We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glimpse into historical Gold Coast living”

Richard H. Driehaus Museum
Ranked #16 of 648 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a step back in time to the Gilded Age with banker Samuel Nickerson's mansion. Explore all three floors of the museum and discover how the Nickerson family lived and socialized. Tours are an extra $5, but well worth it.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Glimpse into historical Gold Coast living”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place really gives you the feeling of what is was like to live in the late 1800's/early 1900's in Chicago's Gold Coast. It is amazing that the home is fairly close structurally to how it was originally built and that it has been restored with period furnishings. The Tiffany dome alone is amazing! I went on a tour called The Help which was very well done. We entered through the servant's entrance in the basement and were met by the housekeeper. The whole tour was done as a job interview and we all had to chose positions (cook, maid, butler, etc.) that we were interviewing for and items were pointed out in each room in this context. Very well done and there was extra time to walk around at the end of the tour to spend more time in rooms we may have moved through quickly on the tour. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    227
    28
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem off Michigan Ave”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well worth a visit. We took the servant tour during the holiday season while relatives were in town. The rooms were decorated and made for nice pictures too. The guides act out the part and an really take you back in time. The restoration is this home is beautiful. Looking forward to returning for more events.

On the weekend we easily found metered parking on the street for the morning tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Equestrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were there just after Thanksgiving and all of the Christmas decorations were up. It is a beautiful old mansion. We opted to skip the guided tour and just wander around ourselves but, perhaps because we were there right after they opened on a weekday morning, there were plenty of people around to answer questions and even open the door that I was dying to see behind. The building is full of gorgeous details and you can actually take pictures, always a rarity in this type of place. Everyone there was extremely friendly and knowledgable, giving neat little facts that people generally miss. There was plenty of documentation and old pictures to know what it looked like when it was built. Price was originally a deterrent but we decided to "splurge". It was well worth the money, especially when you know you're really contributing to the upkeep of this grand building.
Location: Just a few blocks north of the river and west of Michigan Ave. An easy walk. We'd actually walked by it a few times while exploring and finally looked it up to see what it was all about.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingShanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you love architecture and art, you will love this place. The docents are very knowledgable. The home is GORGEOUS!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacationGirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“WOW”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a place!!! Recommend the guided tours-there are two a day. Every year I have an outing with my girlfriends and the Driehaus Museum was this years pick, certainly not the last time we come here! Out docent, Katherine, was outstanding and beyond an expert in this field. She brought the house to life in such an elegant and timely manor. Would revisit again, even considering a membership. A great escape to bring the family or friends. Even people who you would think would not enjoy a historical treasure will be amazed!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard H. Driehaus Museum also viewed

 

Been to Richard H. Driehaus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing