We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great hotel, that's all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #44 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just a great hotel, that's all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We live in the suburbs of Chicago and every year, for my birthday, we stay for a night or two in the city. This year we spent a night at the Conrad, as in Conrad Hilton, which Hilton's upscale hotel brand. We lucked upon the hotel through Hotwire and what a great experience!

The staff, from the curb service to the check-in were so polite and welcoming. Since it was my birthday they sent a bottle of wine to our room. What a nice gesture. The hotel is just a wonderful place and is in perfect condition and very comfortable.

We have been in many Chicago hotels and I would say this was one of the most pleasant. The room was perfect with a very impressive bathroom and the bed was perfect. A full compliment of pillow selection topped by a soft and thick down bedspread. Our room included a very impressive Bose sound system for the television that also included a dock for an iPhone or iPad.

There also is a nice bar that we tried when we returned for dinner and a good restaurant for breakfast.

What was nice since it was so cold in Chicago the weekend we stayed is that the hotel is connected to a vast array of shops and stores. While we live not too far away with plenty of shopping, it was fun to walk around in full comfort and do some light shopping. The hotel is also located in the very heart of Chicago which is great for out of town guest to our great city. You can literally walk to many of the city's attractions from the hotel.

The entire stay truly was perfect. We will return in the future and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CABix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,969
    694
    181
    58
    29
See reviews for
463
1,056
217
869
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked a recent trip here based on the high rating here on TA. While I enjoyed my stay I think it's a bit of a stretch to rank it in the top 10 in all of Chicago? Was certainly nice but can't think of any aspect that was all that impressive? I'd stay again but it was pretty vanilla.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank schmidthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your review. We pride ourselves on getting to know our guests, and if you have an Honors account with us, we would love to include your preferences for room type, pillow preference, snacks, and beverages for future reference. This way we can customize your return with us. Thank you again for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. Very comfortable. Lots of personal service.The Nordstrums is very handy if travelling with your wife. Also, the ice cream place in the attached mall is great for an afternoon snack. There is a Joe's Stone Crab on the opposite corner from the Rush Street exit which is a fine location for a business dinner.

Room Tip: All locations seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is one Chicago Hotel I will definitely return to...perfect location in the heart of Magnificent Mile. The Conrad Chicago is ideally located just off Michigan Avenue and in close proximity to everything Chicago is known for...great shopping, wonderful theater, and amazing restaurants. The Conrad is located within a luxury downtown shopping center and surrounded by 5 star restaurants. The staff is attentive, the accommodations luxurious...a first class customer experience that was much appreciated by my wife and I.

Room Tip: Our room was 911. It was perfect with views of Michigan Avenue and Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtclg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had five nights here on vacation. First class accommodation and service. Great location and great staff. Large room and bathroom- overlooking Michigan Avenue. Was very good value in February. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband I stayed here before Christmas. This hotel is gorgeous. I cannot say enough good things about it. Everything is lovely. The decor is elegant and soothing. The beds and bedding are heavenly. The bathroom is luxurious and large. The staff is friendly and helpful. I also love the easy access to Nordstom's and the adjacent shopping mall. This hotel is definitely one of our favorites in the area. You won't be disappointed, and if you find a special rate, even better!

Room Tip: If you can swing it try one of the suites with two bathrooms. You'll feel like royalty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwyneth51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I am very hapy with my stay at Conrad. I have been staying there for last few weeks and will continue. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Their bed and breakfast is best in town.
I will recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Magnificent Mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashwani123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#35 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,787 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#78 of 184 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,576 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#34 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,759 reviews
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#66 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing