We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and generous size bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago to your Saves list
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Conrad Chicago) (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #44 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Convenient location and generous size bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

First weekend in Chicago and was looking for a convenient location close to downtown and CTA. The Conrad is in an ideal locations. Right in the center of some of chicago's tourist attraction. Both entrance through the mall or off rush streets are very convenient. The staff at the Patel was very courteous and was more than happy to help.
The good, breakfast is totally first class. Plenty of menu options to meet everyone needs. We had a room facing Michigan avenue. I do wish we would have been upgraded to a suite or terrace room with my diamond status. But our room had more than sufficient space. The bathroom was just as large as the room with a soaking tub and shower. The in room Bose sound system was a big improvement to the tv speaker. I sure wish the Bose unit had a sleep button.

What I wished the Conrad had was an executive lounge, but with only 400+ rooms, it might not justify for it. An afternoon swim after touring the local museum would have been a great way to relax, but didn't feel like walking over to the home wood suite. The room had a cooler that used to be a minibar. But wish they had a fridge. There is no in room coffee maker, but at request, they will bring up a kureig brewer with caraiou coffee. I wish we knew they have a kureig, would have brought along some of my favorite coffee, but there is a Starbucks around every cirner near by. I guess the only problem I found with the hotel was that there was no real quiet place to sit in the morning to enjoy the complementary morning coffee. The outdoor terrace was close nd was not going to be open up for lunch till 11am. What a nice space, would of love to sit outside just to do some morning reading while the spouse is still in bed. During the day, there is a concierge off riush street to help you with your questions. But if your looking for info at night, you might want to try the Internet.

I would probably stay at the Conrad again, but would live to try a some of the other hotel in the area. Maybe I wil go look for one with a pool or whirlpoool.

Room Tip: Picke a room off of Michigan avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,969
    694
    180
    58
    30
See reviews for
463
1,057
217
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was only here for one night, but I think this must have been the most comfortable bed in the world, including the best pillows. The free breakfast for HHonors Gold/Diamond members was also more than amazing. I could choose à la carte and it was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I've been a regular at the Conrad now for about two years. I stay here 3-6 nights every month. The reason I come back is that the Conrad is, quite simply, the finest hotel in the best location in its price category.

Service
I cannot say enough about the service here. All of the staff, from doormen, to front desk to housekeeping are responsive and helpful. When making a request for anything from room details to restaurant reservations, I've never once been told "that's not my job" or "please see the concierge". The staff here all make an effort to get to know their customers, even remembering names. The more you stay here, the more they get to really know you and the more personal the service.

Rooms
I've stayed in just all all categories of rooms. The basic rooms are all well appointed, clean and quite large. I would describe the accommodations as being in the "International Business Class" category. The interior facing rooms can be a little dark, so it might be worth the upgrade for a street facing room if that's important to you. The other upgrade, to a suite, provides a generous amount of space. I've even stayed in a terrace suite which, unbelievably has a private terrace facing Michigan Avenue. You could hang out and have mojitos on your own private terrace. An amazing option, if you're so inclined.

Restaurants
The Terrace bar at the Conrad is a major outdoor hotspot on warm nights. In fact, get there early or get your name on the list since the wait on a weekend night for a table outside can be lengthy. This is one of my favorite roof-top bars, period. It's low-key, which makes it really desirable. The food at the hotel is also terrific. I strongly recommend the breakfast quesadilla.

Health Club
This is important to me since I travel a lot. The Conrad is currently renovating the gym and it is time for an upgrade. I hope to offer up a review of that in the near future. I don't think there's a pool. While there is no spa, the Nordstrom Spa is one elevator ride away.

Location
The hotel connects directly to the Nordstrom shopping mall and on to Michigan Avenue. It's dangerously convenient. On the other hand, if you forget a belt, shoes or something else, having Nordstrom right there is hard to beat.

Here's a tip: the best shoe-shine in Chicago is inside Nordstrom near the Men's shoe department. Tip generously - they only charge about $3.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Michigan Avenue side have the most afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Recently stayed here and had a great experience and will definitely come back in the future. Hotel was very clean and updated. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Location was prime adjacent to Nordstrom on Grand and Michigan Ave. Probably the biggest plus was the rooms were very large and comfortable. I've stayed in numerous downtown Chicago hotels and usually they are smallish given the prime real estate location, not the case at Hotel Conrad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This property is typical of the Conrad segment of the Hilton chain. The staff are warmly efficient. The rooms are well appointed and maintained. The location is ideal for business or pleasure. I have stayed here numerous times and my experiences are consistently excellent.

Room Tip: Although all rooms are good, upgrading from a standard double/king to an executive room is worthwhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wwpnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very nice hotel and good rates for an hotel on Michigan Ave. Please note, the rooms overlooking Michigan Ave are smaller then the rooms overlooking the side streets.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent 2 nights on business. Room was very nice and meals provided by hotel for conference were good.

Front desk staff are attitude-free and very welcoming.

Location is excellent and there's an attached mall with an upscale food court.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahwayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#35 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,783 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#78 of 184 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,574 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#34 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,756 reviews
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#66 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing