We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #44 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We could walk to everything. Our first vacation to Chicago. We ended up here with a last minute Hotwire pick and it was a great choice. My only complaint was that the hotel would not accept my Hilton Honors membership for all of the additional spending, so I made sure not to spend any additional money at the hotel. Their loss. I need to see if this is a Conrad policy or all of Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    694
    181
    58
    29
See reviews for
463
1,057
217
869
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is a very nice, however, i felt that it was overpriced. I attended a conference and although the wait staff during our conference was amazing during the check in process our keys did not work which ended up in 2 trips to the lobby. 2 trips that could of been avoided by doing the job right the first time. In addition, the hotel was supposed to have the conference rate and it didn't, instead of fixing it right away i had to get wait for our contact person at the conference to give the ok to provide me with the discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marcela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loved this hotel. I had a great room with a fantastic view of the city. And, anytime I can walk through to Nordstrom without even going outside is a big plus for me. :) The terrace was a great place for drinks. Very close to pretty much everything you need in Chi-town. Great value for the location as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue7870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel, particularly our proximity to The Shops at Northbridge and our Terrace Rooftop. We hope that you will return soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Conrad Chicago for a conference. As a Hilton Diamondmember, I was upgraded to a corner suite with a huge living and dining area (oval dining table with 6 chairs), separate king bedroom, and huge bathroom. Bed was comfortably fantastic! Only complaint was that during happy hour, I went to the bar in the restaurant at slightly before 7pm when the complimentary happy hour ended, and was told brusquely by the restaurant that "it's over!" Never had that experience before and I travel about 100 nights a year, most of which involve happy hour! Otherwise, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your upgraded suite. Thank you too for letting us know about your experience in the bar during our Wine Down Reception. There is no excuse for this type of response and we will address it with the team member. Again, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Shortly after our family arrived, our door key stopped working. Because of the delay in getting it fixed and for the inconvenience they upgraded us to a wonderful suite. I am a diamond member and this really made me feel like my stay was important to them. Great service and wonderful location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddieave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Conrad Chicago experience on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel despite the initial key issue and that our team was able to recover. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Conrad Chicago. Although the hotel was under renovation during my stay, the staff did everything to minimize the impact. Service was friendly and efficient. The location is ideal for shopping and site-seeing. It actually has an enclosed connected walkway and elevator that take you directly into Nordstrom and an upscale shopping center on the Magnificent Mile.

This hotel gives you the best of both worlds - on one side you are in the middle of the Magnificent Mile and on the other you exit to quieter Rush Street, with great local restaurants and neighborhood streets. Virtually everything is in walking distance, and wonderful restaurant choices and attractions all nearby.

My room was possibly the cleanest hotel room I have ever experienced - and I am a stickler for clean! The hotel was quiet and peaceful, even though you are in the heart of everything. The ambiance is casual, but luxurious. What a wonderful retreat to come back to at the end of a busy day!

Plus, they provide complimentary bottled water each day - a nice surprise. Although, I would recommend staying away from the room service menu. It is limited and rather overpriced. One night during my stay, I ordered a 10" cheese pizza and a glass of wine and ended-up with a $63.36 room service charge. Plus, there are so many great restaurant choices close-by, it is better to go out.

Overall Conrad Chicago is a great place to stay! I will definitely return when I am next in Chicago. In fact, after this most recent trip, I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in the future. I have stayed in other highly-rated hotels in the city, but this was hands-down my best experience!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor. The street noise can be a little more noticeable on some of the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We're so very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and that you plan to return. We are also thrilled to let you know that the renovation to our lobby and bar are complete and that the new spaces turned out better than we could have imagined. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A beautiful hotel on Magnificent Mile with the ambience of the best European hotels. The only hotels I have found its equal are the Four Seasons and the Plaza in New York. Parking is a bit expensive but then that is Chicago. Everything you want to see is within easy walk or a short cab ride. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for recommending the Conrad Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Melissa Henry
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#35 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,787 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#78 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,577 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#34 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,760 reviews
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#66 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing