We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #57 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A most comfortable hotel; clean, super beds and linens, and good shower pressure! You are also well supplied with aromatherapy products and free bottled water and wifi! If you are a Hilton Honors Member, you also have an awesome breakfast in their restaurant that includes fresh squeezed juice and better grade meat products. They also provide free, 3 daily newspapers. Truly, everything that would make a stay relaxing is provided. In the morning on the 5th floor level (in front of the elevator), tea, coffee, and fruit are provided; as well as, iced, fruit garnished, water during the day.

The Conrad Hotel is conveniently located to the "The Mag Mile". From their 5th floor elevator, you walk directly into the adjacent Mall that opens onto "The Mag Mile". There is really no need to rent a car in this city as there is plenty of public transportation or within walking distance of this hotel.

The concierge and valet service are very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff are not quite as cordial. If I had to find any fault with this hotel, it would be with the main entrance. It is very cramped and not at all inviting, unlike the rooms and the rest of the hotel. Nevertheless, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again on my return to Chicago!

Room Tip: I'm not sure that there are any rooms with a good view. It seems like the higher up you are, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve01339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    723
    196
    71
    39
See reviews for
487
1,092
223
903
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
604 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here in May and were disappointed we had not been warned about the renovation works or seen an allowance made for this on the room rates. That said, we have to commend the hotel and contractors for an excellent job ensuring the works were as unobtrusive as possible but it did mean that the bar and restaurant at night were terrible places to be and we enjoyed the Marriott bar next door most nights. Breakfast is served at the table which was nice for a change but the service meant it was more breakslow than breakfast which was very annoying. Our room was a lovely corner suite and was excellent and when we had an illness the staff at the hotel were helpful and supportive and the concierge was great whenever we needed a tip. Also the hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Centrally located, almost all places of interest within walking distance. Also Chicago was a positive surprise - clean and safe city, friendly folks. Conrad's staff very friendly and helpful, rooms super tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

With two children in Chicago, we have tried many hotels but this will be our favorite from now on. Location is excellent for access to restaurants, shopping, sightseeing, and CTA but is still amazingly quiet. Service is impeccable from reservation to checkout. Concierge very competent and helpful. Beds are heavenly with rooms good sized even at standard rate. We did not try the restaurants but enjoyed coffee in the mornings in a comfortable seating area. There is a connection to the mall next door with elevator so that you can access the Nordstrom's and many stores as well as Michigan Avenue without having to venture outside. Conrad is part of he Hilton chain so we received Hhonors points as well. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Conrad multiple times in the last 4 years....pretty much our exclusive hotel in Chicago. The rooms are very nice...the upgraded rooms are especially impressive. Much more so than other "upgraded" rooms we have stayed at in other hotels. Another great feature is that the hotel is connected to a Nordstrom and a small mall which is great for if you forget something or just want to get some shopping done. There is also an extensive food court in this mall that is great for a quick bite. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 is b/c not every room has a coffee maker. You can call down to the front desk and if they have a Keurig machine available they will send one up but I really think that should be a standard feature in EVERY room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kstar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent value for money, well located near the Magnificent Mile. Within walking distance to most of the sites and shops. Or you can use the hop on hop off bus or boat rides. Loads of good restaurants around the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean with a view of the Magnificent Mile and the lake. Excellent staff service

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel remains one of my favorites anywhere. The service is nearly always exquisite and the staff is unfailingly polite and accommodating. The location is quiet, yet convenient to The Mag Mile, and makes it easy walking to virtually any downtown location. The rooms and suites are spacious, and well appointed. I've been critical recently of a number of Hilton properties, however the Conrad Hotels in Chicago and New York are real gems and I recommend them very highly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
The James Chicago
#38 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,970 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing