We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deservedly popular”
Review of GT Fish & Oyster

GT Fish & Oyster
Reserve with OpenTable
GT Fish & Oyster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grand
Description: As yet another fantastic Boka Restaurant Group endeavor, GT Fish & Oyster opened in March of 2011, and has helped redefine the American seafood restaurant. Michelin starred, and Food and Wines Best New Chef 2008, Giuseppe Tentori, has developed a menu that's half-traditional, half modern, in an everchanging small plates format. The restaurant received three stars from the Chicago Tribune and Chicago Sun Times, and 4 stars from Time Out Chicago.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Deservedly popular”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This busy, trendy restaurant accommodated our party of a dozen--teenagers to grandparents--with aplomb and cheery friendliness. The menu leans toward fish and seafood but also offered beef, duck confit, and mac and cheese--all expertly cooked and promptly delivered. The alcohol was in line with prevailing downtown pricing, as was the bottled water at $6 a bottle. I'd recommend this place for a a relaxed, fun time with good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocLBethesda_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    137
    43
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant brunch on Wells Street”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went for brunch and enjoyed it; had wanted to go here for some time. Service was friendly and timely and while the brunch menu wasn't big it had enough variety to be interesting. (Why not add the oyster po-boy to the brunch menu?) The fried chicken on waffle was generous with 3 large pieces of crunchy-crispy, not greasy, fried chicken served on a large Belgium style waffle, accompanied by real maple syrup. (Noticed many others ordering the same, obviously a popular dish.) Also ordered shrimp and grits which was a nice sized dish with 4 large meaty shrimp in a bowl of creamy grits and a spicy tomato sauce with tiny chunks of Tasso ham which was not already stirred into the grits, thankfully, since it was almost too spicy and this way it could be eaten or not. Portion sizes seemed right and prices reasonable for the menu. Everything was served hot and without delay (we were there early). Our only regret was there was nothing on the menu to finish after all the spicy flavors. Needed something to cut that spicy sauce flavor lingering on the tongue. Not even a tiny cookie or chocolate to be served with the coffee? It was not noisy while we were there but I think it could be loud with more people in the room. Great location and we plan to return to try the lunch and dinner menus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mp s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous small plate dinner”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! I was visiting a friend in Chicago and she recommended we try this place. We split five small plates and each one was fabulous! My favourite was the Kimchi oyster Po Boy. It is a must have. The atmosphere is a little loud and the tables are very close together, but for the quality of the food, it is well worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank adz1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The oysters spectacular. Tried the Po Boys with kimchi and they are the best, together with mac cheese + lobster and strped bass made to perfection with figs. Attentive and friendly service made it special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaimeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small plate near-perfection at GT”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a recent visit to Chicago, able to secure a Saturday evening reservation on the recommendation of a local friend. The restaurant itself is attractive and well-appointed, although the tables are a bit close together and with a full bar, the noise level was pretty high (not bothersome to us, but perhaps to others). Our server was friendly and helpful with recommendations, and was happy to check with the kitchen on an allergy-related question. We started with oysters (of course) and boyfriend (the oyster fan) was pleased with the selection and the quality. We ordered several of the shared small plates, all of which were lovely in presentation and well-timed from the kitchen. The small plates were very good (the ceviche was excellent), although as others have commented, the quantity is indeed small (even by small plate standards), so order accordingly. We also had two desserts, including a delicious sticky toffee cake. Overall, a very good dinner and a place I would certainly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GT Fish & Oyster also viewed

 

Been to GT Fish & Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing