside the hotel was nice too. I would definitely visit the Conrad again and stay a little longer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tammy8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here two nights on business. The hotel is in a very good location. There are many nearby restaurants including, Joe's Seafood, Batali's Eataly, and Grand Lux, to name a few. For Starbucks, exit the hotel, make a right, and walk across the street to the Marriott. Starbucks is in the Marriott lobby.

The room was big and comfy. I had a standard king. It came with a soaking tub, walk-in shower, and large sink area stocked with quality amenities. There was a robe and packaged slippers, even a back scratch. The desk had many outlets for devices and all kinds of stationary. I even received free wifi and complimentary water each day.

The gym was small with no view, but it had enough equipment to get in a workout. They provided towels, cold towels, disposable headphones for watching TV while doing cardio, and cold bottles of water.

The only thing that was somewhat bothersome at the Conrad was the need to take two elevators to get up and down from the hotel rooms. Their lobby is one elevator up from the street and then there is a second elevator to get to the rooms. It was a bit annoying after the first few times. Not a deal breaker though. They could also use a Starbucks or some other quality coffee shop on premises. It is a hassle having to walk outside in the cold and rain to the competitor's hotel just to get a quick cup of coffee and light breakfast.

I will be back in Chicago in June, but unfortunately the prices are a bit out of reach for my company's budget this time. Too bad because this was my favorite hotel in Chicago, and I've tried several including the Palmer House.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stay at the Chicago Conrad twice a year and could not be more pleased. All services are excellent and I am always impressed with the service and the room. The free "pillow menu" is an extra bonus. This is the one hotel I can stay in w/o taking my own pillow. I always look forward to my next visit to this conrad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Konstance Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Not a very impressive street entrance. There is little or no grandeur about the street
entrance or the front desk/lobby area. It seems disfunctional to have to go to the street level to see the concierge. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful as needed. The lobby bar is
ok although I found the seating arrangement rather strange, There is little ambiance as you
are sitting in the most walked through area of all as guests have to pass by in order to get to
the room elevators. The restaurant is ok, nice fixtures, and the staff is attentive but it is
rather sterile. The outside food outlet was not open.
Rooms very good, well appointed, bathroom excellent - room attendant did forget hand
towels one day .
Enjoyed staying here because of my meeting and the location. Joe's restaurant across the
street was exceptional.

Room Tip: high up rooms are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rje2993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I have been several times in the hotel for long stays.
It is located in the best location close to Michigan avenue and all best restaurants.
The hotel is very welcoming, clean and well maintained. The rooms are good size and the Gym is really nice with a lot of machines.
Only really negative points is the breakfast, which is VERY slow and very expensive for the service given, there is no buffet, the choice is limited and it takes 45 minutes to have a toast.
The price is always different although I take everytime the same thing.
I stopped going to breakfast....go outside.
That is what drives the overall ratio down, the rest is perfect

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#76 of 187 in Chicago
4,238 reviews
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
3,111 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
153 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
1,520 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing