We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Luxury suite was awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Ranked #44 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Luxury suite was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed four nights and upgraded our room to a king suite and it was enormous. One and half bath with a bar area in the living room with a large desk and several chairs and a couch that looked like a sleeper sofa. It had a comfortable king bed but the feather pillows are not my favorite. The empty refrigerator was a plus for us. We drove in and put our spare drinks and snacks inside it. Two separate bathrooms were great, two tvs, three closets were good, lots of drawers and a door between the bedroom and living area allowed my early rising husband to get up and not disturb the night owl in me. He used the exercise room every morning and said the equipment was new. Our room was cleaned promptly every day and we had breakfast in the restaurant every morning.

The staff were friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out but we were severely disappointed with the breakfast pace. It appeared that the restaurant was under staffed and that extended our breakfast time considerably. The waiters were hosting the front desk, serving juice, coffee and water, cleaning and setting tables and the volume during the holiday was too much for them to keep up. As a former server, I know that under staffing causes chaos so we were very disappointed to see that at the Conrad.

One complaint with the design of the bathroom could be mentioned though. Why is there no step or ledge in the shower stall design? Or a teak stool available? You see, we women can surely shave our legs in the tub but there wasn't enough time for that so trying to shave in the shower made for some interesting contortions. Also the soap ledge was too small for both my husband showering products and mine at the same time. I wish bathroom designers would consider multiple shelves that are practical for multiple occupants. Also, I am happy to see water saver toilets but there was no toilet brush in either water closet. :-)

The hotel is centrally located to several outstanding restaurants so we walked 1 block one night for Shaw's and across the street to Joe's Steak House another night.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Conrad. My husband travels monthly so he banked up a lot of traveler miles and the Conrad was a delicious luxury for us. We were on the 11th floor and the street noise was sometimes loud but that is in no way the hotel's fault. We will recommended this hotel happily.

Room Tip: I doubt that the street noise would lessen further up because of the echo between the high rise buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuppetExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Public Relations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very thorough and favorable review of the Conrad Chicago with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate you selecting the Conrad Chicago during your four night stay while in Chicago. For future stays, please feel free to request another pillow option as we have a multitude of complimentary choices for our pillow selection on the Sleep Menu. I appreciate your comments pertaining to the service in the restaurant and I’ve shared with our culinary department for advisement. I’m pleased despite this issue; you really enjoyed your overall experience and would return.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Warmest Regards,
Christine Smith
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,971
    695
    181
    59
    29
See reviews for
465
1,057
217
869
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at the Conrad for a few days before Christmas for our 20th wedding anniversary. I cannot say enough about this hotel, and I HIGHLY recommend it. It was beautiful, it was luxurious, and the staff couldn't be more attentive if they tried. Every day we came back to our room there was a treat - one day a bottle of champagne, once a plate of amazing chocolates; the restaurant (we ate breakfast there everyday) was terrific, and they had coffee in french press which DH and I were very happy to find. The bellmen always knew our names, secured cabs for us, and gave us directions when needed - they were so friendly, helpful and professional. And the location couldn't be better - we easily walked to about 80% of the places we wanted to go. We will definitely stay at the Conrad when we come back.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room so you'll have a view of Chicago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Public Relations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on the celebration of your 20th wedding anniversary. We’re so pleased you selected the Conrad Chicago to celebrate and delighted your overall impression of the service and accommodations lent to a wonderful experience. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Christine Smith
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Of all the hotels we have stayed in during our US trip, this stay has been the best yet. The service was outstanding. We arrived from a long 16 hour flight to Chicago at 8.30 in the morning and our room wasn't ready then since check in time was 3 pm. We thought we might have to leave our luggage in the lobby and go on a walkabout or rest up on the lobby couches. The staff at front desk took initiative and gave us a temporary room so we could rest up a bit, have a shower if needed etc till our room was ready. That was beyond what I expected and it really set the tone. First impressions are so important! We did not have coffee making facilities in the room we were in but front desk sent a coffee maker without a fuss. The service was hospitable and efficient. Everyone we met in the hotel was in good spirits and since the holiday season can be stressful for staff, it certainly did not show. The location of the hotel is great. A short walk to magnificient mile (in fact you can go straight to the mile if you walk through the mall) we got a great "Xmas in July" deal and hope to get lucky again the next time we visit Chicago. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haramkhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Public Relations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m delighted to learn our front office team was able to provide temporary accommodations, especially given your very long flight. I’m also pleased to learn you took advantage of the Christmas in July promotion! I appreciate your very kind comments regarding the hospitable and efficient service received by our team as well as your recommendation of the Conrad Chicago.

We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Warmest Regards,
Christine Smith
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Right downtown near restaurants and shopping. bed was AMAZING,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. After a long international flight we found the bed to be extremely comfortable. The hotel is in the perfect location for shopping, eating out and public transport. The staff were friendly and helpful and a special thank you needs to be noted for the friendly maids that do an amazing job.

My only criticism is that although I booked and paid for our accommodation on Expedia prior to our stay I was charged again by Conrad and only realised when I checked my credit card statement days later. As we were on holidays and travelling to other cities it was stressful trying to sort out the mistake and ensure that the amount was refunded.This was such a shame as our stay had been amazing and prior to this we couldn't fault the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the top floors and it was extremely quiet which was nice. I would suggest gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Public Relations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very kind review pertaining to your recent stay at the Conrad Chicago. I will be sure to pass along your special thanks to our housekeeping team. They do a fantastic job and I truly appreciate your acknowledgement of their service.

I would like to extend my most sincere apology for the issue you outlined pertaining to your reservation. I have notified the appropriate department leaders to look into the matter further as both a training and preventative measure for the future. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and fully regain your confidence.

Warmest Regards,
Christine Smith
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I loved this hotel. The service was excellent. They honored our request for a higher floor. It is attached the Nordstroms with made shopping easy. Stay here if you get a chance. You won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. We were on the 17th floor and the view was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradChicago, Public Relations Manager at The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the very complimentary review of the Conrad Chicago! We’re pleased you loved the hotel and you were impressed with the service received. I’m delighted the front office and housekeeping team was able to accommodate your guest room preference and hope you enjoyed your accommodations atop the Magnificent Mile.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Christine Smith
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Location is Great, service is great, people were great. Only downside parking $51 a day

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LVHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#35 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,793 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#78 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,587 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,765 reviews
Streeterville
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ivy Boutique Hotel
#65 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#17 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago

Property: The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of the Windy City, The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 300-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing