We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but stay out of the bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #68 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good but stay out of the bar”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Overall the business meetings we had were very good. The catering for the meetings was excellent and creative. The hotel rooms are good and the fitness center is well equipped and serviced. During our stay there was significant renovation underway but the management and contractors did an excellent job of not allowing those activities to intrude into the meetings or the after hours in the hotel. On the last night I drifted into the bar to enjoy a night cap and was charged $16 for a corked mediocre Aussie wine. Left me with a sour taste in my mouth but beyond that I rate this hotel pretty good. Parking is very convenient over the street from the hotel and it adjoins plenty of excellent shopping if you feel so inclined.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    745
    205
    77
    43
See reviews for
507
1,125
227
920
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

You can not beat the location...very helpful staff from check in to housekeeping and restaurant/lounge!...clean room, large bathroom, plenty of hangars, robes and slippers!...our room was on a high floor but we did not have a view...just the building next door...so if you would like a view...ask at check in!...we walked from River North to Old Town to Gold Coast and back to River North...easy walk to the Art Institute too...Conrad is going through a re-do so there was some construction noise and detours within...but YES I would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you prefer a view room...make sure to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah4501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is the best for any thing you want to experience in Chicago especially aroung the Magnificent mile areas. We love taking a cab to the Shaws restaurant and seeing a show. The rooms are comfortable, I liked the conrad better than the Aqua Radison.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stay in Hilton group properties across the country. This one is absolutely wonderful! It is being remodeled, but we hardly knew it. The rooms are stunning, it is in the heart of the city, attached to excellent shopping, and within walking distance of great food and drinks. The staff was very friendly. Probably the only "bad" thing that we experienced was that it was a beautiful weekend day and the outdoor patio was not yet open. It looked like a lovely place to hang out. We would absolutely stay there again, and look forward to seeing how it can be improved upon (can't imagine!) once the renovation is complete!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wamslem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you're booking a room at a Conrad, you expect more than your average hotel. And while the Conrad in Chicago was perfectly fine, it had nothing remarkable about it. The rooms were nice and nicely appointed, but the hotel as a whole lacks character and charm. The fact that you have to take two elevators to get to your room is a big nuisance. The restaurant feels like it could be anywhere, with no personality or, for that matter, windows. Making matters worse, what I assume is the main lobby on the 5th floor was under construction the whole time we were there. Don't get me wrong; it's a perfectly "fine" hotel, but certainly nothing special and not what I would expect from the Conrad brand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StorytellerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
428 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The staff at Conrad Chicago were warm and friendly from the doorman, reception, housekeeping, the waitress and even the other service staff working in the Hotel. Have always stayed at Conrad hotels around the world but first time staying in one in the US. Well done Conrad Chicago!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The location is great, there are so many things to do within short walking distance. The check in process was very fast and the staff was very attentive. Our room was a Deluxe King room. It was a nice size and the bathroom was very nice. Everything was spotless. The bed was very comfortable and the Bose sound system was a nice touch. There were only a few negatives about this hotel. One huge one is they have cooling units instead of a minifridge. We were told if you put something cold in the unit it would keep it at that temp. Well that didn't happen everything we put in there was warm. To me at a hotel like this you should have a minifridge in the room. Also the water temp does change alot, this wasn't a huge deal to us though. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#76 of 187 in Chicago
4,238 reviews
The James Chicago
#45 of 187 in Chicago
3,111 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#4 of 187 in Chicago
153 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
1,520 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing