We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to complain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #44 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tough to complain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The staff was very friendly, the room was well appointed, and the location is right in the heart of the city. We were in town for a Broadway production and had a short half mile walk to the venue (which is notably shorter than finding parking in Chicago sometimes). When the staff was unable to accommodate our room request immediately on arrival, we were presented with drink passes before we had a chance to ask how long our wait would be and given a few suggestions on unique places to eat while we waited (refreshing to have a hotel not force their own in house restaurant as the first option). I guess it was just kind of nice to see an emphasis on service, in particular given a lesser experience only a block away in the past at a different venue. Find a deal and its worth the stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank setter1vb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,971
    695
    181
    59
    29
See reviews for
465
1,057
217
869
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our first trip to Chicago saw us staying at the Conrad, a great hotel to stay in, right next to the magnificent mile and connected to a shopping mall with Nordstrom in it. Very near A few good eateries like Shaw's Crab house (seafood to die for) and some excellent Mexican places just 5 mins down the road. The hotel is very comfortable, with large rooms and bathroom. We had a great breakfast one day, which put the nearby Yolk chain to shame, though Yolk is cheaper ( you get what you pay for clearly). Service is top notch, and my four year old was pleased to bits to be given his very own rubber ducky upon check-in. Wifi is free and daily provision of mineral water with complimentary hot chocolate and coffee and tea in the lobby is a nice touch. Our room was quiet and we didn't have any problems with it during the three nights we stayed. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with a family or on a business trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Conrad hotel is our favorite location to stay in Chicago. Definitely and upscale hotel but you can get some great deals and packages on some of the travel sites. Every need is attended to during your stay. You are treated like VIPs from the time you get out of the car until you depart. The location is awesome, within walking distance of several great restaurants and bars in the area. Not too overly crowded like some of the locations further north. Restaurant right on site. Had breakfast there, very good food. Complimentary coffee in the mornings until 10AM. A small lounge on the 5th floor serves great drinks and the wine selection is wonderful. Shopping is right across a walkway over rush street. You never have to step outside. Michigan Avenue is on the other side of the building. We will keep coming back to the Conrad when ever we have plans to stay in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Let start by thanking Craig for making my 50th Birthday so fun. My girlfriend and went early to tour and celebrate my birthday and the staff made it very fun and enjoyable. Did I get an amenity from the hotel - no. Maybe next time they might take a look at the little details and go beyond expecations. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, rooms are large and comfortable.

Business: the WIFI worked well and the staff is very professional. Tank you room service for being on time , every time. Housekeeping did an awesome job, thanks for folding my jammies and putting them away every day.

I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mares_santa_fean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Impeccable as always - a high profile high standard Conrad Hotel. Got a magnificent mile room, which unfortunately could be a little noisy. Bathroom is pretty spacey, bedroom is nice. The TV with Bose setups and Apple connection was impressive. One downside is that, business center charges for using computers and printers.
Most importantly, Conrad is not Conrad by simply putting the top of class things together in the room, the service is fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haoyu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location is so convenient, close to shops and restaurants. The room is huge and the bed is comfy. I like their bathroom supplies and complimentary coffee every morning. It is a pleasant stay. The staff was nice and helpful. Will stay again. We got a great deal on Hotwire for 100 per night for 4 nights during thanksgiving weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obdo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Staff was excellent and attentive. Room was spacious and very comfortable (king room dlx, offered upgrade to a suite with separate br but did not need the space) Room service breakfast is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes and enjoy the city Everything is very close Also, save a feew dollars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#35 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,791 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#78 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,587 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,765 reviews
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#65 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#17 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing