We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Conrad Chicago - Small things make a big difference!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #57 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Conrad Chicago - Small things make a big difference!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This November, I was half way around the world in Chicago for a 10-day stay which included the Thanksgiving holiday. Yes, I did have the Thanksgiving dinner at the hotel restaurant -- a tasty four-course meal although I do not share the American predilection for pumpkin!

This is one of my favourite places to stay in Chicago which is an architecturally beautiful city and is best enjoyed walking Its street are broad, and the buildings not too tall. This combination makes the streets bright and airy which is so much better for walking. The Conrad is in the middle of all this. Theatre, shopping and great places to eat are within walking distance. The river, if you want a boat ride, is about 150 metres away.

The Shops at North Bridge are connected to the hotel and offer a variety of shops including Nordstrom, restaurants, and some interesting luxuries if you (men) want to pamper yourself -- a shave of a haircut at The Art of Shaving.

Sadly most hotels in the US have done away with stacking your mini bar and some have removed them completely, but the Conrad has the option of ordering goodies to fill the mini bar / room fridge. Depending on your room or Hilton Honors status you could get a fresh coffee maker placed in the room.

The staff are friendly and accommodating. The restaurants are good, and for the thirsty traveller there is complementary coffee and tea in the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    723
    196
    71
    39
See reviews for
487
1,092
223
903
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed at the Conrad for the second time. We usually visit Chicago at Christmas time for shopping and the German Christkindlmarkt. I enjoyed the Conrad even more this visit. You cannot beat the location of this hotel. We took the subway to and from Midway and had no problems. The best thing about the location is when you are tired in the evening the property is attached to a mall, so you have access to a great number of shops (including Nordstrom), food, and street views without even going outside. That alone makes me not even think to look elsewhere for accommodations in Chicago. It was so nice to relax out in the mall, enjoying the Christmas lights in the mall and catching the street scenes just outside the windows. When we arrived, the staff was friendly and let us check in early. This hotel is CLEAN. I am a clean freak, and I don't have anything to complain about regarding cleanliness of the room or anything in it. I ran into a member of the cleaning staff one morning, and she was very friendly, as were the front desk staff and the doormen. The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. There was always coffee, tea, or hot chocolate in the lobby which was a nice touch. You are near so many restaurants that we never ate at the hotel. Corner Bakery is so close and is wonderful for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We walked or used public transportation to the Christkindlmarkt, restaurants, water tower shopping area, and the Hancock Building. I love Chicago at Christmas; I hope to visit again, and I will definitely be staying at the Conrad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evasteigerwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had the most phenomenal stay at the Conrad. To start Laly, Director of front desk operations, Accommodated us with 10 a.m. check-in. She then asked why we were in town, I proceeded to tell her it was our first time taking a vacation since having our son two years prior, She gave us a little duck to give our son when we arrived back in Houston and she also sent up some complimentary wine. What an amazing way to start off our time at the Conrad. I love the fact that they have a selection of free DVDs that you can check out and watch in the room. We also love the fact that you can plug your Apple products up to the television to watch them. The aromatherapy products in the bathroom were amazing, they are much better than usual standard run-of-the-mill best products. Most of the four-star hotels have robes but having the slippers was also a nice touch. There were plenty of plugs in the room I really appreciated this because when we stayed at the Westin Chicago River North that was a problem. Lastly, the doorman was so knowledgeable about the city and courteous, I would go back and tip him right now again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MKS011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Impressive room with executive upgrade; large room, clean, up to date electronically, well attended to by staff, quiet surroundings, little to no nighttime noise from the streets. Location is good for those wanting to shop the Mile. About four blocks to the subway so only 15-20 minutes from most of the attractions (museums, sky deck, planetarium). Only downside is the lobby is not very impressive compared to some of the other hotels. Although it is clean and the staff are quite friendly there is lack of grandness. Fitness center is small but good equipment, no outside view. No swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Conrad this past weekend and our stay was tremendous. From the valet, front desk, bell service and breakfast staff they made our stay awesome. We had a room with city view and the bed was so comfortable. They accommodated all of our requests and we look forward to staying at his hotel again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Conrad is in a great location, with entrances on Rush Street and Michigan Avenue. It required two elevator rides to exit from my room to the street level, which was a little odd, but no big deal. Being on ninth floor was not high enough to avoid being awakened multiple times by sirens on Saturday night, but Sunday and Monday night were much quieter. The room was spacious and clean. A minor detail was the safe was not fastened down, but I really wasn't worried about anyone walking off with it. The room had a Keurig coffee maker (nice!) and aromatherapy products for soaps and shampoos (also nice!). There was a breakfast buffet on Sunday only--the food was good but its selections were somewhat limited compared to other hotels. The exercise room was heavy on treadmills, with only one bike. The sky-way to the mall was convenient. The highlight of the hotel was the friendly service--folks seem to genuinely like working there, which is hard to fake. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Conrad Hilton Chicago is a hotel with charm, class and provides a quiet retreat amongst the busy downtown Chicago hussle and bussle. Strategically situated on Michigan Ave, it is a location within walking distance to the Theater district and all the great shopping Chicago is known for. Mike at the front desk was very accomodating (as was all the staff). Take advantage of the special Pillow menu (we ordered the relaxation and cold/flu versions) at no charge. We have stayed at the Conrad for both a romantic getaway and most recently, taking our daughters for a family vacation. Highly reccomended for all!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#69 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
The James Chicago
#38 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing