We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get enough”
Review of Sprinkles Cupcakes

Sprinkles Cupcakes
Ranked #7 of 252 Bakeries in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't get enough”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My whole vacation was based on what day Sprinkles had Banana Cupcakes. It did not disappoint. Sprinkles has to be one of the best cupcakes I have ever had & I dream of them & can't wait until I can have another sweet delight. Every time I have a friend go to Chicago, I have them pick me up a Sprinkle to-go cupcake. Yum!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    108
    39
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun Idea/ Average Cupcake”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The cupcake vending machine is a great idea. It is a fun vacation Must Try, so we did. We heard there could be a huge wait, but at 4 o'clock on Thursday there was a small wait for the bakery and no wait for the vending machine. We each got a cupcake. The selection is much smaller in the machine then inside. I got lemon and my daughters got chocolate/ vanilla and red velvet. The cupcakes there very average, ok cake, ok frosting, no special toppings. It was fun to do but the experience was more exciting than the cupcake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsc813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“There are better alternatives.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are thinking about spending your money here, you might as well take your money and set it on fire, in your hand. Yeah, it's that bad. The cupcakes are REALLY basic!! There are a ton of really established cupcake (And other amazing specialty bakeries focusing on just cookies or just donuts) bakeries and this one is just not good. If you're going to be near the Lincoln Park Zoo or you want a cupcake and you're in the downtown area, just get on the Clark 22 bus and stop at Molly's-they were also on Food Network, you get more gourmet flavors. There is Swirlz, Phoebes, and also Crumbs (there's a few locations downtown) that are way better options. Why isn't Sprinkles good you ask? It's just very basic-it's not overly moist, it's not some amazing change my life frosting, you would think as critical as the woman who started Sprinkles is on Cupcake Wars that it would be out of this world right? Wrong. Just very simple boring cupcakes that taste like she bought them at Wal-Mart.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BITW434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun place - great cupcakes”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great place - have been a few times and always go when I am in the area. I love red velvet cupcakes and sprinkles does a fabulous job with the cupcake. The Vegan red velvet is just as good, even arguably better. It has a more coconut flavor but it is definitely more guilt free. Worth the visit!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karen0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delicious Cupcakes”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We knew how good the cupcakes were prior to visiting town. We went 2 times! Once after hours so we could use the ATM - don't expect to get your first choice if you look on line at their flavors. The cupcakes in the ATM are the one's that didn't sell that day. They come out in a nice box and not squished. You can only purchase via the ATM with a credit card - no cash option. We then went back when they were open and there was a line out the door! They move people along pretty quickly. Tiny store not a lot of space to hangout or just look. Suggestion to sprinkles - have the ATM print out a receipt for the charge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjccheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprinkles Cupcakes also viewed

 

Been to Sprinkles Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing